We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worlds most Unique Museum !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ossuary / Kostnice (Bone Church)

Ossuary / Kostnice (Bone Church)
Sedlec, Kutna Hora, Czech Republic
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 attractions in Kutna Hora
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Sedlec ossuary, a small chapel located in the graveyard of the Church of All Saints, is decorated with the bones of more than 40,000 people.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worlds most Unique Museum !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Museum entry is not so expensive & the Museum is not so big it takes approx 15 Mins to go around it. When you enter the museum you are provided with an Paper in the language you request which has the explanation on the history of this museum. You would be amazed to see the things made out of real human bones. You have a room full of Human skulls made into pyramid, you have the letters made out of Human bones & you would still be able to see some teeths left on some human skulls & that was even more exciting part. Its worth a vist of Money & time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    198
    50
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went here with two teenagers and they really liked how gruesome it was. Its a short walk if you take the bus from the train station.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“If you are in Kutna Hora you must to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

One of the words to describe it would be macabre... The other one is incredible. And, of course, a total delight for anthropologists and anatomy students.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Very interesting but a little gory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had heard from several folks about this so I had to see it, but it was a bit gruesome. I would recommend visiting but be sure you are aware of what to expect.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing and morbid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I wanted to go here since I was 12 years old and I was thrilled when I finally got to visit this morbid but magical place.

It took about 50 minutes by train from Prague and it was cheap so there's no reason not to go!
After a 10 minute walk from Kutna Hora station you're there.
Trust me, it's SO worth it!

We walked around the cemetery before going in, it was quite beautiful.

You walk in and there's skulls and bones adorning every inch of this place and it's beyond amazing!
I did however picture this place a lot bigger but when you're down there it's plenty.

Do not expect to have a gothic photo session, there's plenty of visitors and they all want to take pictures. If you plan to bring your tripod and expensive camera I suggest you also pack a whole bag full of patience.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ossuary / Kostnice (Bone Church) also viewed

Kutna Hora, Central Bohemian Region
Kutna Hora, Central Bohemian Region
 
Kutna Hora, Central Bohemian Region
Kutna Hora, Central Bohemian Region
 

Been to Ossuary / Kostnice (Bone Church)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ossuary / Kostnice (Bone Church), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ossuary / Kostnice (Bone Church) to your Saves list