We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful time warp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne to your Saves list
Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reitenbergerova 53, Marianske Lazne 35301, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Marianske Lazne
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A delightful time warp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

By no stretch of the imagination is this a 'hip' hotel nor does it quite merit being labelled five star. Instead it feels like stepping back a hundred or so years to visit a grand hotel while taking the waters. Yet it's a friendly place with charming staff (although their English is rather limited and is almost non existent in the spa) and reasonable prices; the town itself is delightful. The hotel's food is acceptable despite not being 'healthy' by modern standards. We found it preferable to use our 'half board' option for lunch and to eat out in the evening as the dining room is more functional than characterful. The hotel's old fashioned quality is, however, its charm and we enjoyed the range of treatments and feeling that we had been transported back to a more genteel era.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    20
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
20
24
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We left feeling better and cleaner than when we arrived. A stay enhanced by the helpfulness of the staff. Lunch was better than dinner; one should be able to upgrade to a la carte by paying a supplement. We will be adding this hotel to our annual list.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Spa Disneyland?

Most of the town was built between 1890 and 1920, when the town was predominately populated by Germans, so the architecture is different than the normal Czech style of that period. The hotels are Art Noveau style painted in pastel colors that give the town a confectionary appearance. It looks like a fairyland of large hotels built up the sides of the mountains. The waters here have a history of excellent results with kidney and urinary tract problems.

Marianske, Lazne is actually 3 hotels, 2 spas and 2 restaurants linked by long corridors, which you appreciate more when it is raining or snowing. We stayed in the Maria Spa which has only 2 floors of rooms that just finished a gut rehab in May. The halls still smell like fresh paint. They kept only the large room sizes, high ceilings, and terrace off of each of the 20 rooms; everything else is brand new. So stay in the Maria Spa if you can.

There are 2 restaurants, one each of 4 and 5 stars. Your dining room is determined by which hotel you stay in, but we changed to the 5 star one. You can do this if you book thru a Czech speaking tour operator, as they can custom make your arrangements, whereas a travel agent must take the standard packages. We used Elena at elena-tour@yandex.ru . She speaks Czech, Russian and English. She has been working in the Czech spa market since 1995, and knows each hotel inside and out.

Both restaurants offer 5 different main courses of heavy food each evening to please the Russian and East European guests. In the 5 star restaurant they will prepare whatever you like for lunch and dinner. We ordered salmon and steamed vegetables each day for lunch, and other fish or simple chicken for dinner. I don’t know if the 4 star restaurant offers the same service.

Hints: They only draw blood at 6:30 am, and there are no treatments on Sunday. So it is best to arrive on Sunday and have your Czech speaking tour-operator schedule your Doctor’s appointment early Monday morning. Then another Doctor’s appointment for Wednesday morning when the blood report comes back from the Tuesday morning draw, in case they want to adjust your treatment schedule.

Two of the doctors I met spoke good English. And there is a well-known urologist who comes to the spa once a week. He is a prostate specialist.

Downside: Maria Spa’s beautiful rooms are about a 3 block walk from the 5 star restaurant and many of the treatments. You might want to accept a lesser room for shorter walking times.

In the restaurant coffee tea and water are included in breakfast, water at lunch, but there is a charge for all liquids at dinner, including water.

On Saturday there are only 3 types of treatments, but this is better than some spas which are totally closed on the weekend.

