We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Downtown to your Saves list
Hostel Downtown
Narodni 19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hostel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Me and my friends have been doing an eurotrip for 3 weeks in this by far it the best hostel we have stayed, very friendly staff, also they organize a lot of funny events. I recommend specially the night trip to Prague castle, Kristian is the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    147
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
66
147
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hostel was awesome! Great location, very helpful and friendly staff, who helped me with my bags and gave me a nice introduction to the sights! The breakfast was yummy, with eggs and sausages made fresh! I stayed in a 8 bed all female dorm, which was located on the 6th floor, (there is a lift) but it had incredible views of the Prague castle. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed there with some friends for 3 days and we did on both evenings the offered Events, beer tasting and Castle tour. Conclusion: Cool hostel, friendly staff, the beer tasting was fun and the Castle tour by night with Kristian was awesome!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownprague, Manager at Hostel Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Otto, thanks a lot for time to comment us and write so pleasant comment. Its great to read that you enjoyed the stay with us and specially our free walk tour to Prague Castle with Kristian. Thank you and we will be very happy to welcome you again in future. Greetings from Kristian and from all of us. Best regards, jakub, manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel for 2 nights in August 2013 and had a great time. The hostel is very well situated downtown. I would definitely suggest doing the Prague castle night walk with Kristian - it only costs €1, which you will later have an opportunity to win back by participating in the tour (although everyone in our group gave our €1 to Kristian) and he takes you around most of the city and through the castle at night, which it amazing. It's great to get a Czech person's perspective on Prague, and Kristian is funny, knowledgeable and well-spoken. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownprague, Manager at Hostel Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi, great to see how you enjoyed your stay with us. You are absolutely right - castle night walk with Kristian" is our most popular event we are offering to our guests during this summer. We are trying to offer this tour at least two times in week as well as other popular activities as a beer tasting or cooking lessons for free. Thanks a lot for your comment and visit. We are very happy to have Mr Kristian for all of you 7 days in week for daily activities. Ahoj, jakub, manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I thought that as far as hostels go- this is what I was looking for as a solo traveller. There were plenty of opportunities to meet folks due to clearly advertised events that were put on by the hostel as well as very open and inviting common spaces.

I have only one thing negative to say:
This hostel is huge and for the three days there it felt like a zoo. I understand this makes meeting people even easier but- at times it was hard to get to the front desk because they were so busy dealing with guests. There are six floors of rooms so they have the space but it just felt a little hectic.

Howver- For what you are paying for- its location and pretty nice accommodations- its great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownprague, Manager at Hostel Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello, thanks for your comment. I am really happy you like our hostel although you mentioned some problems - specially in context with ZOO (i would prefer to use the word "anthill")…We have increased our capacity from May 2013 to offer more private ensuite rooms but of course - it means more guests that we used to have. Its something new for us and we are doing our best to serve the best services and information to all of you - what is sometimes quite difficult - and its the reason why we decided to add one more receptionist for day shift. I can confirm that we are every day better and able to be helpful for everybody. I hope You will visit us again during next year to see how we improve our services and how efficiency we are. Step by step beat all the problems and provide best service in town! Thank you, jakub, manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This hostel was in a fantastic location - very close to main attractions and everywhere was walkable. Also a massive Tesco food store just down the road which was great for buying picnics, breakfasts and snacks.
The kitchen facilities were very nice and clean too, with a spacious eating area.
There were plenty of sinks, toilets and showers to use so there was never a queue and the water was always hot.

The negatives:
I found the staff to be very rude. When we arrived at 24.30 after our flight into Prague we were greeted by the receptionist saying "finally you are here, now I can go to sleep". This did not welcome us nicely to Prague and gave us a negative feeling about the hostel.
On our check-out the staff were also very awkward, claiming that my boyfriend and I had never paid the deposit of £10 per towel, which we were asking to have back when we checked out. We had paid the deposit and had to have a long discussion with the man on reception trying to persuade him to return the money too us. He eventually did but was very impolite.
I stayed the first 2 nights in a shared room. There were 12 people. One bed was occupied by a very old man and what looked like all his worldly possessions-he looked like he lived in the bed, and it smelt like that too. There was also very poor ventilation in the rooms so sleeping in the hot weather was very uncomfortable.
The second 2 nights I stayed in a private room due to the noise level in the shared room-this was much better and more comfortable but still very poor ventilation.

Overall I would not reccomend this hostel if you wish to feel welcomed and enjoy a sociable time. Do not stay here in the hot weather as you won't get very much sleep either! But in terms of location it was excellent. However I would not pay the price that I did for this experience again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownprague, Manager at Hostel Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello, its not so comfortable for me to read your comment and i am very upset. There are two most important service which we would like to offer to all of you - friendliness of our staffs and cleanliness. I can imagine how you felt after the welcome words of our staff you mentioned. Although I hope it was just a joke (because our hostel i open 24 hrs) its not possible to do it. We will discuss this problem all together to be sure that it will not be repeated anymore in future. I am really sorry - as you can see-most of our comments are really satisfied with our staffs-i really believe it was bad misunderstanding. I can also agree that complete July was really hot in Prague so the temperature in the rooms were also not so friendly but this is the problem of (unusually) hot summer in big city. We are not able to manage which people are occupied our dorms (no bigger than 7 bed in one room!) but we are trying our best to move our guests if they would complain - i am really happy that you like our private room. As you know - our hostel is huge hostel with lot of beds and rooms so we recommend if you would like to have more privacy to book private ensuite rooms (which are really great) in advance. I will be very happy if you would give us one more chance to change your mind about our hostel - specially about our staff. Thanks a lot for understanding-we take your comment very seriously and will solve it soon, regards, jakub, manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Pros: great self catering kitchen and large common room to hang out in. Reception staff helpful with local sight seeing info. Comfortable beds. Good showers - hot water! Location is handy to Old Town Square but not on top of it.

Cons: one washing machine in the kitchen. I asked to use it in the morning and I was told it couldn't be used during breakfast even though I had seen a load just finish. The doors could do with some WD40 - we could hear doors squeaking overnight as guests went to the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownprague, Manager at Hostel Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
dear Elise, thanks a lot for your feedback which help us to be better. (i am really happy you enjoyed your stay in hostel Downtown and you were satisfied with most of our services and staff). You are right - we have really washing machine in kitchen and its not allowed to use it during the breakfast time because of hygiene. But - we have already bough new washing machine and new dryer machine for our guests and we are going to open new special room to wash and dry your things without any restrictions till the end of August. I can confirm that our repairmen checked all the doors and definitely finished this unpleasant sound everywhere…thank you and i hope to welcome you again in future, jakub, manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#55 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#67 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#8 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel One Home
Hostel One Home
#4 of 565 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#34 of 565 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Praha 7
Sir Toby's Hostel
Sir Toby's Hostel
#29 of 565 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Downtown

Address: Narodni 19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Downtown offers quality and inexpensive accommodation in newly refurbished beautiful building.Hostel Downtown is open all year 24 hours a day. Accommodation is available in apartments/rooms with shower or in shared rooms (dormitories). The reception desk is open 24 hours. Friendly English speaking staff will be happy to help you with all your requests. Hostel Downtown is the first hostel in the Central and Eastern Europe that was awarded a "HI Quality" certificate from Hostelling International. We are very happy and proud! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.