We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Victoria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria

Hotel Victoria
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Hotel Victoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borska 19, Pilsen 30100, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Pilsen
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hotel Victoria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I travelled with a group of friends in hot weather. All the rooms were very clean, no air-conditioning but we all had a large pedestal fan and a fridge, so the room (and any food or drinks you might have) could be kept at comfortable temperature. There is free WiFi in the rooms and public areas. The staff spoke English and German so communication was not a problem.

The food from the restaurant was absolutely superb, very tasty and generous portions. It took a little time to arrive- but to be fair, we were a group of about ten, there was also a wedding party in the hotel that night so the staff were very busy. Breakfast the following morning was also very good, as well as the usual Continental style there were also sausages and fried or boiled eggs, always very welcome to Britons!

The only slight niggle is that the restaurant is in the basement- and is also the smoking room. It is well-equipped with forced ventilation so is not "foggy" but it is something to be aware of if you are particularly bothered by cigarette smoke.

We enjoyed our stay and especially the food- I would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
7
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were in Plzen to go to the Pilsner Urquell Brewery so we only stayed one night. I had booked it online the night before we arrived. The hotel was about a 20-30 minute walk to the brewery, which was fine, but stick to the main roads when walking there. We turned a couple of streets too soon and found ourselves in kind of a sketchy area. On the way back we stayed on the main roads and it was fine.
The hotel itself is very old but kept up well enough. Our room looked out of the front of the hotel and we were facing the Plzen train station. You could hear the trains going all night long. There was a wedding going on in the hotel that night also, so it was pretty raucus quite late. The room was acceptable, bed was nice, bedding was fresh. No air conditioning but big windows opened up. Restaurant is in the lower level. Very intimate and kind of closed in. Smoking is allowed in the restaurant/bar after 11 am so if smoke bothers you, you won't like the place. Breakfast is in the same area but smoking is not permitted then.
Check in and check out was acceptable.
The town itself was a little bit dirty and I don't think there is a big tourist draw other than the brewery so it's not kept up very well. Felt a little uneasy there.
Overall, probably would not go back to the town or the hotel.
(Brewery tour was excellent though)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

located about 15 minute walk to the start of the old town ( 2 stops on the cheap trams ), and 4 stops on the tram 16 from outside the tesco just under the bridge and across the busy road from the spectacular main rail station.
urban regeneration seems to have stopped one street before the victoria, but the area is still ok.
this is an older style hotel, and bedrooms / public areas are a bit dowdy and tired looking in industrial browns and ochres.
the bedroom was of a decent size with high ceiling, small fridge and satellite tv.the bed was comfortable, and i slept very well.
bathroom was a little small, but appears to have been recently renovated in a grey marble effect., some even with water jets in the bath-tub. however the fixtures appear a little frail, and may not stand up to heavy hotel usage.
the basement has a fairly nice restaurant / bar serving a decent hot and cold buffet breakfast, plus lunch and dinner, and there is a small beer garden out the back.
the billiard room and fitness room have to be opened by reception, and after 10pm, guests have to ring the outside door, and be allowed back in after night receptionist pokes her head out of a window to check who wants access...
the hotel does have a certain amount of character, but cannot really be compared with any of the terrific examples of jugendstil buildings you can find almost on every corner, and represents
good value without any particular redeeming features.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have just returned after a 4 night stay, there were two of us on b&b. The Hotel is, upon entry quite impressive, after that, less so.

Whilst I am not a fan of long winded check in procedures, this was possibly the shortest! Having got to Plzen via bus, train and taxi from Praha, I expected a nice, friendly greeting but was essentially given the key to the room and told the breakfast times, which were wrong, but that's not a problem, just odd.

The room, third floor, overlooked the rear of the hotel, so away from noise. The room had two beds (two blokes) and they were average to say the least, bathroom - very small, small and noisey fridge and no tea/coffee making facilities ... decidely average.

For the price, £45 per night it was decent value, but if you want anything remotely fancy, like a room that has been dusted and cleaned in the last 2 years, then try somewhere else.

6 out of 10 ... btw, its a good 15/20 minute walk into the main square.

Room Tip: Ask to look first and make sure it is clean and dusted. I would also insist on a room at the rear of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

I spent one night. Room was simple but comfortable, bathroom with shower. All clean and well maintained. Adjacent restaurant open until 23:00. Simple breakfast. Friendly staff, speaking german and english. Price about 40euro. Wifi in the rooms. However my friend was not able to connect with the Mac. I didnt have problems with ipad nor smartphone. It satisfied my needs.
Vladimir

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ptuj, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

It was a very good decision to stay in Hotel Victoria. Rooms are big enough, clean and beautiful. The same thing for the bathroom. Friendly staff and a very good solution for the parking. Location is about 15 minutes on foot from the city centre, but you can also use tram. Also breakfast was superb!

Damijan & Neja, Slovenija

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

Liked the room witha nice view of the river and equipped with new facilities, plus the free sauna, but don't drink too muh Plisener before you take the sauna!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Borska 19, Pilsen 30100, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Pilsen Region > Pilsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Pilsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
39 double bedrooms, 17 single bedrooms incl. 4 suites with bathroom (gurgle bath or shower), SAT TV, radio, telephone, refrigerator, hair-dryer and safe. Restaurant, bar, garden restaurant, lounges. Fitness room, massages, lymphodrainage, sauna, billiard, wireless access to the internet "WLAN" in the whole building, internet room, guarded parking, close to town center and public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Plzen
Hotel Victoria Plzen/Pilsen, Czech Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.