We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Promenada

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 1 more site!
Hotel Promenada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trziste 31, Karlovy Vary 36001, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 88 hotels in Karlovy Vary
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights in their luxury room. The room was spacious and clean. Bathroom was very new and clean too. However, there was no shower curtain which means that you are very likely to get the whole bathroom wet everytime you have a shower. also, there was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Apart form that, the hotel room was very nice.

The staff was very friendly. We had to go to the recpetion for the key to get in the swimming pool. I think they should have just kept the swimming pool open. The swimming pool was not busy and we definitely enjoyed it.

The breakfast was very decent. But do make sur eyou go early enough. They did not refill the hot buffet often enough. We went down for breakfast earlier on our second day and realised that we missed out a lot the day before.

Overall, the hotel was a very nice place to stay. I would recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
24
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

To start with the negatives: although centrally located, it's not easy to find by car (due to the lack of city signposting and topography of the town); it's in the middle of the Kurpromenade (hence the hotel's name) and is surrounded by designer label shops (mostly women's clothing, jewelry and Bohemian glass) - and a two hour local shopping expedition cost 5 times more than our moderately priced overnight stay. Gentlemen, beware!
On the (very) positive side, the Promenade is a small hotel with charm and character and generously sized rooms cosily furnished in what westerners would probably regard as 50's style. Unusual for a hotel this size and location, it also has a secure indoor garage and offers a modest but comprehensive wellness area with (small) indoor swimming pool, fitness room (with two exercise machines) and massage facilities (with a first class masseuse). Access, though, is via an outside covered walkway (ie can be cold in winter) and up stairs in an adjacent building.
Hotel staff are welcoming, friendly and multi lingual and the hotel is professionally and efficiently run (with, for example, baggage movement and valet car parking speedily organized).
Appearances are deceptive at the Promenade and nowhere is this more true than in the restaurant where a modest entrance and ambiente belie the quality of the food about to be served. International rather than Bohemian (a minor disappointment), what's on the plate impresses by virtue of its taste and the exactness of its preparation as well as the competence of the restaurant's athletic and super friendly service team. As the restaurant is well reputed beyond the hotel's guests, it's advisable to book a table when making the hotel reservation. Bottom line: a little gem in a spa town offering plenty for sale. Viator Coloniae

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calstock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Well situated once you get there.
Ok, this is not that easy to get to in a car* unless you know the town, but the price is OK for Karlovy Vary, the staff are friendly, the rooms clean and not too small and you cross the road then you are in the main central pedestrian area.

If I go back to KV, I shall probably go stay here again.

*Valet parking when you arrive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011 via mobile

***Prague locals call it a "hidden gem", "best value", "luxury for less"
***incredibly nice/helpful English staff
***breakfast buffet included
***beautiful mosaic pool/nice sauna
***only 20 rooms in hotel. SO QUIET!!
***cant beat the location
***connected to THE BEST restaurant in KV. "The Promenada". HIGHLY recommend the "Chateabriand for 2"

I don't know anyone who doesn't enjoy scoring a "deal". After a chance encounter w English speaking locals in Prague, we were encouraged to spend a night in Karlovy Vary at the "Promenada". The hotel choices in Karlovy Vary can be a bit overwhelming especially if you are having to go by pictures on Internet websites. We were astounded at the "value" of the place. The photos dont do it justice. It's truly delightful on every level & connected to "The Promanada Restaurant" which everyone we met said was "the best restaurant in Karlovy Vary & possibly all of CZ". We have to agree!! The only recommendation I have is for the hotel is to invest in new sheets. Perhaps we were unlucky & had a bad batch but they were terribly "pearled" & felt like a loofah everytime we rolled over. Also...ask for a queen mattress. A king (as you probably know) is two twins pushed together. I'm afraid we didn't partake of any spa treatments. Apparently these sprang up out of necessity due to the high volumes of Western travelers thinking KV was a "hot spring" place where you sit in the water & wander around in robes (which you can now do in a "manufactured" sort of way it seems; plastic tubs of water & herbs designed to "rid you of toxins" & what not.) "It is for drinking...why sit when you can DRINK??", said one local we met. We drank out of the hottest springs on the Collonaida (the cold ones we were warned are...well, "very cleansing", is how it was put to us.) We were HIGH as kites!! No kidding. We literally floated back to "Promanada" to ask if this wasn't all in our imagination. She winked & said "of course. VERY popular with good reason." So basically, people travel here to experience the incredible high you get from DRINKING this water. Good enough for me!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011 via mobile

A really good hotel - rooms, location, food - All excellent!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed in hotel for 2 weeks. In general i like everything,even the choice of the room. It was looking to the yard. Everywhere is clean,service trying to do its best.
Hotel has internet,i was using it,not bad.
Ask,if You have some questions.

But the breakfast is horible. Everyday the same,no porridge, no variaty..
Restaurant on the 1st floor is the best in the KV.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

The best service experience during our stay.The staff was very friendly and helpful. After our two nights stay we are so impressed. From our room itself to the employees to the grounds. Everything was clean and very comforting. The staff was the best, made us feel like not even leaving.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Promenada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Promenada

Also Known As:
Promenada Hotel Karlovy Vary
Address: Trziste 31, Karlovy Vary 36001, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#4 Luxury Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#9 Family Hotel in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Promenada 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our romantic hotel stands in the very heart of the spa centre in the neighborhood of the healing springs. All rooms are different, very well equipped. Part of the hotel is Aquilla Wellness club with swiming-pool, sauna, steam sauna, pearl bath, massages. We have underground car park. Our gourmet restaurant belongs to the best in the Czech republic. we serve Italian espresso and home-made cakes in our café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Promenada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Promenada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Promenada to your Saves list