We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with big rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romance Puskin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Romance Puskin to your Saves list
Hotel Romance Puskin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trziste 37, Karlovy Vary 36090, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with big rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We enjoyed a week stay at Hotel Romance Puskin. The hotel is old but recently renovated. We had a big room with a balcony. The room had a perfect size for two adults and a 1 year old baby, who could move around. The hotel is located in the center of the spa-area of Karlovy Vary. The staff is friendly and helpfull. The restaurant at the hotel prepare good meals. We can warmly recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    47
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
63
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just had 4 lovely nights at the Romance during the film festival.

I already knew the location was good and it perfectly suited our needs as a central hotel, walking distance from everywhere we wanted to go to.

Check in was totally hassle free, at some hotels you are there for ages filling out all sorts of forms and waiting for the computers to allocate your room. But we pretty much just rocked up, handed over our passports and were in the room within minutes, the girl at reception couldn't have been friendlier. The decor in the public areas was really impressive.

The room itself was a good size, with a really comfortable bed, the bathroom was of a high standard and the shower was powerful.

Breakfast was great, as many people have already mentioned, there is a great choice, some options changed each day, I was fine, however my girlfriend is a vegetarian and said she would have liked a few more hot options suited to her.

The only things that could have added to my experience would be air-con in the room (as it was particularly hot during my stay) and more English TV channels (I know I'm on holiday, but it's good to chill watching TV sometimes)

Many thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

So glad to have picked this one over the more well know Grand Pupp. Excellent value and an especially good restaurant which we find to not be the norm. The free breakfast buffet is tops.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel Romance Puskin and found it to be a very easy and enjoyable experience. The room was huge. There is an entry foyer which leads to a large bathroom and a huge bedroom. The staff on front reception were exceptional. They all spoke excellent English and were only to happy to assist. They provided me with details of attractions, a map and even booked tickets for my bus trip to Prague. Everything was explained. I had a massage in the hotel saloon. It was late afternoon on a Sunday and when I enquires, they phoned her and she came in. It was an excellent massage after a day of travel. Breakfast was excellent as well. There was a large choice that would cater for most tastes. The restaurant was also excellent and the staff very attentive, without being overbearing and spoke good English as well. The hotel is situated close to all tourist attractions. Buy the guide and follow the walks they recommend. You will see everything you want. Spend an afternoon at a Spa, after all, that is what this town is about. This was a very good experience for me and you will not be disappointed.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald city
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This hotel shows a swimming pool and a spa in its web page. In reality, there is NO spa and NO swimming pool. When I asked about the pictures I was told that these are the photos of the spa they have "arrangement" with. In fact, there is NO arrangement, and the prices you get in the hotel are exactly the same as the ones that anybody else will get. Furthermore, the service is awful. We left a day early because what I mentioned above, and asked for a letter stating the day of our departure. They refused. to sum up - not recommended.

Room Tip: don't choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romance_puskin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Romance Puskin, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear Rashgallivak,
let me respond to your review. We are sorry for your disappointment. However, as already pointed out in person, the pictures on our web page show the Chateaux Spa (also known as Castle Spa), which is situated in front of the hotel across the street. Also, you can read on the hotel web page, that we can provide arrangement of treatments in the most luxury spa in Karlovy Vary (in proximity to the hotel, just across the street) or that our staff can help you to arrange spa treatments in the Chateau Spa (opposite the hotel), Spa III (10 minutes walk) or Spa V (20 minutes walk). The information on the hotel web page does NOT advise by any means that there is a spa or a swimming pool in the hotel.
By „arrangement“ is meant „organization“ or „reservation“ which means that the hotel „arranges“ / „books“ the selected program for the guest in the Spa over the telephone. We are also ready to give description of the procedures, thus providing comfort for our guests so that they do not have to go out of the hotel to do their reservation. The prices are the same if you book with our help or if you book directly with the Spa. However, there is no information on the hotel web page that we would offer the treatments in the Castle spa with a discount or even free. I am afraid that the whole misunderstanding has arisen from a bad interpretation of the information provided on the hotel web page in the English language and could have been prevented by contacting the hotel, or your travel agency respectively, before making your reservation.
Considering, that you came through a travel agency and not as an individual traveler, it would be appropriate, in our opinion, to contact the travel agency, which should have provided this information to you.
We think that the purpose of the reviews on Trip Advisor is to evaluate the level of hotel services, i.e. accommodation, staff, or location etc. We would like to improve the services we provide and therefore we appreciate constructive criticism. Unfortunately, we did not learn such information from your review.
Petra Kučerová, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel is brilliantly located, includes a great breakfast buffet and the rooms are comfortable and snug - something to be appreciated when you come in after an afternoon hike in the hilly forest trails. And, as a bonus, there's a kitchen on the second floor where you can make a cup of tea or reheat something in a microwave - though you really should eat out in one of the many many restaurants in town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Karlovy Vary is as picturesque as towns come ... and to experience it properly, you definitely need to stay within wallking district of the spa district (and not the more industrial, less touristy center of town).

Hotel Romance Puskin is just halfway up a hill where you can already see amazing views from your window (if you're facing the front).

The service staff is very friendly and proficient in English. When we were there, the elevators were down (but later fixed that night) but I didn't mind walking up the impressive staircase (only b/c it was two floors for us; going 4 or 5 stories would have been a different story).

The room is luxurious, romantic and exudes old-school charm. There's a foyer area that's enclosed that has a second internal door to reduce sound from the hallway.

Breakfast was included for us but unfortunately for us, we had a 6am departure so missed it. However, the staff in the kitchen provided us with OJ and coffee, which was quite nice.

Typically, I usually don't fawn over a hotel but this is one I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Romance Puskin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romance Puskin

Address: Trziste 37, Karlovy Vary 36090, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#6 Family Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#8 Luxury Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#9 Spa Hotel in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romance Puskin 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Romance is situated in the spa center of Karlovy Vary, close to the Hot Geyser Spring and the Hot Spring Colonnade. This romantic Art Nouveau building dating from 1899 was converted into a stylish hotel in 2002, combining spa-town tradition and atmosphere with comfort and quality services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Romance Puskin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romance Puskin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romance Puskin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.