We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“[I miss this Hotel too much]” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romance Puskin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Romance Puskin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Romance Puskin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trziste 37, Karlovy Vary 36090, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 89 hotels in Karlovy Vary
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“[I miss this Hotel too much]”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

i was staying this hotel almost 3months ago. but i'm still remembering about they kind and nice equipment. espacially, shower boths and bed was really comfortable for me and my friend and then breakfast was gorgeous for us. because, we were tired for trip so that time we need fresh food and warm coffee and desert ~ i'm korean, so my English is not perfect however i can speak to Hotel Romance stuff, was really thanks a lot, i miss karlovy vary nice landscape and healthful sparking water, i can't try spa so want to go there again in the future i hope meet nice stuff again anyway, i'm uploading few picture form hotel romance~!! see you soon my hotel romance~!!

Room Tip: in my case having terrace room much better than other rooms just in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    37
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
55
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Excellent location, incredible breakfast, across the street from the #1 spa in town, helpful multilingual staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

Great location. Good comfortable beds. Walking distance to everywhere. Picturesque

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

I stayed with my family here in mid August 2011. We had an apartment which was well appointed with a very stylish bathroom.
The hotel restaurant has a reputation of being one of the best in the Czech Republic and we certainly enjoyed eating in it. It is far from cheap by Czech standards but high quality none-the-less.
The staff are very helpful (Vaslav in particular) and pay great attention to detail.
Although the hotel is small they do try to give it a big hotel feel and it works.
Breakfast is a high standard with at least 3 staff attending to the dishes and replenishing items with great frequency. There is a good selection of meats, cheeses, pastries and salad. There are also hot items including eggs, sausage, porridge and vegetables. The bread selection is excellent.
The hotel is situated opposite the main spa and accross the road from the water spout. A great, relaxing place to stay and I will be returning as soon as the bank manager allows it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony at the front of the hotel - fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here during our one night in Karlovy Vary and absolutely loved it. The hotel is steps from the Zamecke Lazne spa so you can easily walk over for a spa treatment. It's a 5 minute walk to the Grand Hotel Pupp and very centrally located in town.

The staff is also extremely helpful. They provided a map and showed us all of the points of interest (colonnades), walking trails for good views of the city, and we also happened to leave some postcards at the hotel which they happily mailed back to us !

The rooms were clean, bathroom spacious and seemed brand new. The beds could have been stiffer but that depends on your preference.

We had some appetizers at the restaurant which were also excellent (thought on the pricier end). The breakfast was extensive (eggs, sausages, breads, cereals, espresso machine, etc...), we loved it.

Excellent value and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We very much enjoyed our one night stay in Karlovy Vary at the Hotel Romance Puskin. We got the least expensive pre-purchase price room (Economy Double Room - Non Refundable (1980 CZK). It overlooked a pear tree in the back so was very quiet. Although checkin is normally at 2 pm, our room was ready when we arrived and they kindly did not charge us the early checkin fee. We did take advantage of their late checkout and paid the 10 euro charge. Bathroom was recently renovated and the room looked newly painted. Bed comfortable. There was a refrigerator in the room and there is a place to cook/heat up meals in the hotel if you have a special diet that you need to follow. Staff spoke English and were very helpful. We found it relaxing to stroll around, and eat on the terrace.

The restaurant was very good. Breakfast was one of the nicest we had in Europe. You could have spread it out to cover two meals (breakfast and lunch) since it had eel, smoked salmon, herring and other fish, breads, hard boiled and scrambled eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, cucumbers, many different kinds of cheeses, sliced meats, bacon, honey, jam, tea, coffee, cereal, fresh fruit, fruit juice etc. We ate lunch twice in the restaurant and they accommodated our dietary restrictions without a problem, and the food was very good. We splurged during our first lunch and I got local lamb and husband got salmon.

