We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value for Comfortability & Near to Hauptbahnhof” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amarilis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amarilis Hotel to your Saves list
Amarilis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stepanska 18 | Prague 1, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Value for Comfortability & Near to Hauptbahnhof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Our first idea was to rent an apartment close to National Theater as we have planned to explore more about Jazz, classic musics, theater, opera, and Church during our 3 days visit in Prague. But then we realized that our return ticket to Muenchen was very early at 5AM. So we decided to find the hotel near Hauptbahnhof

We found and book Amarillis Hotel from reservation at the Tourist Center in Hauptbahnhof. We paid 30% upfront at Tourist Center and the balance upon check-in. It's Easy to get hotel in Prague even we just switch the plan suddenly only by a few hours.

Amariliss is a small hotel with the best value for comfortability. This hotel has strategics location especially for young couple who love walking everywhere. It's also comfortable hotel with pleasant staff. The last important thing to considers is very affordable only spent maximum 350 Euro for 3 Night includes breakfast.

This hotel is located in the hearth of Prague, close to the boulevard, a few step to national museum and any other tourst object, and most important for us only 4 minutes walk to Hauptbahnhof.

Amarillis meets our needs who don't like the crowded and noisy atmosphere. This hotel made us comfortable and hide away from tourist crowd as located in the middle of the Stepanska road which more queit than the boulevard. We have also enjoyed the clean and warm room with balcony.

Another remarkable things, we experienced the easiness on communication with the staff. They are very pleasant of course with a smile and helpful when we asking something for city directions, taxy, laundry, and eather anything. There's no language barrier at all as they can help us either on english or a bit germany.

Room Tip: Consider location near the station as you can get easily anywhere you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    69
    30
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
57
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We Booked last minute and good a very good deal. The hotel was in a great location and within a reasonable walking distance from Prague's train station which was handy for us.
The room was very spacious and clean and the en suite was in a good condition.
Also, having free internet in the reception area was very useful and a great feature of the hotel.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

The winter is not better season for vacation in Prague. But New Year in this place is full of magic. Hotel “Amarillis” is located in the heart of the old Prague, near Václavské náměstí. The hotel is 4-stars. This is a quiet comfortable place. The rooms are not big, but this is enough for two adults: big bed, TV, arm chair... High Tech style is reigns in the bathroom. This hotel is non-smoking!
The breakfast included bread, butter, eggs, fried eggs, sheese, salads, sausages, tea, coffe etc. It was enough for the morning.
There are a lot of cozy restaurants near the hotel. The restaurants provide Czech cuisine and ,of course, Czech beer. I would like to recommend you „Krušovice“. By my opinion this is the best beer in Prague.
As you can know there is „Pražský hrad“ not far from „Karlův most“. The undeground station is near this one. The most beautiful veiw is from the top of „Pražský hrad“. St. Vitus Cathedral impresses with its splendor. But at that time the entrance in to the Cathedral was paid.
„Karlův most“ is not far from the hotel „Amarillis“ (about 30 minutes). If you want you can go to „Karlův most“ by the underground (10 minutes).
If you want to have a little miracle you can spend time for the winter holidays in Prague.

NB: there are two different „Amarilis“ hotels in Prague. My hotel is located in Stepanska street.

Room Tip: Be sure the location of room does not matter if you will spend your time for the excursions around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We only stayed here for the one night we were in Prague. Our room was large, clean and well maintained if a bit modern and antispetic. The location is close enough that everything we wanted to see was in walking distance but far enough away that at night it was quiet even though our room faced the street.
The staff were friendly enough although we did not have much contact with them.

The breakfast buffet was comprehensive and well stocked (although the muzak was a bit strange)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Decent size of room
Small TV
Small sink
No WiFi, despite what is stated on websites. Wired Internet is available (Cable supplied)
Clean but some old stains on carpet
Very helpfull staff
Very good quality Breakfast

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing street to avoid listening to drunk people in the street late at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stayed at the Amarillis not too long ago and there was a situation with the shower door. Essentially it was loose and hanging out of the bathtub too wide. It fell and shattered in a million pieces while I was in there changing. I did not touch it or cause this accident. Because of this, my foot and partner's hand was bleeding. The hotel staff immediately accused me of causing this accident and did not show any sympathy for what happened to me. Instead they decided to charge me for the damage that I did not cause.

I urge others not to stay at this hotel, the service is horrible and the showers that they offer are unsafe.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukasKM, Public Relations Manager at Amarilis Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion. We really appreciate it ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Very good hotel, clean, modern, good continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amarilis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarilis Hotel

Address: Stepanska 18 | Prague 1, Prague, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Prague
#131 Business Hotel in Prague
#155 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#206 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarilis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel houses 67 spacious guest rooms individually designed in Feng Shui Style, painted with fresh bright colors and all of them equipped with modern amenities that provide comfort and convenience. Accommodation in the Amarilis Jerome Hotel is provided in rooms of different categories such as Standard, Superior and Suite with Jacuzzi and smoking in the hotel is non allowed. The hotel's restaurant Energia located on the groundfloor is an important part of the hotel's Feng Shui concept and serves contemporary International and Ayurveda cuisine. The food, being always fresh and delicious, is specially prepared with respect to healthy life style.Wellness, located in the basement, features steam and infra sauna, heated benches, massage shower and jazzuci, is ideal spot for relaxation and regeneration. The restaurant and wellness center make hotel's Feng Shui concept complete.Flexible conference rooms can host up to 150 people and feature technical equipment, sound equipment, over-head projectors and wifi access. Of course, catering is available as well.The Amarilis Jerome Hotel is located in the very center of Prague within a walking distance from Wenceslas Square, Old Town Square, National Museum, National Theater, Jewish Quater, Ungelt, Municiapal House, Old Town Hall, New Town Hall, Astronomical clock (Orloj) and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Amarilis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarilis Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarilis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.