We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place for lunch or a pastry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Au Gourmand

Au Gourmand
Dlouha, 10, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))
420-222329060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 41 Bakeries in Prague
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
toronto
Level Contributor
167 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“A lovely place for lunch or a pastry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

After leaving Paris for Prague, we were a bit homesick for a nice patisserie. We were told to go to The Bake Shop and enroute we passed this lovely place and decided to stop in for a light lunch. I had lasagna, my friend had a salad with chicken and it was not only reasonable with good portions but it had a lovely atmosphere, too. We ended up here 3 times over 3 days. Twice for lunch and once because we couldn't resist their pastry any longer! Everything we had was very good. We did end up visiting The Bake Shop but we weren't impressed enough with it to eat there. This place was much nicer for a sit down meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    70
    23
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious looking and tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The delicious looking cakes, pastries and savouries drew us in. Everything we ate was as good as it looked. They even had a family favourite - croque Monsieur. The decor was comfortably elegant and bohemian at the same time, echoing memories of a Paris where one met in cafés to discuss grand ideas.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Black forest cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were walking in Prague and saw this place with all sorts of nice cakes and quiches on display. The service was a little slow. The place was cozy and nice. My husband's pasta (with béchamel) was delicious! Creamy and with lots of salmon. My salad was good. I recommend it for cakes and also the daily menu because it is good an inexpensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful cakes, shame about the service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We dropped in for coffee and to sample some of the delicious looking patisseries the cafe had to offer. Food was good as expected but the service was very poor indeed. Staff gave the impression they really couldn't be bothered and when we tried to attract someone (anyone's!) attention we eventually had to give up.
There seemed to be lots of staff all dashing around looking busy but although the place was almost empty they seemed to miss us! We usually always leave a tip but in this case we decided to only leave something if the waitress smiled when she came to take the money, she didn't so we didn't!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Patisserie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We enjoyed several sandwich, coffee & cakes in this fabulous French style patisserie. They have all their cakes, pastries, quiches & sandwich all on display which makes choosing torture as you want to try them all. It is easy to find follow the road behind the large statue in the square down passed the Irish bar (yes even in Prague). The staff are helpful and help with trying to pronounce the names correctly. This patisserie is everything I expected to see in Paris but didn't. If you fancy a cake or pastry don't miss this little gem but there are plenty of patisserie as you wander.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Gourmand also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Au Gourmand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Gourmand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.