Room Tip: Best rooms in Maria Spa...but a hike to treatments
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We recently had the pleasure of returning to this incredibly gorgeous, stunning hotel in the lovely little Czech town of Marienbad or "Marianske Lazne", a town undergoing somewhat of a renaissance, and resembling a Spa Disneyland of sorts. Although there are numerous excellent overnight options in this town (mostly from the Danubius Group), we are a bit partial to the NL hotel, where King Edward used to come in order to partake of the underground thermal springs. First, the staff: incredible! English is spoken, at least in part. German & Russian are widely understood. The front desk is gracious and very professional. We had a half board option in the lovely dining room: the buffet presentation at breakfast & dinner was excellent (constantly replenished), with healthy "spa menu" options as well as hearty Czech fare. The water/wine prices also quite reasonable, especially for a 5* resort. The rooms are also comfortable, well-equipped. Ours had a mini-bar fridge & flat screen TV. Free WIFI in the lobby area. Finally, the SPA: WOW!! So many options, it is hard to know where to start. A Roman bath here, jacuzzi there. And, the sauna area is well done: clothing is optional for those who are shy. Also, the spa treatments (Clarins facial, back massage all fantastic: the staff was really nice on this front as well). What else? Take a stroll around the (safe) village, it's kind of a time warp in some aspects. Try the (stinky) thermal waters at the "visitor center" in the Colonnades courtyard (bring a cup, or else buy one there). ATMs are widely available outside the hotel. Overall, we love escaping to Marienbad and very much look forward to a stay at this fabulous venue!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goult, France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Despite the reviews here I really wasn't sure what to expect, but was quite impressed on my arrival at Marienbad, a gorgeous town not far over the border from Germany (I spent the previous night visiting Bayreuth). Autobahns run close-by but not all the way in to Marienbad. The Nove Lazne is probably the best hotel in Marienbad, sitting just across from the peaceful gardens that run up the spine of the town. The famous pavillon is just across the road (street) and the Casino is right next door. The hotel develops on three floors: the ground floor (which can be entered from the st. at one end near the Cafe Mozart: note handicap entry is easiest at the town end of the hotel. The ground floor is the spa section of the hotel, with marvelous marble columned pools--not lap pools but soaking and bubble pools-two have whirlpool bubbles. The other two have bars along the side where you can hold to do exercises. There are spacious lockers in the separate dressing rooms with wristband keys . The desk hands out towels and wrapping sheets used in the sauna. In this area of the spa are massage rooms, something called a Scotch bath (on order, not open to the public), etc. At the far end of this section of the hotel is a sauna (mixed sex, all are either wrapped though people in there alone did uncover to take advantage of the heat), a steam room, a room that was like the sauna but not as hot. There are several high pressure rain showers and one of those cold water bucket things (for brave souls who want to cool off quickly), a Kniepp bath (I think that is what it is called: one walks through hot water, then switches to cold water walking, around three times), and a platform of chairs with foot soaking basins which I never saw anyone using. The hotel was booked to capacity during my stay but no section ever seemed too crowded.
The second floor (the main entry goes up MANY steps to the reception) houses the reception desk and lobby (free internet computer, TV, lounge chairs), the dining room and bar, one wing section of bedrooms, and the treatment rooms that include the mineral baths. I didn't measure but it seems as if the ceilings in the hotel must be about thirty feet high. The second and third floors have bedrooms in each wing, with security doors opened by a digital room card. There are elevators in several places.
I got the comprehensive spa package for one week: not enough time to make any health improvement). On arrival day I was given a doctor's appt., first seeing a nurse to give a history, then the doc later on. It is fairly cursary. The doctor "prescribed" treatments: mine included mineral baths (thumbs up), a dry carbon gas treatment (this is kooky: you get put into a thick blue plastic body bag which is tied shut at chest level and then carbon gas is blown into it. You lie there until the gas leaks out. This is supposed to aid in circulation. I got Medical Massage (for me working on a dicey shoulder joint) which was very good. There were also something called CO2 injections-four in the far corners of the back (shoulder area, hip area). They hurt and I have no idea what they do/did. I do know that when I left the Nove Lazne I felt like a new person, though no one treatment except ultra sound on a joint seemed to have an immediate effect. During the week I reported for a urinalysis and blood test with the results given to me at the final doctor's appt.
My daughter joined me on Thursday and then we did some optional beauty things: the best were a foot reflex massage and a facial. On Saturday I had what was supposed to be an Aphrodite massage which was a total disaster. My daughter's Saturday massage was a disappointment, too. Here's what we learned: don't get the optional treatments on the weekend: the team is playing with substitutes.
The hotel is immaculate and well kept with staff busy shining things all day long.
The rooms are comfortable with good storage, a desk and TV (Satellite), mini-fridge, queen sized bed extremely comfortable. There was a welcome packet of bottled mineral water and big fruit tray, and fresh fluffy white terry robes and new terry slippers to wear. The bathroom had two sinks on a long marble slab, a deep tub with a strong hand-held shower, a heated towel bar, hanging hooks, etc. Linens were perfect and plentiful.
I found the desk staff helpful if not oozing with friendliness: there were one or two unhappy desk clerks but on the whole the reception was professional.
The clients were either Russian (the large majority) and German. Few people spoke English (I did have a halting conversation with some Russian school-aged children).
The one down side of the Nove Lazne-and I am not complaining-is that the cuisine was just adequate. I quickly learned to order chicken when offered choices. The good news is that there was a wonderful salad bar and some of the best soups I have had in a long time. The breakfast buffet offering included many healthy choices as well as things like scrambled eggs, etc.
There is a bar by the dining room, really nice but basically unused by the somewhat elderly clientele. The Cafe Mozart by the spa, however, was wonderful and served nice coffees (the desserts looked superb) at very reasonable prices: I went there every day to read the International Herald Tribune). During my stay the weather was still chilly but I think that the outdoor terrace of the cafe and the courtyard of the bar would be very popular in fine weather.
Marienbad has some shopping, but it is not Rodeo Drive stuff--mainly tchochies.. there are cafes scattered around and hotels galore. My one experience having a meal in town was disastrous: dining in hotels is what is done in Marienbad, so free standing restaurants don't seem to strive for excellence. On a side street we found a nice little place called Music Cafe that had live jazz in the evening. It was the place to enjoy a Pilsner Urquell--Pilsen is just 30 miles from Marienbad.
My Comprehenive Spa Package included room and three meals a day, a doctor's visit at the start and end of the week, and three treatments per day. At the end of it all I found it an amazing value for money and came away totally refreshed. What more can you ask? All services and extras are very reasonably priced at the Nove Lazne.
I went over to Karlsbad for a look and found it to be a more commercial, "normal" city than Marienbad, less pleasing to the eye. Had a drink at the Grandhotel Pupp which was completely pretentious with a bevy of Rolls and Porsches sitting out front.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

