We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charles Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Charles Central to your Saves list
Hotel Charles Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thamova 26, Prague 180 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Brno) (Praha 8)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Great location & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Really appreciated location, just in front of the subway station. Big food choices on breakfast. The room was clean, with flat screen TV and minibar. Staff at reception was nice and helpful. Will come back again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    86
    45
    18
    21
See reviews for
45
68
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great location with the metro station being at the entrance of the hotel and it being only 2 stops to Old Town. Room was decent size and clean with a mini bar, no air con but it was quiet enough to leave the window open at night. Staff were very helpful in particular the young female receptionists. We had an issue with the light in our room which was promptly dealt with by the staff and we were moved to another hotel over night which was of a similar if not higher standard free of charge with transport provided. Breakfast was of a high standard with plenty of food choice and it was always being refilled.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

In town for the Roger Waters gig we arrived in the early hours of the Wednesday morning, reception was still manned so the check in was smooth and hassle free. Allocated room 41 on the fourth floor we opted to give the antiquated lift a miss and opt for the stairs. It had been a hot stormy day in Prague and the lack of air conditioning would become a factor of our stay. The room, albeit very basic, was clean nonetheless but no sign of the 'Mini bar in every room' as advertised in the hotel brochure. The curtains did not fit the window and were in serious need of replacement. First impressions then were....'you wouldn't bring your missus here but if on a stag/hen night it could be considered adequate'. Breakfast in the restaurant was fine and plentiful but it is quite small and so on the second morning of our stay we had to queue for a table and again the lack of air con made it feel a little more uncomfortable than we would have liked. The location though is great, others have commented on how local the transport links are but we decided to walk into the 'Old Town' where all the bars/restaurants are located and although its probably a couple of miles it was nice to take in some of the sights along the way.
The staff were very polite and helpful which is always a bonus. Plus points, location, cost, transport links. Minus points, tired in need of painting and refurbishment, small restaurant and definitely lack of air conditioning!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Charles Central because of the following reasons -
1. It is very well connected - Metro station is right across the entrance and tram stop is 100m away.
2. Very economical and yet it includes breakfast (which though was not out-of-this-world, was pretty decent).
3. Clean room & bath, clean linen, soap & shower gel pouch provided.
4. Big room with big double bed, small wardrobe, mini fridge, long table-chair, cabinet, flat screen TV.
5. All the receptionists we encountered were gracious and polite and very very helpful.
6. We were given a very good map of the city at the reception which had all the places to see marked and also given a metro-tram route map.
7. Free wifi, once you took the password from the reception.
8. We also had a balcony with our room which had 2 chairs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Not sure if the price we payed for it was a some sort of a last-minute price but its was ridiculously low to the point that made us suspicious about this place. However, when we arrived super tired to the hotel, our rooms were ready by 12 noon (the official check-in was supposed to be at 14:00) and the receptionists were very friendly. The room itself was big and clean with great shower and toilet. The breakfast was good but nothing special. The best thing about this hotel is its location. Several review here said its a bit far from the center by foot, however we made this distance in less than 15 minutes. Also, the metro is practically outside the entrance which makes it very convenient for us.
The only minor thing which was a bit uncomfortable was the curtain covering the window. As there's a really big window in the room a. the room has tones of light during the day b. it denies you of some privacy. There was a curtain but I had to really struggle with it in order to move it, and once I managed to do so - we couldn't move it back. In any case, after staying in enough 3 star hotels I can honestly say that it was the best one of them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The receptionist carmen has an excepionell service level. She is incredibly passionate about making her customers satisfied. And allways with a smile on her face.She made our stay oustanding.. wow didnt know you could be that professional. We had some special needs while we were in prague and she arrange everything perfectly. We couldn't be more happy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed during a city trip to Prague in this hotel and just for that I can recommend it. It's just a hotel to sleep with a good icluded breakfast and free wi fi. You shouldn't expect more but only for this it's totally ok. The rooms are very clean and contains a big tv screen, toilet and shower is located on the floor.
It is located in a quiet area and it is about 20 minutes walk to the city centre. But you can also choose the metro which is located directly infront of the hotel.
The hotel offers also free parking and safe which is perfect when you arrive with your car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charles Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charles Central

Address: Thamova 26, Prague 180 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Brno)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Prague
#134 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charles Central 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Charles Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brno Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charles Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.