We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Downtown to your Saves list
Hostel Downtown
Narodni 19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 550 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in October in an 8 bed dorm, unfortunately the one with the strange paintings which was unnerving after a few too many drinks... The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English and the common area was huge and nearly impossible not to meet new people. It was under a 5 minute walk to the main square which has plenty of bars and restaurants and a "Tesco" across the road which is very helpful when cooking from the hostel. The only downside is that the bunk beds could have done with individual lamps as we had to check out early one morning which meant turning the main light on which wasn't very appropriate. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it especially to backpackers.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    132
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
61
125
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maribor, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hostel was great, with a lot of free evening activities, like cooking and castle tour walk, all led by Kristian, really cool and funny guy. The only problem I had with this hostel was that I had to walk through another room to get to mine, which was really disturbing when I had to go to the toilet at night and woke everyone up. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I enjoyed my time at this hostel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful when we asked them about places we needed to find. The castle night tour with Kristian was awesome! He was very informative and incorporated pictures and music into his tour. I totally appreciated it! They also have an AYCE breakfast buffet that I enjoyed very much! I would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Subject: Hostel Downtown
Location: Prague, Bohemia, Czech Republic, Europe
Title: Extra Activities at Hostel Downtown in Prague
ID#: 174167497

I went to the Hostel Downtown because it has separate women's dorms and its location is good, close to the river and the Old Town in Prague. I really appreciated the friendliness of the staff and the open, airy clean feeling of the place. The night walk with Christian was really memorable. We walked fast for four hours (8 to midnight) from the hostel up into the Castle District and past so many sights that I had seen by day and many places I could never have found on my own. Christian really knows his history and has a sharp wit. The Old Town of Prague is really beautiful at night, all lit up. It was fun seeing it with a lively group. I appreciated too the other extra activities offered at the Downtown Hostel even making potato soup together.

Room Tip: I appreciated that they have a women's dorm in addition to having mixed dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The staff were great and there 24 hours to help! I liked the fact that we weren't directly in the bar district which meant that it was quiet at night. That being said, we only had to walk 5 minutes to get to the party center so we were quite happy with the location. The kitchen and common rooms were impeccable!

My boyfriend and I stayed in private room with ensuite 402(?) which had room for three people. The room was very spacious and had a huge bay window that opens onto Narodni street. It also had a small but functional bathroom and its own foyer, it was worth every penny! Loved the rustic charm and it felt really private which is unusual for a hostel.

We also stayed in the mixed dorm (room 102) on our last day which I was not impressed with because the beds were uncomfortable and I think I am getting a little old (32 years old) for the whole sharing a room thing... lol. However, I can see how it might work for younger solo travellers who just want a cheap bed to crash in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Way better than what I was expecting. I was staying in a 2-bed private room with private bathroom, which was very spacious and in good condition. The location is good, 5 minutes of walking from Old Town Square. The staff was wonderfully helpful as well, breakfast is cheap and cheerful. This place is very much oriented towards young people (as a hostel) with a "social" atmosphere, it's easy to hook up with new people. Free Wi-Fi across the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We arrived at this hostel on our bicycles and a very warm day.

The front desk had obviously seen us and immediately opened up the secure bicycle storage for us. On arrival at the front desk we were greeted with a large glass of cold water.

It took five minutes to complete the paper work and we were in our private room.

The staff was friendly, informative and helpful. Tours were organised for the guests and everything was within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Downtown

Address: Narodni 19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 550 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Downtown offers quality and inexpensive accommodation in newly refurbished beautiful building.Hostel Downtown is open all year 24 hours a day. Accommodation is available in apartments/rooms with shower or in shared rooms (dormitories). The reception desk is open 24 hours. Friendly English speaking staff will be happy to help you with all your requests. Hostel Downtown is the first hostel in the Central and Eastern Europe that was awarded a "HI Quality" certificate from Hostelling International. We are very happy and proud! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.