We've had a fabulous long weekend stay packed with various treatments. We appreciated the staff approach to scheduling our treatments and making changes to our requests and also professional advice and recommendations from the nurses on the different treatments. We recommend staying in Centralni lazne for accommodation as it is the same but costs less and the hotel is connected with Nove Lazne and you get to use all the facilities including Roman Spa. Also, it is a typical spa resort with all the historical atmosphere of old bathhouses but very clean. You would pay thousands of pounds for this in Britain and would not get the atmosphere. The town is not great for nightlife (so would not recommend longer stays) but surroundings very romantic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

the hotel itself is beautiful, in a wonderful setting. we got there, excited about all the different spa services. turns out, that during the days when we were staying, they had very few options available. booked a standard swedish massage and got the worst massage of my life.... the masseur had a bad bo, and did not speak a single word of english (at a 5 star hotel, the staff should be multilingual, even if it's just in the areas where they need it). the massage table, towels and linens did not look very clean. after that, we canceled the rest of the services we had booked.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marianske Lazne hotels
0.1 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Centralni Lazne
Danubius Health Spa Resort Centr...
#7 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Grandhotel Pacifik
Danubius Health Spa Resort Grand...
#3 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Grand MedSpa Marienbad
Falkensteiner Hotel Grand MedSpa...
#12 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#16 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Hvezda and Imperial
Danubius Health Spa Resort Hvezd...
#9 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Hotel Romanza
Residence Hotel Romanza
#19 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne

Address: Reitenbergerova 53, Marianske Lazne 35301, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Marianske Lazne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marianske Lazne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marianske Lazne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marianske Lazne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nove Lazne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.