We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Having a different New Year's Eve like Queen Latifah.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandhotel Pupp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grandhotel Pupp to your Saves list
Grandhotel Pupp
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mirove namesti 2, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Secret of Tradition
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Having a different New Year's Eve like Queen Latifah.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My fiance and I spent New Year's Eve at GrandHotel Pupp in Karlovy Vary.
We found the " Pupp " to be as expected for a 5 star european hotels; Majestic, with a fantastic architectural.
Our room was very comfortable with both river and the city view, the staff was always there to assist us. The Imperial Gala Ball Night and New Year's Eve celebration were both glamorous
The GrandHotel Pupp is under renovation and the first view is not the best, but still being a Iconic for the City of Karlovy Vary.
We love the stay there!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The best and fast way to go from Prague airport to Karlovy Vary is taking the yellow bus "Students". You can get the tickets at the Terminal 1 for €8.00. pp.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    61
    34
    27
    14
See reviews for
51
115
20
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Every since we first saw "Last Holiday" with Queen Latifah and LL Cool J....the ultimate feel-good movie....my husband has wanted to spend New Year's at Grandhotel Pupp, where part of it was filmed. So we did it this year! We splurged on a premier suite.....ours - 454 on the top floor - was a corner suite, with six French doors to little balconies! Was worth the extra money.....Decor was understated, not lavish like you might expect or like the suite Latifah occupied in the movie (that was in Prague, we were told), but the it was attractive and enormous. Instead of going to the pricey New Year's Eve party, we stayed in our rooms, eating food I'd bought downstairs in the coffee shop, watched the movie again on our laptop, and looked slack-jawed at fabulous fireworks from our windows. The hotel is big, and the staff, while not all trained to the standards of five-star hotels in major cities, is friendly. Buffet breakfast was excellent. There are oversized black and white art photos of actors and other luminaries who have stayed here during the annual Karlovy Vary Film Festival, including a wonderful one of Morgan Freeman in the bar (which was used as the check-in desk in the movie). The town, about which we knew nothing, is absolutely charming......a spa town with colorful buildings....We loved our two-night stay here!

Room Tip: It's worth a splurge to get a bigger room. Ours was 454, one of several corner premier suites..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Pupp is to Karlovy Vary what the Walldorf Astoria is to New York, the Raffles Hotel is to Singapore, or the Ritz is to London. Iconic, historical and traditional. However, unlike the oils mentioned above, the Pupp, while nice, is not a 5-star hotel. The exterior of the building is magnificent, in the Baden-Baden or Nice way. The location is great: by the river, in a river bend, surrounded by boutiques and restaurants. Although: be warned that you can book a table in a cute Italian restaurant but end up listening to Russian elevator music (live).... My room at the. Pupp was a Superior, clean and very large (certainly compared to hotels in Paris or London). Wifi throughout the hotel, nice bar in the basement and a classy restaurant (did not try).

Now for the negatives: flat and stiff pillows, bathtub without a curtain, no shower, 21-in CRT tv with 4:3 screen ratio, lack of outlets (room dating back to times before we needed to recharge iPods, mobile phones, laptops...), spartan room furnishing, room lacking overal coziness.

Make your choice..... Certainly not a bad place.

Room Tip: Facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were only there for one night in late December. First, there are two reception desk since the hotel is so big. One in the main bldg., and the other in the annex. We were taken to the other - the second annex. You walk in and the energy of the place is low. I wanted to be in the main bldg., so they showed us two rooms but in both you can hear the construction noise (which they didn't tell me about when making the reservation). So we settled for the original room they offered us. I thought the young man at the desk was courteous, also the assistant manager and the guest services gal. The annex bldg. is a trek from the main bldg., and you have to go through hall ways, the bar and one of the restaurants to get to the main bldg. The place seemed empty but were told it was 70 percent occupied. We didn't run into anyone else except staff. I'm sure with more people it won't seem so spooky.

