We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch luxury hotel with a lot of attention to details” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort to your Saves list
Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brezova 157 | Brezova - Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Top notch luxury hotel with a lot of attention to details”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is one of the very best i ever stayed at, if not the best. fully deserves the 5 stars for everything: hotel setting, rooms, culinary, hotel staff and services and of course the spa! the hotel is very new, opened this year so even the furniture in the rooms looks brand new. Very romantic, with a setting on the lake. It is situated outside karlovy vary far from the hassle of the town, but they provide a shuttle service to karlovy vary so its really good...also there is amply parking space to park your car free. The hotel is not huge so what struck me most from this hotel is that the guests get special attention from the hotel staff. we were really impressed. so big thanks to the staff for making our stay FANTASTIC! We hope to return soon to this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior double room with a view on the lake. simply wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra G, Generální ředitel at Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Hello Pierre!

I was very happy when I finished reading your comment. As you said, we are not that big hotel like others in Karlovy Vary, but that makes us to build a great relationship between staff and client and it’s one of the most important things we are betting on. Your comment is very nice and we are thankful for every single satisfied guest. I hope you will come back one day and let us prove, that we are one of the best hotels in Karlovy Vary.

Yours sincerely

Petra Gutwirt and Hotel Retro Riverside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    21
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
74
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is located 7 km.from the centre of Karlovy Vary.But for us this has been no problem because it is very easy to get there.All rooms overlook the water and the hotel has very new rooms with beautiful bath rooms.In house spa,all saunas that you can imagine,swimming pool and massage facilities for traditional and thai massage.The terrace is overlooking the water and offers lunch and dinner.The restaurant is ok,but not excellent.A small menu without too much variety.
We enjoyed the stay of two nights very much.The only critical point is that the road along the hotel is very noisy at night,so take care of that when booking a room

Room Tip: Ask for room that is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra G, Generální ředitel at Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Nico,

thank you very much for such a nice comment on your stay in our hotel Retro Riverside. That is great to know that you have enjoyed our wellness with saunaland. All our room are facing the dam to avoid the noice from road near by, we apologize if there was still some noice caused by trafic that is not very offen.

Have a nice day and do not hesitate to come to visit us soon again.

With regards,

Petra Gutwirt and all team members !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Everything perfect, we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel offers a great wellness area-5 different types of sauna and a great whirlpool. The only thing that could have been better was breakfast. the offer was quite poor. Dinners could have been better as well as it's a five star luxury hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra G, Generální ředitel at Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review. Satisfied guest makes satisfied staff so we are very happy that you enjoyed your time in Karlovy Vary. We hope that when you come back again you will not enjoy only our wellness area, but also our F&B services. We are looking forward to your next visit in Retro Riverside****.

Best regards,

Petra Gutwirt and all team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just before arrival in this beautifull hotel - I thought that wellness is not a program for the whole weekend - but IT IS !! We spend there 2 nights -on Saturady after having breakfast by the window with view to the frozen lake we had a nice time in swimming poool and whirgood swim in swimming pool and whirlpool. Then we had a lunch - short nap (very nice!!) in the afternoon just spend 2 hours in Karlovy Vary and in the evening wellness and masage! Similar program on Sunday :-) Hotel staff was very friendly and helpfull. Hotel itself is newly built in classical style
and is sensitively set by the se side. Planning to repeat our trip soon!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra G, Generální ředitel at Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and you appreciated our wellness area. We hope that we would have a chance to welcome you in Karlovy Vary again. What about spring 2015 in Retro Riverside?

With regards,

Petra Gutwirt and hotel Retro Riverside Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have an spent absolutely outstanding weekend in the newly opened Retro Riverside Hotel, which is a 5 star luxurious wellness and spa hotel located by a lake in Karlovy Vary, which is the most famous spa region in the Czech Republic. We highly reccommend this great hotel to anybody who likes to enjoy wellness treatments, georgeous swimming pool, jaccuzzi, different kinds of sauna, massages and so on. We also have tasted their delicious cuisine in the hotel restaurant with magical view over the lake. Our comfortable River Suite offered accommodation in very spacious and well equipped bedroom and living room with an outstanding bathroom. We loved the spacious bath tab with great view on the lake! We have been spoiled by the friendly and professional staff who was looking after us during our stay. It was a dream weekend for our family!

