We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean hotel in a perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amarilis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amarilis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amarilis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stepanska 18 | Prague 1, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 668 hotels in Prague
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A clean hotel in a perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed at Amarilis Hotel for one night. Upon arrival we were unpleasantly surprised with lack of parking places around the hotel; the hotel offered parking for 25 euros/night which was a bit expensive. They did offer us a small bed for our baby, which was prepared and given to us a few hours later. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The hotel offers wireless internet connection in the lobby but we could connect (admittedly with a very low quality signal) from our room at the 3rd floor. We spent the rest of our day on sightseeing. The hotel is ideally located in the close vicinity of all tourist attractions. Our room was not very spacious but OK and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast is just fine but the place where it is served cannot accommodate all the guests in the peak hours and you may have to wait a bit before you get a table.
All in all, it was a neat and clean hotel in a perfect location. It might be relatively expensive by the Czech standards but I think it is worth it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    58
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
44
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

Spent just one night here with friends in late December 2008. Despite it being only 2 nights before New Years Eve, unbelievably a double room without reservation was only €110 at this 4-star hotel. But once the Czech Republic switches from the koruna to the euro, these rates will go up for sure.

The room we stayed in was located on the top floor. It gave us access to an expansive deck that allowed us to venture out as far as one corner of the roof. The view from the deck of the national museum and free radio tower is fantastic. The room itself is also quite spacious with ample room for luggage and several persons to move around comfortably. It consists of a minibar, electronic safe, cable tv, and phone. Hot buffet breakfast and wifi internet access (from lobby only) are complementary.

There have been other reviews here that cited various problems and discourteous treatment from the staff. We never experienced such things. Despite their regular parking area being full, management was very kind to let us park in a blocked space by displaying a notice on the windshield indicating we were guests of the hotel.

  • Liked — Simple yet clean, spacious, and functional.
  • Disliked — Rooms could use additional seating. Plenty of room for armchairs.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

The hotel is excellently located. Very close to the main square.

Staff is nice but do not speak English very well.
The hotel is not one year old but you can see that maintenance is not a +
I had problems with the room temperature but it could not be fixed meaning that I was cold during my stay.
Housekeepig has defenetly BIG problems.
Carpet had stains.
Cleanliness in the room was terrible. Hair in the carpet. And the cleaning of the room was not you would expect from a 4*
I stayed during the week and during the week end. One of the days I came to the hotel during lunch time and my room was not cleaned yet. I left at 2.30 and no one knocked at the door to clean it. When I came back in the evening it was cleaned.
Saturday morning I wanted to rest and the mades were shouting to each other in the corridor and I had to go out twice to explain them that I wanted to sleep. I left the room at 12.30 and came back at 9pm and my room was not cleaned.
The following day the receptionist told me that it was not cleaned because I had the do not disturb sign which was true until 12.30 but as my room was cleaned after 2.30 pm during the week this should never be an excuse.
Check out time was 10.am which is totally crazy in a hotel.
The night before I checked out, I booked a taxi for 2.30 and said to the receptionist that I would keep the room until that time. The following day when I was complaining about my room not being cleaned the day before, the receptionist instead of being apologetic, she made fun of me and said that I was already lucky to have the room until 2.30 and that I should shut up (her words…)

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

Décor
Stayed here for a couple of nights at the start of August, would definitely stay again when visiting Prague. Great colour scheme in our room, a lot more appealing than the average budget box in beige. Ultra clean rooms with large double bed, bath etc. Staff were bi-lingual and gave great service.

Price
We paid around 50 euros a night for a double room, including an impressive hot and cold breakfast. It worked out cheaper than staying in a hostel which is pretty impressive.

Location
Just behind the National Museum on Wenceslas Square, great location as it’s a five minute walk into the centre, but also in its own district so not to hectic with the tourist throngs.

Extras
Mini bar, TV/radio etc.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

Although this is a clean hotel, watch your personal goods. I went out for 10 minutes to the convenience store across the street and had my passport, all my cash and other valuables stolen by the bell hop who had master key access. Management did nothing about the situation. I stayed here for 7 nights. Unfortunately I had to file police reports, spend a whole day at the embassy to get a new passport and hours on the phone which is not the way I wanted to spend my time in Prague.

Craig P
Texas USA

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amarilis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarilis Hotel

Address: Stepanska 18 | Prague 1, Prague, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Prague
#159 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#181 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarilis Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel houses 67 spacious guest rooms individually designed in Feng Shui Style, painted with fresh bright colors and all of them equipped with modern amenities that provide comfort and convenience. Accommodation in the Amarilis Jerome Hotel is provided in rooms of different categories such as Standard, Superior and Suite with Jacuzzi and smoking in the hotel is non allowed. The hotel's restaurant Energia located on the groundfloor is an important part of the hotel's Feng Shui concept and serves contemporary International and Ayurveda cuisine. The food, being always fresh and delicious, is specially prepared with respect to healthy life style.Wellness, located in the basement, features steam and infra sauna, heated benches, massage shower and jazzuci, is ideal spot for relaxation and regeneration. The restaurant and wellness center make hotel's Feng Shui concept complete.Flexible conference rooms can host up to 150 people and feature technical equipment, sound equipment, over-head projectors and wifi access. Of course, catering is available as well.The Amarilis Jerome Hotel is located in the very center of Prague within a walking distance from Wenceslas Square, Old Town Square, National Museum, National Theater, Jewish Quater, Ungelt, Municiapal House, Old Town Hall, New Town Hall, Astronomical clock (Orloj) and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Amarilis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarilis Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarilis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.