After checking out menus around town, we ended up eating dinner at the Promenada hotel next door. Dinner was about $100 for the two of us, it was one of our best meals in Europe. Wonderful service, and the many return visitors were greeted personally by the waitstaff. If you enjoy flambé meats or desserts—this is the restaurant for you. I enjoyed a vegetarian medley and my husband had local venison with cranberry sauce. Make sure you try the local mushrooms.

Spa services were at the castle spa, the hotel romance puskin offers a discount on several of the packages there. It literally is right across the street so very convenient. We booked our 3-4 hour spa packages for the Castle spa when we arrived at the hotel for that afternoon. I got the super aroma package which had four treatments: 50 minute aromatherapy massage, 15 minute alternating cold/hot water therapy for feet/lower legs, pearl bath for 15 minutes (alternating power jets of water while you lay in bathtub) and 30 minutes oxygenoherapy. About $100. Puskin also has their own massage therapy including the lymphatic drainage and slimming massage but I was told you need perhaps 4 treatments to see an effect. They were fully booked so couldn't try it. They did book me into the Elizabeth spa for another aromatherapy massage (about $50 for 50 minutes). Not as nice a facility as the Castle spa, have to bring your own towel (whereas our package at Castle spa included towels and robes), and they lock the bathrooms (had to stand in line at reception to get the key!). Of the two, I think the massage was better at the newer Castle spa, but, my husband didn't think his massage (male masseus) was very good at Castle spa--he would have preferred a firmer massage. I don't think he communicated this to the masseus (my husband doesn't have a whole lot of experience with spas or masseus). If there are specific spa services that you want, would suggest you book in advance. I did check out the prices next door at the Promenada hotel but they were more expensive and they note that the services are really “cosmetic.”

To get to Karlovy Vary, we took the student agency bus. The bus stop in Prague is a short walk from the Marriot and Hilton hotels (Florenc bus station), less than $10 each, tickets can be purchased online in English, and Karlovy Vary is only two hours away. The bus is clean, with seat belts and bathroom, snacks and drinks can be purchased on board, and with free Wifi and movies (one was in English, one in Czech). If we had known that the student agency bus was so easy and nice, and included a stop at the Prague airport, we would have extended our stay in Karlovy Vary instead of returning to Prague for a single night before continuing on to Amsterdam. When booking the student agency bus, make sure you select Karlovy Vary Trznice station to arrive from Prague since it is a little closer. Once you arrive to bus station Trznice, take the bus Nr. 2 to "Divadelni namesti." Cross the nearest bridge and you can see the hotel slightly up a hill on the right. To return to Prague, take bus Nr. 2 to the station immediately after Divadelni namesti and walk a few blocks to the main bus station (unfortunately Divadelni namesti is not an option for your return to Prague).

We loved Karlovy Vary and would suggest that you extend your trip in the Czech Republic to include a visit to this spa town. Would go back to Karlovy Vary and Hotel Romance Puskin in a heartbeat--next time for a much longer period of time to benefit from the treatments.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I was quite pleased with the quality of serivce and product I witnessed at Romance Puskin; the hotel has a beautiful exterior and an impressive interior. All staff members are professionals, efficient, and friendly. The room is very well furnished and well cleaned. The bed was quite comfortable. One of the great things that I am sure would impress every guest is the breakfast! There are many quality varieties placed on the buffet. Staff members were courteous, attentive and efficient; every detail mattered. aThe quality of the food items along with the quality of service received deserve an A+! Keep up the great work!
The location is quite central and in a desirable spot in this excellent resort town.
I did book a massage at the hotel; the quality of service and price were of great standard and value. For those who would like more extensive spa services, there is a reputable spa which is right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Romance Puskin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romance Puskin

Address: Trziste 37, Karlovy Vary 36090, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#5 Romantic Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#7 Spa Hotel in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romance Puskin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Romance is situated in the spa center of Karlovy Vary, close to the Hot Geyser Spring and the Hot Spring Colonnade. This romantic Art Nouveau building dating from 1899 was converted into a stylish hotel in 2002, combining spa-town tradition and atmosphere with comfort and quality services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Romance Puskin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romance Puskin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romance Puskin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.