We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, poor service (unless you're a hot girl)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of U Mansfelda

U Mansfelda
Krizikovy sady, Pilsen, Czech Republic
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 127 Restaurants in Pilsen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service (unless you're a hot girl)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

On arriving we asked for a non-smoking table and were told there weren't any (perhaps the empty ones were reserved). So we asked for another table and were told there weren't any in the smoking section either. We pointed to an empty barstool/table and asked if we could sit there. Yes, that would be fine.

After the waiters had finished chatting up the girls at the bar, our order was taken. Our waiter dismissed my choice of sides saying it wasn't a good combination with my main meal and suggested something different. Ok, I guess. The food itself was actually really tasty and reasonably priced.

The atmosphere and service was sub-standard. We're used to poor service having been in the Czech Republic for over a month now, but this was below even that standard. Attentiveness was given to the girls at the bar, and other groups of cute girls sitting at other tables.

The only reason I gave this an "average" rating was for the food and price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    37
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemhofen, Germany
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food and ambiance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Nice place to drink a beer and eat the nice czech food. I tried wildpork shoulder with goulasch and something else... Was awesome, also the desert is great. The service took a little bit long but worth it. I do recommend it. Worth a try.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I love food, location, staff, and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

You won't be disappointed here. They have an extensive menu that includes Czech cuisine and regional favorites, and you're sure to find something. The menus are in Czech, German, and English. The staff is friendly. You can of course get all of the local beers here. This restaurant was recommended by the hotel we were staying at one my very first trip to Plzen, and I always make it a point to stop here on subsequent trips. Great downtown location.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorzow, Poland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If you want to try Czech cuisine, try U Mansfelda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Original Czech cuisine with lnedlicky (Czech dumplings). If you are hungry and you don't care about the calories, try pork knee. Plus original fresh Pilsner Urquell. What I don't like: very often the restaurant is full and you need to book the table in advance :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“A good Pilsen restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have eaten here a number of times as I visit Pilsen on a regular basis each year. Overall it is a good quality restaurant, and like many in the Czech Republic has a menu running into several hundred items. It is well located facing a nice open area fairly close to St Bartholomew's Cathedral. I would go back, in fact I will, on my next trip.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Mansfelda also viewed

 
Pilsen, Pilsen Region
 

Been to U Mansfelda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Mansfelda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.