We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff at the reception and SPA, but dirty rooms and bad restaurant service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hlavna Trida 230, Marianske Lazne 353 01, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Marianske Lazne
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly staff at the reception and SPA, but dirty rooms and bad restaurant service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Positive: friendly and helpful staff at the reception desk. Excelent Welnes: we had great masages there. Very pleasant was to use swimming pool, it is small but quite enough for hotel guests.
Negative: bad service in restaurant: among other things, we were waiting almost an hour for the lunch in empty restaurant :-(. Definitely prices does not reflect the quality of the hotel restaurant. But the food were mostly very good.
Very unpleasant thing was that our room wasn´t very clean. There were very dirty walls in the bathroom :-(.
The last point is that we got twin mattress, so it was not very comfortable to sleep there, as our small son was sleeping with us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,
first of all thank you for staying in Hotel Continental and for choosing Marianske Lazne as your holiday destination.
We appreciate the nice feedbacks about the staff and balneo services, we are very thankful for your consideration about the restaurant: we have been working a lot in fasten the meal service. We would like just to highlight that all meals are prepared at very moment and this could be sometimes the reason of the not prompt service, we care a lot about the freshness, quality and genuineness of the products we offer sharing with our guests the passion and the dedication to the preparation of any meal.
We hope we could welcome you and your family back in the near future for another relaxing stay in the pictoresque Marianske Lazne!
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    38
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
50
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very pleasant hotel in a central location. Friendly staff, nice hotel. Room clean and comfortable beds. Despite location to the main road, thanks to good window no noise. Would go back and book with corresponding overnight packages. The proposed applications (massage, manicure) are priced at Marienbad average and run professionally and very well.
Sauna and pool area is a little small and unloving. Breakfast with little variety.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,
Allow me to thank you for your beautiful review about Hotel Continental. I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for all your comments which will be taken for sure into consideration in our constant and future improvement of the structure and services.
Thank you again for your kind feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you and your friends back to Marianske Lazne on your next visit to the Czech Republic.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sattahip
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

It is like a dream you didn't want to end. A beautiful hotel with family flair and the personal is kean on anticipating every wish. Coming from Asia we didn't know what to expect food wise, but we were very pleased with the choices provided. We choose the wellness package "Traces of the sea". Great service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for having chosen our hotel and Marianske Lazne as your holiday destination. Thank you also for the time you devoted to this nice feedback, I do appreciate that.
It would be a pleasure for me to welcome you back at the Hotel Continental anytime and all the hotel team will be more than happy to provide you the most comfortable stay again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Extremely nice hotels with extremely nice rooms. However, the receptionists were not able to provide us with keys that would work one of the rooms nor were they giving us the final bill. They redirected us to their Prague customer service where you have to deal with super unfriendly staff who are constantly throwing black light on this chain of hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guests,
I am very disappointed in reading these feedbacks. Please accept my apologizes if any of our staff member was unplesant or not helpful to you. Our staff is always giving the 100 per cent towards any of the guests.
I am sorry for the non functioning key, it could have simply be a factory defect of the elelctronic chip of the smart card, not necessarily depending on the receptionist work
Thank you again and I wish I could welcome you once more in our Hotel Continental and guarantee you an excellent customer service and plesant stay in beautiful Marianske Lazne.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very good hotel...

We had a opgrading to lux room and it was super.
Manager did all for us.
Notice the room was to the garden, we where affraid of to much noice from the street,
But all in all we come again....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,
thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Continental for your stay in Marienbad.
We are very glad you enjoyed our property and appreciated the roon upgrade. I will forward personally your nice feedback to the Hotel Manager and all her staff, who always make any thing it is in their possibilities to satisfy our guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon and do not hesitate to contact us for any future inquiry.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Since oversea student days in late '60s, I have heard of this spa town on hot springs in Bohemia, very near German border in Czech Republic. Rooms in this renovated central hotel are small but with excellent sound insulation, heating, bedding, easily got our non-smoking rooms. Sauna and indoor small heated pool well-maintained. Breakfast included in tariff, extensive European fare; dinner with good choices/ good value. Even following hotel card's written instructions, english language TV stations were not accessible during our stay, but we did get wi-fi access.

