We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pork knees!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurace U Rudolfina

Restaurace U Rudolfina
Krizovnicka 60/10, Prague, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))
+420 222 328 758
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #358 of 4,195 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great pork knees!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were on a mission to eat authentic Czech, and decided upon pork knees. We looked at Trip Advisor's Travel Forum and U Medvidku and U Rudolfina were both recommended. We found U Medvidku, and the host instructed us to seat ourselves. We walked around the restaurant's various rooms and found no available tables (many were reserved with no one there). The host was not helpful and kept telling us of another room where a table might be available. Finally, we saw one next to a cigar smoker, and that was not happening for us so we left. We walked to U Rudolfina which was not easy to find. While there were empty tables there with reserved signs, we were seated and ultimately had great beer, some red wine, and pork knees to die for. I don't know if this is the best but we definitely will return next time we come to Prague. This is authentic Czech food, and the wait staff know little English (but their English is way better than our Czech!). This place also appears to be a locals' hangout, and credit cards are not accepted. Price was very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    71
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasty and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice and friendly staff, typical czech food and good beer. Prices were reasonable although the restaurant is very well located. They do not have a translated menu but they make an effort to explain what every dish is made of.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“Best Pilsner in Town & Goulash Top Notch - Proper Czech Beer Hall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I visited here after finding the place on a czech website, stating this was top voted 'Czech Pub' by Czechs, so that drew us too the place in March......and then on my Return a few days ago in June 2013.

The Pilsner is quite amazing and fresh here, the best in town. My friend, -not a beer drinking- actually enjoyed it, and that says something as hr hates beer back home!

The Goulash, was even better this time than in March (when it was very good).

Also Price is incredible too! 4 Pilsners & a Goulash for under 240 Crowns (£8, $12)

When you go into the place do not be intimidated by the dark upper level area, head down the stair.....trust me....you will walk into this lovely beer hall...and proper czech atmosphere..!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good beer good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were first taken here by a tour guide and enjoyed the wonderful beer and Czech food.

We returned the next day and although the menu is in Czech we were guided through our choice by a friendly and helpful waiter.

The food and beer are excellent.

We returned again the next day.

As our guide said- eat were the Czechs eat.
Good value and great food and atmosphere

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“The best beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Here is the best beer in Prague - cold and true Pilsner Urquell. And of course delicious Czech dishes and really nice service!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurace U Rudolfina also viewed

 

Been to Restaurace U Rudolfina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurace U Rudolfina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.