We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cheese stinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staropramen Brewery Restaurant

Staropramen Brewery Restaurant
nam Curieovych, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 5)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #484 of 4,195 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Praha 5
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The cheese stinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The restaurant itself is lovely and the food and service were brilliant. My partner had the beer cheese and it was the stinkiest most horrible thing i've ever tried.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    69
    16
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Na Verandach - Staropramen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great good value food with more than just traditional Czech dishes available plus the full range of Staropramen beers just along from Andel Metro stop.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
737 helpful votes 737 helpful votes
“Not nice to Americans”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stumbled upon this place after dropping off our laundry at the Wash Cafe four blocks away. The food was greasy and the service was very poor. Not sure if the waitress didn't like us because we were Americans or because we spoke English.

Nevertheless, we all ended up feeling ill afterwards and this was the only meal we had. Stay away.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Chain like yet home cooking?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This place by the astronomical clock was recommended by a local from the previous night. We didn't realize til after eating here that it is quite popular and there are many locations. We only went to the one in the clock square. My friend did not like her goulash, but she's a rather healthy eater. My duck was very flavorful. Both dishes came out extremely quickly and yet at least mine had great flavor and was cooked quite well. Not the best meal ever, esp since I'm not the biggest Czech food fan, but it was a fantastic location, reasonable prices for the location, and pretty good I believe traditional food. If you're hungry and in this touristy area, I would recommend this.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“enjoy some of the best of Prague”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Was a most enjoyable time we were not n a rush enjoyed the food and beer, some authenticity to the programme. Great to eat with no smoking area, Food lacked a little pizzazz in its presentation , however that's what i have found in the Czech restaurants.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Staropramen Brewery Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Staropramen Brewery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staropramen Brewery Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.