We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a to die for location in Prague” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metamorphis Excellent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Metamorphis Excellent to your Saves list
Metamorphis Excellent
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tyn 10/644 | Praha 1, Prague 110 00 , Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a to die for location in Prague”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a very nice hotel and I would recommend it. It is located directly behind the Tyn Church and Old Town Square in Prague. This makes it easy to get to all the sites to see in Prague. You can walk to everything. The astronomical clock is two minutes, the Tyn church is one minute, Charles Bridge about eight minute. The Jewish section is very close. You can even walk to the castle from there. The front desk people are very nice and helpful and breakfast is included. Our room was enormous. My only complaints are that the elevator barely fits two people, our bathroom had a funky odor and I could not figure out how to work the air conditioner. It wasn't really hot but with the windows open, you can hear the noise in the square and I am a light sleeper. There are a few places right in Tyn square worth eating at, the Indian restaurant and Rembandt cafe.

Room Tip: I didn't see anyone elses room. My room was not attached to the front desk but through a coutya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    21
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
49
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this 5 star hotel in March 2012 for 4 nights. The room was very spacious and had a beautiful painted ceiling. We had requested to be on the side overlooking the square and the bed was very comfortable. On the first night we asked reception if they could look at the airconditioning as it wasn't working, the guy at reception had no clue as what to do, that same night we had no hot water. The next morning there was no water at all, and after asking reception about this we were told quite bluntly that they didn.t know when it would be fixed. We asked for some bottles of water to at least brush our teeth and were told we should go out and buy them,. Breakfast was served over the road in the hotel part and when we were going to sit down we were told very abrupt by one of the waitresses that we couldn't sit there and had to move. We ventured into town and prague is a beautiful city and we did meet many friendly people. On return to our room we had once again water and it was hot, also the airconditoning was turned on. Our room 812 was overlooking the square which also has an Irish pub and you can not leave your window open because of the noise. The next two days all was fine and the room was cleaned every day,until the third day when reception decided to turn off the air-conditioning again and were then told that they don't turn it on this time of year. and we had to do without for the remainder of our stay. I would advice to buy your own coffee as what is provided you either spay for or the free coffee in your room is just awful, also the tea is not everyday replaced and you only one sachet.
The breakfast served is sufficient, but the same everyday and even though it is till 10.30 in the morning not everything is replaced once it has run out.
This is definately not a 5 star hotel, it left us feeling very unwanted and would certainly not recommend it or return there, as there are so many lovely hotels in Prague.
The staff should be more approachable and a smile so now and then would not go a miss.
All in all Prague is a wonderfull city , certainly to visit again,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Excellent hospitality, great room and the hotel too has done a good job of preserving the original architecture as much as possible by building around it. The location of the hotel is bang in the middle of all important tourist spots (walking distance to all places), and is surrounded by very good restaurants so it is very ideal for tourists particularly.

Room Tip: If you need anything specific in the room, like a table, make sure to ask for it upfront since the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at Metamorphis Excellent Sept 2011. We stayed in the corner suite on the third floor and it was great! First off the shower and bathroom are large and amazing. The main sleeping area had a couch and chair plus two beds. The entry room has one additional bed as well. It is located close to the Central plaza. The free breakfast is tasty and you have a large window to eat it in. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The third floor corner suite is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

situated in Tyn square this hotel was just amazing. The bedrooms were spacious, with huge comfortable beds, The bathroom, again was spacious with an amazing flat head shower with real water pressure - sheer delight! The rooms were very well equipped and clean. Tea, coffee, TV, iron and ironing board even bathroom scales were provided! The breakfasts were held in the restaurant opposite and again we couldn't fault them. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The only slight downside was there is no lift so suitcases do have to be carted up the stairs - good reason to travel light!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weezieyat
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

First the good...We enjoyed our stay at the Metamorphis Hotel Excellent for 4 nights at the end of July. The rooms were huge and nicely decorated. We had 6 rooms total for 12 people.
Breakfast was ample, but down a long, 28 steps, winding staircase in a separate restaurant across the alley. The carpets could use some replacing in room 841 as I found they were stained and dingy looking. Definitely not a 5 Star hotel, but a decent 3 at best. Excellent location to just about everywhere and great views.
**Word of warning if you cannot do stairs. I had my parents (82 yrs old) travelling with our group. I had made sure that elevators were available in all of our hotels, including Metamorphis. I was sent an email saying the elevator went up to the 2nd floor and that it was only a 4 steps walk up to the 3rd floor. Low and behold, when we arrived, we were all given rooms in the building that had only stairs....4 flights. The best they could do was give my parents a room on the 2nd floor, so they only had to make it up two sets of stairs to the 2nd floor! The rest of us got used to hoofing it up several flights. Not very accommodating.
Also, on hot evenings, which thankfully was not many, the AC's didn't work well in some rooms. My sister and husband had their room changed and the other room worked better. The hotel told them that no one else complained about it. Like it was their fault! LOL

Room Tip: If you need elevator, be sure you're in the right building. Lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altea, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Hotel is small but clean and efficient. Must be book early. It is only a short walk to the old town square. All types of tours readily available. Staff only too happy to book anything you want.

Room Tip: Needs to be booked early hotel only has about 11 rooms - no elevator only 3 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis
Metamorphis
#133 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Merchant's Yard Residence
Merchant's Yard Residence
#135 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#253 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#126 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#104 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 929 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#11 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metamorphis Excellent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metamorphis Excellent

Address: Tyn 10/644 | Praha 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#151 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#194 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metamorphis Excellent 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Metamorphis Excellent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metamorphis Excellent Prague
Metamorphis Excellent Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metamorphis Excellent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.