We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Emma

Hostel Emma
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Emma to your Saves list
Hostel Emma
Na Zderaze 10, Prague 12000, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Norwich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Spent 4 nights here recently. Hostel was clean, tidy and spacious.

After a moment of trepidation upon being taken into the house next door and seeing it was being refurbished, we walked into a clean well equipped communal area which we shared with 6 other couples/groups.

Hostel is in a very convenient location and is very easy to find.

If I'm back in Prague soon I will be staying here again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    37
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
5
15
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights. First night due to some mistake, we were given a room upstairs. Thank god for the mistake!! The rooms upstairs were amazing, with shared facilities and free coffee/tea. The location is also good. Although it is not 5 mins from charles bridge, but it is near a metro station Karlovo Namesti from where you can reach any place possible in Praha.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights, the first night we were in a room downstairs off the kitchen which was fine, but the walls were unplastered in one corner, this didn't bother me though. The bathrooms were clean and the kitchen was good and well equipped for cooking. There was 3 computers in the lounge area with free internet!
The second and third we were moved rooms to a place just down the road from the hostel, it was in an old apartment on the 2nd floor. There was a small kitchen and very clean showers and toilets. Our room was grand, an 8 dorm. It had good lockers.
For the price of €7 a night, it was brilliant!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

The Emma Hostel in Prague is not really the best hostel to stay at. Firstly, they told us that the hostel is 2 mins walk from the Charles Square and 5 mins from the Charles Bridge which was wrong. It was easily a 15-20 min walk to these places. So its not centrally located. Their website also says that there is non-stop reception desk where the staff will help solve any problems. This was not so. The check in time was 2pm (which we were not informed) and reached early morning. We had to wait for a long time till someone came to the reception and told us that we would just have to come back at 2! We asked if we could keep our luggage with them and very reluctantly they kept our bags in a locker room. We wanted to have a bath before leaving and had to use the common bathrooms which were a little inconvenient - The bathing cubicles were very small there was no place to hang your towel or clothes and no place to keep soap/shampoo etc. Anyway we managed somehow!

We had a room for 4 people with bunk beds. The beds made noise every time someone shifted! So we could not sleep well at all. Also, the key to our room didn't work and the room was open the whole day. So we didn't keep any valuables in the room. The room hadn't been cleaned and we had to get the bedsheets changed when we came, since they were very dirty.

The staff was very unhelpful and rude. They didn't want to help at all. Unlike other hostels, they gave us no information about the city and what all one can do.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

My experience in this hostel was short, but good. I stayed there only one night, but overall had a good first impression: clean room and bathroom + nice and helpful receptionist speaking perfect english. I did not get the chance to further experience the atmosfere at the hostel since i only used it to sleep, but i could appreciate that it was from a walking distance to the center.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

Advantages:
- very close to city centre
- very good (and free) internet connection
- big kitchen with lots of seats

Disadvantages:
- Receptionist only speaks Czech
- Receptionist not very helpful
- Dirty room (dead spiders, hair, coffee pads on the floor)
- Unwashed sheets

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

I stayed there in February last year. I decided to choose Hostel Emma because of its convinient location and of course price. I think that it's a perfect place for students and for people who do not want to spend a lot money on accommodation. Personally my expectations are always low because during my trips what I need in a hostel is just a bed and shower ;) Hostel Emma was a good choice. The room wasn't very cosy. We lived in basement and had only a small window, but it didn't matter ;)
Don't expect a luxury, just a place to sleep. Remember that there are more interesting places in Prague than your room :P

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Emma

Address: Na Zderaze 10, Prague 12000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Emma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.