We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place for Coffee and Pastry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Au Gourmand

Au Gourmand
Dlouha, 10, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))
420-222329060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 29 Bakeries in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Oak Park, IL
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Excellent Place for Coffee and Pastry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stopped here for afternoon coffee and pastry, and we enjoyed the place very much--especially the outside garden in the back.

Friends of ours happened along and ordered lunch, which looked terrific (one had quiche and the other had a salmon sandwich on a croissant); my husband had the black forest cake, and I had the apple tart. Our other friend had a strawberry cream sponge cake, which she also enjoyed.

We recommend this cafe; it was a welcome respite from an afternoon of walking around Prague.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    58
    22
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Nice little café”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stumbled across this place entirely by accident and were pleasantly surprised - nice coffee (some of the best we had on the entire trip) and good cakes. Relaxed service and reasonable prices too.

For the UK traveller, it's a bit like a patisserie valerie in terms of cake selection (at least when we were there - we passed it later and it had sold out so clearly it's popular), except the coffee and service here is markedly better!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cute patisserie with spectacular array of sweet and savoury snacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a much-needed post half-marathon snack and was not disappointed. The Croque Monsieurs are superb. Also try the crèpes. Next time, I would choose coffee rather than tea, which was weak no matter how long it steeped. We sat in the central table right out in front so we could absorb the hustle and bustle of the place and drool at all the cakes in the display cases. Service was a bit stiff but Prague is like that. Good value and old-fashioned charm.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Best coffe house in Central Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Best coffee from 14 similar coffee houses in Prague, delicious French pastries, reasonable prices and nice waitresses.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

First impression.... beautiful surroundings and beautiful food. Behind the scenes a different
café awaits. Front room is bright and airy in fabulous surroundings. The room at the back is cluttered, too many tables in this narrow, claustophobic space. Behind this a corridor leading to the toilets, used the evening I called as a store. The toilets were disappointing,small and cramped with papers strewn on the floor. Food was ok but the general lack of tidyness left me wondering, 'What is the kitchen like?'

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Gourmand also viewed

 

Been to Au Gourmand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Gourmand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.