We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Falkensteiner Grand Spa Hotel Marienbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Falkensteiner Grand Spa Hotel Marienbad to your Saves list
Falkensteiner Grand Spa Hotel Marienbad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruska 123, Marianske Lazne 35301, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Marianske Lazne
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean. Restaurant and food is amazing! Large variety and everything very very tasty! That was more then 4* standard! Not so much the rest. The reception staff not very profesional. They dont speak english, Luckely I can speak little czech, but my husband was shocked! They dont seem very familiar with the hotel either as they had no clue what kind of room we requested and we had to move twice! No apology given at all... On the contrary they seemed anoyed with us!
Pool area and the saunas is very nice, although the "smart" lifeguard is very anoying, lound and nasty.
This wasnt the cheapest hotel in ML so the service could have been better and the menu in more than 1 language. We though this was Czech republic not Germany!

Room Tip: If possible ask for a pool view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    33
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
59
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Hotel Falkensteiner has great spa facilities and very nice treatments. I particularly enjoyed the Mud bath..The staffe was very friendly and helpful and the outdoor pool a real treat. Next time, I'll book a room in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a Central European trip. We started in Prague, drove through the Czech Republic to Austria and then through Germany and back to Prague. We agreed on the ratings of the following hotels and restaurants...

Lobby: okay, the front desk usually had a line at it - would have been better to have less of a line and another receptionist at the front

Room: 4/5 - felt like a standard american hotel room; it was immaculately clean and the bathroom was very comfortable and had both a shower and a tub; it was a bit warm at night and we opened the door - there are no screens and even in November there were a few mosquitos - while the hotel is non-smoking, people smoke on balconies and if you leave the door open, your room will smell like smoke

People: The people at the front desk were in general pretty helpful and spoke English enough. The people in the spa, however were atrocious and resulted in us taking away a star. There is a man who cleans the pool area - he yelled at me in another language (perhaps german or czech) and then made the sign of the cross, all because I was wearing flip flops in the pool area. Then the next day, he did the same thing - again with the sign of the cross. We had massages, both by male masseuses (we were never asked which we prefer) and the people at the spa do not speak any English. They seem to cater more to Russians and do not care for the customers who are English- speakers. The only reason I give this place a 4, instead of a 3 or a 2 for the people is because there was one person in the dining area that went above and beyond our expectations to accommodate my food allergies.

Pool: There were several pools and they were fantastic! There are saunas and you are expected to be nude in them - walking by the area you will see nude elderly men.

Food: I have food allergies and they did everything they could to accommodate them and also make sure I did not eat anything containing the allergens. My husband loved all the food - I thought the quality was great and the food was fresh, delicious and plentyful.

Other:
Should have air-conditioning
Internet did not work most of the time we were there
The bar area smells like the pool and is very humid
The place caters to the elderly and has creepy treatments including enemas and gas injections into joints - both of which do not seem like they should be legal in such a facility

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

we stayed at the Falkensteiner at the end of August, during the heat-wave. The hotel is situated in a quiet area, but then again, everything is very quiet in Marienbad. The room with balcony overlooked the pool. Usually probably not a problem, but during the heatwave we could have done with either air con or a fan in the room. Since the hotel is situated in a valley there was no breeze. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, room is bright, clean and beds very comfy. Slippers and robe provided. Lovely big bathroom, separate powerful shower- fantastic. Breakfast superb. Mostly elderly Germans in this hotel making the most use of all the spa facilities. I had a mud bath - brilliant, and a massage whith which I was not impressed, far to soft for my taste. The area in and around Marienbad is pretty, don't forget to go to the singing fountain every odd hour, it's lovely. The hotel is slightly away from the main town, about 10 mins walk downhill - a little bit of activity.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
東京
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed at Falkensteiner in August for two nights. I bought a package "Trail Weekend in Grand Spa" for 350Euros. It includes 2 nights double room and all meals, including Saturday celebration 6-course gala dinner . Dinner was good but not excellent. Beverage is expensive. There are various spa facilities with additional fee. We used pools and saunas because they are free. There are several saunas like Finnish, Bio, infrared and so on. It was somewhat embarrasing because to use saunas you have to be naked for sanitary reason and there is no distinction of sexes. Overall this place is expensive considering czech price. For pool and good meal I'd rather go to Thai beaches.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Hotel without air condition. No worth 4 star hotels. Bad reputation for Falkensteiner resorts. Prices for beverages were sky-high and food without creativities. Poor service. Even in reception staff no speaks English language. Only good point is Spa facilities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My family and I stayed in this hotel twice, and we're very satisfied. The rooms are lovely, elegant and clean; the staff is warm and friendly. The food is very good too, we never had problems with that. The spa area is great. There isnt' much for kids, so mnaybe it's not a family hotel... Marienbad is a very nice town, and it's also very cheap for those who pay in euros!

La mia famiglia ed io siamo stati in questo hotel due volte, e siamo rimasti molto soddisfatti. Le camere sono adorabili, grandi ed eleganti, e soprattutto pulite, come il resto dell'hotel. Il personale è cordiale, raramente si trova anche qualcuno che parla italiano. Il cibo è buono e l'area spa è ottima. Non c'è molto x i bambini, credo si annoierebbero in un hotel simile... La città di Marienbad è veramente carina, e anche molto economica per noi!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falkensteiner Grand Spa Hotel Marienbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Grand Spa Hotel Marienbad

Address: Ruska 123, Marianske Lazne 35301, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Marianske Lazne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marianske Lazne
#9 Spa Hotel in Marianske Lazne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marianske Lazne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Grand Spa Hotel Marienbad 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Falkensteiner Grand Spa Hotel Marienbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkensteiner Grand Hotel Marienbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falkensteiner Grand Spa Hotel Marienbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.