We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio's Vysehrad

Rio's Vysehrad
Stulcova 102/2, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 2)
+420 224 922 156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,651 of 4,271 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Praha 2
Champlin, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We went to Rio's and had a delightful meal. Our waiter looked like a young Jeff Goldblum and he even knew who Jeff Goldblum was because when we asked him if he knew who the American Actor Jeff Goldblum was, he said, "Jeff Goldblum from The Fly." It was a colorful, neat and clean looking restaurant. Our service was excellent and the food was delicious. It was not exceptionally busy during the time that we were there. We all had a different entree including ratatouille. It was one of our favorite meals from our 18 days in Europe. After dinner we went to the top of the hill and watched the sunset. It was a perfect choice for my family of six and about a 10-15 minute walk from Aparthotel City 5 where we were staying.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A real jewel in the crown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

There are many good restaurants in Prague (and many awful ones too!), and this is one of the good ones. The staff are friendly and attentive, the manager a wonderful host. The food is absolutely sublime. My friend and I both had the specials, Sea Bass and a Filet. Perfectly cooked and served with simple but tasty sides - yum!
Yes, it's pricier than your average cafe, but this is in a marvellous location, popular with locals and tourists, and not somewhere you'd visit every day - so it's worth splashing out a little.
I will definitely go back hen next in Prague.
Incidentally, the surrounding area (the castle grounds of the first Czech kings) makes for a fabulous pre or post meal walk - wonderful views of the city from the ramparts.
Go on - spoil yourself - after all, you're worth it. Aren't you?

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Shockingly bad service and over priced, what a combination! Everyone treated as tourists rather than guests.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We spent here very Nice evening with my girlfriend, very nice food (beefsteak isnthe best) and drinks, I asked in advance to arrange a flowers for me and everything went fine. Price little bit higher, but it is exclusive restaurant at exclusive spot.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Location great, but ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This place is located directly across the street from Basilica of Sts. Peter and Paul at Vyserhad in Prague. It's Italian. The inside dining room looks VERY nice, we ate outside on the patio.

The service is a little stuffy, and he seemed to be judging my wife and I for just ordering a chicken skewer and fries to share as a snack (it was around lunchtime), but no real complaints about it.

Overall this place seems a bit more upscale than where we'd normally go, and the prices are a bit high, but then again it IS directly across the street from an amazing monument in the heart of Vyserhad, so I'm not really complaining.

The food was ok, but then again we didn't really order much or anything fancy.

It was a great place to sit and view the basilica and cemetary, people watch, relax our dogs and have a beer before heading back out.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio's Vysehrad also viewed

Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Rio's Vysehrad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio's Vysehrad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.