Room Tip: Getting to pool and sauna req'd two elevators: ask for complimentary robe at front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel Continental.
We are truly glad that you chose to stay with us it feels like you enjoyed Marianske Lazne.
We are sorry you had problems with the TV and we hope that our staff could help you.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back and visit us and this wonderful spa town in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We wanted to have romantic weekend at Marianske lazne. We choose hotel Continental as nice place to stay according comments.
Payment of stay was done more than 3times - nobody appology and it took more than 1 week to get money back!!!! any word or appology, absolutly non profesional behavior. We inform receptionist that payment was done more than once but any interest to solve it (no appology just excuse that is fist day in job of receptionist- but manager was also here and it seems that one more payment was done because "good" advice). Different price then on Booking.com they inform us that they have different exchange rate.
Internet connection was not functional during our stay (we were in 3rd floor).
We have two dinners included, both was awfull, one should be romantic with candels and one standard, Just one difference 4 hearts from fabric on table during "romantic" stay. Starter should be salad, but no salad on plates for everybody, main dish and dessert was disgusting.
We wanted to use sauna. Open hours should be till 19:00 - at 18:30 one person came to room without knocking turn off sauna without any words and informed us that in couple of minutes her collegues will come to lock room due to safety reasons..no more explanation provided.
If you expect profesional attitude and nice service choose another hotel. To be fair hotel room was very nice and tidy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Traveler,
we truly apologize if the stay in our Hotel was not meeting your expectations.
Please, give us once again the chance to point out few issues to explain you what happened.
First of all, we have been assisting you personally during your stay and afterwards through email and I am very sorry that our efforts to explain you the situation were not successful. Concerning the payment, when we realized the mistake, you were informed straight away both by the receptionist and the Front Office Manager, it was fixed few minutes after as per time reported on the transactions from our terminal.
I am sorry to hear from your side that the staff was not helpful, because I was informed by the Front Office Manager that you were assisted all over the time since they asked also for our help from the headquarter in Prague. We promptly fixed the mistake: it was the bank in fact which kept the amount blocked but this depends only on the bank itself and not on us directly. Each bank has different measures and policies, which can be more or less strict.
Regarding the sauna timing, we have already investigated and taken actions.
Regarding the rate, booking.com mentioned in all its pages results "You will pay the hotel in the hotel’s local currency (CZK) at the exchange rate on day of payment" and this is what we do for all each guests.
We hope you could reconsinder our hotel once more. We would be happy to prove you our professionality, quality of services and staff.
Please, if you feel like having more clarifications do not hesitate to contact us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marianske Lazne hotels
0.6 mi away
Residence Hotel Romanza
Residence Hotel Romanza
#19 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Grand MedSpa Marienbad
Falkensteiner Hotel Grand MedSpa...
#12 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Centralni Lazne
Danubius Health Spa Resort Centr...
#6 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Savoy Spa Park Hotel
Villa Savoy Spa Park Hotel
#8 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Olympia
Hotel Olympia
#5 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orea Spa Hotel Bohemia
Orea Spa Hotel Bohemia
#17 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Hlavna Trida 230, Marianske Lazne 353 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Marianske Lazne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Marianske Lazne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks to its position, Hotel Continental**** offers to its guests the chance of enjoying in the best way the historic and picturesque centre of Marienbad and its services. Hotel Continental is divided into two buildings - Aida and Tosca - which offer respectively 14 Deluxe rooms and 27 Standard rooms. Some of the rooms have their own private balcony. The hotel has a restaurant, lobby bar, swimming pool, sauna, wellness studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.