We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Humboldt Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Humboldt Park Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Humboldt Park Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zahradni 27, Karlovy Vary 36001, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 90 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Alabama
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great escape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel is wonderful... food is good, the indoor hot tub and pool are fantastic, but the staff really makes this hotel great. When we arrived, the receptionist (who spoke fluent English) gave us a free, upgraded room. The bellman cheerfully parked our car and carried our bags for us. The entire staff was cheerful and helpful. The made the visit a tremendous experience.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel, so we had a wonderful view. Some rooms have balconies, that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
14
38
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neuss
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

My family and I travelled from Dusseldorf to Frydek Mistek which is 1100 km by car as we have a 6 month old baby we decided to stop over at Humboldt Park Hotel & Spa Karlovy Vary. The hotel staff at reception were friendly and efficient at checkin.
My wife phoned in advance to request a cot for the baby which was ready in the room when we arrived.
The room was spacious and clean and met our expectations. We also at dinner at the hotel, the food was well presented and tasted good although a little pricey for CZ.
A pleasant stay was had by all and I would recommend the hotel to friends and family.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

First, we arrived to find that our reservation had been for the previous night. Nevertheless , we were not only accommodated but upgraded. Since the hotel was on a one way street and we had no idea of how to reach a point to access it, we parked our car about .2 miles away and walked until we located the hotel. Rather than giving us directions, the staff took our rental car keys, found the car, drove it to the hotel, emptied it and brought all the luggage to the room. They then parked the car.
Our room was quite large with a balcony overlooking the street and a large, modern bathroom. On the small downside, there is only wifi in the lobby and the TV did not deliver all the promised channels, including the three in English. Overall, though, it was a wonderful experience in the old heart of a gem of a city.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My stay in Humboldt hotel was a huge disappointment. The staff is absolutely unhelpful and unprofessional, the food is awful and overpriced. When ordering a still water in the hotel restaurant mind that they open it in front of u otherwise you will be served just cold boiled tap water which they probably store somewhere and then refill the mattoni aquila bottles (local spring still water) and charge 4 euros per bottle. All the treatments are pure touristic traps.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Friendly staff, the Restaurant Alexander accept only Cash :-( small but clean Wellness Area in 6th floor.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Karlovy Vary had been on my 'to do' list for some time and so took up the opportunity to stay at the well regarded 'Humboldt Park Hotel & Spa'. The hotels facade is similar to all the rest of the numerous neighbouring establishments. The reception staff were polite and courteous and english was spoken, albeit consigned to fourth place behind Czech, Russian and German. The rooms are large, clean and have a classical feel to them, which makes a change from many of the modern hotel chains.

Breakfast was a bit of a damp squib. The waiter is possibly new to the role and in between being prompted for the essentials, he could be found taking the food away up to an hour before the breakfast window was supposed to finish. So, got there early to avoid disappointment. Due to the largely Eastern European client base, much of the food on offer is focused on their tastes rather than a Western European/American.

For some reason the excellent spa facilities are only open for a limited time during the day, which is frustrating. They are only open from 3pm till 8pm rather than in the am. There is a small pool, Jacuzzis, steam room and sauna. All of which are clean and generally empty of other guests. Word of warning to parents, the are no lifeguards in the pool area.

There are no tea/coffee making facilites in the room due to it being a 'fire hazard'.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Just came back from a 5 days New Year's break in Karlovi Vari and overall had a fantastic time in a beautiful town. Unfortunately the hotel did not meet our expectations. Although the rooms are clean,comfortable and big the breakfast was below average and the spa well below average. But the real disappointment was the staff. They have no manners what so ever, not welcoming at all and overall rude. We wanted to talk to the manager about a problem we had in the spa, we rang the reception and the receptionist said that the manager was busy and will call us later. He/She never rang back and never bothered to look for us to find out about the problem. This will tell you the level of care they have about their guests in a place where hardly anyone speaks English!

Room Tip: Don't take room 01 of every floor, the noise of the lift is 24h.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Humboldt Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humboldt Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Zahradni 27, Karlovy Vary 36001, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#27 Luxury Hotel in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Humboldt Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Humboldt Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humboldt Park Hotel And Spa
Humboldt Park Hotel Karlovy Vary
Humboldt Park Karlovy Vary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humboldt Park Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.