We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good Czech bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of U Rudolfina

U Rudolfina
Krizovnicka 60/10, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
222 328 758
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #646 of 2,843 restaurants in Prague
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Praha 1
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Really good Czech bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Wanted to go somewhere off main touristy areas, and this bar was suggested. It was excellent. The beer was great and we had some great food (Koleno - pig knee). told this place was a real Czech bar and could seem unfriendly, but found everyone to be really nice. I would go downstairs into the cellar rather than stay in the upstairs bar area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    27
    34
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wow, really Czech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

If you are brave this place is worth the effort.
Great Czech food and some of the best Pilsner Urquell on tap.
But be warned the waiters are truly Czech and don't hold back.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Expensive for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

bar was recommended as a 5* via Prague pub guide so thought would give it a try.
Cross the charles bridge heading to the old town square turn left and head straight for a couple of blocks the bar sits on the right opposite a metro stop.
small front room larger back room and downstair room typical czech wood wood and more wood, service fine with tap pilsner at 48czk January 2012 which we thought a bit expensive, we didi not eat here so cannot comment on the food it looked typical czech fare.
Better beer pubs around and cheaper, worth a visit for 1 or 2 but would not stay longer

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner with large group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We had here dinner of 10 girlfriends. We were sharing a mix of Czech traditional meat samples. The duck was excellent! The staff was very pleasant, the food was very good and the drinks kept coming without any delays! Overall great experience.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, expensive, loud, and smoky”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

My wife and I visited this pub/restaurant during our visit to Prague and it does NOT live up to the hype. We're kind of "anti-tourists" -- we tend to avoid anything resembling a tourist trap, which is why we stopped in to U Rudolfina for a bite and a beer. The food was lousy (the pork was almost entirely bone and fat), the Pilsner Urquell tasted exactly the same as anywhere else, and the final bill was about 200 Kc higher than what we paid for a similar meal at an equally authentic restaurant down by the Bethlehem temple. Don't bother with this place -- there are far better ones in the vicinity.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Rudolfina also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to U Rudolfina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Rudolfina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.