Room Tip: Enjoy room with an outstanding view on the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherlockf, Director of Sales at Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mrs. Heemskerk,

thank you very much for your very kind and positive review on your stay. It was a pleasure for us to present our very best services as Axxos Hotels & Resorts at our very new property of Hotel Retro Riverside. We hope we have not seen your family for the last time and you and your friends are very welcome to Wellness & Spa Resort Retro Riverside *****.

Please, even you have been satisfied during your stay, we will be very happy for any suggestions or expectations, which might do your next stay even better.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we wish your family all the best from all team members.

Best Regards

Matej Forys - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went there with our family for a weekend run-away from city and noise.
We got what we wanted - since this hotel is new one, we were the only ones there :)
Wellness was perfect - 5 different saunas, jacuzzi, resting area and of corse swimming pool which kids loved the most.
Also our room was really really nice with a nice view.
Although we were the only ones in hotel, dinner was served really nice and there was no meal from a menu that we could not order.

Here are some cons:
1) We spent around 1 hour looking for this hotel as all navigations ( google, iOS maps, tomtom ) took us somewhere else if we entered hotel's address provided on their web site. Finally hotel manager came to pick us up.
2) Be ready that you will need your passports for all persons that will stay in hotel ( even kids ).
3) I understand that hotel is just recently finished but still if you are getting a room for 200EUR/night you expect that at least balcony and windows will be cleaned from construction dust and dirt.
4) What we were most surprised was a breakfast buffet - some bread, two kinds of cheese, two kinds of ham, salmon and some cereals with yogurt. No vegetables, no fruits. Thank god you could order some egg+bacon, but again - nothing else from hot meals :(

In general - nice hotel (not cheap) but needs to spend some attention to service quality.

Room Tip: River suite was a really nice room for family but dont choose the one that is directly above swimmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherlockf, Director of Sales at Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Ciems, thank you very much for your very kind and detailed review on our services and I would like to say that all your add-ons are very helpfull for our hotel, specialy now in the very first days, as the hotel was opened to full operation on 01st of March 2013.

We are very happy that you have been satisfied on quality of the hotel rooms, wellness and mostly quite enviroment of the hotel.

As we are taking very seriously all your cons, we have already taken actions to avoid such mis-understandings in the future.

1) GPS location stated on hotel web-site is correct, but due to your con, we found out that Google and other map providers has incorrect address in their databases for this location. We have added to our contact-page address which is correct for the GPS providers and we are in contact to do all amendments.

2) All detailed informations about staying persons are required by Citizen Police, therefore we appologize, but there is no-way how to avoid full-filling registration forms.

3) All public areas are on weekly basis cleaned from construction-dust, which of course is still releasing from the property, as the construction was officialy finished on 31st of January and we do expect this issue will continue till the weather will not help us in next 2-3 months. We will definitely focus on this issue.

4) As the hotel is very small (only 19 rooms), we are doing as much for max. individual approach to the client. We have prepared quite large breakfast menu starting from all kinds of various egg meals, bacon, saussages, fruit and vegetable salads etc. We have checked that the menu was on your table during your breakfast and we are very sorry that our waitress has not notified you about it. All the menu is included in the room-rate, of course.

We have deceided that still there will be salad (fruit or vegetable) on the breakfast menu, but we will prepare allways a few peaces of vegetable and fruit also to the basic breakfast buffet.

Dear Mr. Ciems, thank you again for all the comments which will definitely help us to optimize our services very quickly. We do beleave you will be completely satisfied together with your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#12 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quisisana Palace
Quisisana Palace
#1 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
5.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#5 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Olympia
Olympia
#3 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grandhotel Pupp
Grandhotel Pupp
#18 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aqua Marina Wellness & Spa Hotel
Aqua Marina Wellness & Spa Hotel
#15 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
5.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort

Address: Brezova 157 | Brezova - Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spa Wellness Resort Retro Riverside is brand new exclusive 5* resort hotel, which was opened on the begging of 2013 in retro style of early 20th. Offers 19 luxury rooms & Suites, wellness center for the high demanding clients looking for true spa vacation, and luxury restaurant for overall 150 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.