We had dinner at the fine restaurant and only three tables were taken, including us. The wait staff were very attentive and spoke English. The food was good. My husband had the crispy duck, but he sent it back because it wasn't crispy, so the chef made him another duck dish, altogether different and it was much better. I ordered off the Christmas menu. It was fine.

Now the spa - my husband went first. He gets there and he wasn't offered any water or tea. When he was shown the table, he saw someone else's p-hair on the towel. He should have left then, but he told the lady to clean the bed. He said it was the worst massage he has ever had. He thought that the gal might not have been trained. Touch was very light, and she didn't look for the knots in his back. After that experience, I cancelled my massage. The Castle Spa looked better, but you have to be there a minimum of three hours and we just didn't have the time.

I must say though, the bed was comfortable and the location of the hotel is great. We got a room with the view of the town and river. They did charge us extra for a cot for our 11 yr old daughter. (At the Hilton in Prague Old Town, it was complimentary). The hotel is located at one end of the town. There are hotels all along the main road that looked nice and quaint. It was okay, but I wouldn't stay there again.

We did use their car service. It's a bit more than a cab but no hassle at all. It cost 350 kc each way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is an amazing town and The Grand Hotel Pupp lives upto its name. The most spectacular architecture ( it looks a little like the casino in Monte Carlo) from the outside. Spectacular in every way. If you have the time and money and are going to Karlovy Vary then you must at least visit if not stay here.

Room Tip: Book ahead !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just came back from a 16 day drive through 9 countries. This was the worst of the hotels we stayed in. Hotel badly in need of updating and a good clean. Nothing like the hotel in the Queen Latifah movie. Caters to Russians, not American tourists. Very small rooms, dirty, and a tv from the 80's.

Room Tip: If they take you on a long walk you are being escorted to the non glamorous tourist side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. Very ornate, grand and a treat to stay at. Some rooms are enormous. Its a traditional place with good staff and amenities. There is a restaurant, cafe and bar onsite. Secure parking outside. The service I received when staying there was excellent. You can also book discounted rooms at certain times of the year. Pets are allowed. Spa and Massage also available. Various function rooms. Its also where some parts of the James Bond film Casino Royale was filmed. A great hotel from days of old....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandhotel Pupp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Pupp

Address: Mirove namesti 2, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#12 Romantic Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#12 Spa Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#14 Luxury Hotel in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grandhotel Pupp 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque spa town of Karlovy Vary in the Czech Republic, the Grandhotel Pupp is one of Europe's most famous historical hotels. Talking about its history would take a while, because it dates back to 1701. In recent years the Grandhotel Pupp has hosted illustrious names from the movie world including Morgan Freeman, Gregory Peck, Sharon Stone, Robert Redford, John Malkovich, Antonio Banderas, Jude Law, John Travolta and Nikita Michalkov. Such stars have descended on the hotel especially for the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival each year at the beginning of July. As well as modern-day celebrities, the hotel has also attracted eminent historical figures from culture and the arts including German poet and philosopher Johann Wolfgang Goethe, composers Johann Sebastian Bach, Richard Wagner and Antonin Dvorak, violinist Nicolo Paganini, writer Franz Kafka and master of Art Nouveau Alfons Mucha. In two connected buildings, River Side and Park Side, the Grandhotel Pupp complex offers 228 rooms in the categories of Comfort, Superior, Superior Plus, Junior Suite, Premier Suite and Apartment. The ground floor of the hotel features restaurants, a cafe, bars, a boutique zone, a hairdressing salon and casino. Becher's Bar provides entertainment in the evening. The Grandhotel Pupp invites guests to the new Pupp Royal Spa wellness centre with pool and saunas. The complex includes a modern fitness centre as well as a private Royal Spa Suite with whirlpool, massage tables, sauna and a relaxation zone. The Pupp Royal Spa offers an extended range of treatments, from traditional procedures based on the natural bounty of Karlovy Vary and the region to modern massages and beauty treatments. Grandhotel Pupp - If you want a chance to see a star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Grandhotel Pupp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Pupp De Luxe Hotel Karlovy Vary
Grandhotel Pupp Karlovy Vary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandhotel Pupp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.