We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandhotel Pupp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grandhotel Pupp to your Saves list
Grandhotel Pupp
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mirove namesti 2, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #22 of 90 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A grand experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at Grandhotel Pupp in June of 2012 for two nights and we truly enjoyed our experience; of course partly because Karlovy Vary is an amazing place to visit.

Here are the pros and cons of Grandhotel Pupp in my opinion:

1. Just a beautiful, luxurious and grand building
2. (I have heard there are other types of rooms not as great but) our room was just large and beautiful - There was construction noise coming to our room that didn't bother us much since we were out most of the time.
3. Breakfast (included in the rate) is great, wide variety of hot and cold items, great coffee and tea in a luxurious hall
4. Not too expensive (for what you get!)
5. Free usage of sauna, steam room and whirlpool

Cons:
1. If you don't get the free Internet in your room rate, you then have to pay something like $25 USD for every 24 hours of Internet usage
2. Breakfast waiters and waitresses are so not trained for the job. We were in the breakfast room with another 3 - 4 tables occupied by other guests, and there were 5 waiters serving us.

Unless we would call the waiters and asked them for something, they would just stand there and talk with each other very loudly! for a few minutes all the guests at the tables were quiet while there were a long and loud conversation along with laughter was going on between the waiters! They seemed not to care a bit about the guests.

Also none of them spoke a word of English! There was this waiter man who I asked for coffee, he looked at me for a few seconds didn't say a word, I assumed he understood what I was asking for, then he left and never came back! Also, there was this young lady making omelet and pancake at a stand in the breakfast room, I went to her and said "may I have a pancake please?", she looked at me puzzled and after a few seconds of pause, she replied "NO" firmly. I asked "Why not?" and she just said "NO" again. No pancake for me;)

Being in Czech Republic for a week, we learnt that Czech people are super nice. I am sure the breakfast crew didn't want to offend us in any way or form.

Note:
They give you a voucher for 300CK ($15 USD) to use for message treatment at Taiwan spa, so you would think I can get a 30 minutes facial for 650CK with 300CK off, the rate of 350CK is very reasonable; but in fact they don't let you use your voucher for treatments of less than 60 minutes!

Outside the hotel you can find many spa giving you 30 minutes facial for 300CK!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    80
    37
    28
    18
See reviews for
58
139
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pardubice
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We booked superior room in 5* building which is located at the end of main spa street behind the small river, just few steps from restaurants, shops and cafes. Behind the hotel there is a cable car going to the hill which is good starting point for you walking tours around the town.Telling the true normal rooms are not so nice like all halls and restaurants in the hotel, but you will find there everything you may need (or you can also book more expensive superior plus rooms which are newly renovated and probably nicer). Everything else is really beautiful inside or outside. Hotel has excellent level of services which start from your arrival and end at your departure. All staff incl. doormen are nice, polite and profesional people, mostly speaking 3 languages ! We had only one massage and cosmetic procedure in the hotel spa and we were fully satisfied. Breakfast is in beautiful hall and you can get what you like, there is a good selection of everything. I can fully recomend the hotel for romantic people, couples and people which want to remember sweet and nostalgic old times.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The experience we had in Grandhotel Pupp was unique! great location, fantastic building...
We were lucky enough to have breakfast in the festive hall, a great pleasure.
Just one little flaw: we did not have the room with the best view! The view was limited to the bushes behind the hotel what made the room a little dark. on the other side, the room was very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leusden-Utrecht
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Although not the most exclusive hotel in town.. still the best location and top service! Please be aware that this Hotel has two departments and a large scale of rooms to choose from. There is no significant differnce (beside the prices). Rooms on parking side a slightly less luxery then on main entrance side and breakfast on main entrance side offers the best food ever.
Many Bars & Restaurants in Hotel, Bechers Bar is open until 03:00 and if you are still not tired you can try to slip in the Casino, they close at 04:00!
Next day you can try one of the many Spa's and Spa treatments. In case you suffer from last days travel or last nights visit to Bechers Bar; the Oxigen Therapy will help you instantly to become fit again. Also at the inhouse Tawan Spa you can get great massage. In case you are having a "bad hair day", just visit the Franck Provost Hairdresser (yes also for Men!)

Although currently some building activities occur, I experienced personally no inconvenience from it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Hotel is perfect.Location,service,staff.Could not think about single flaw.

Advise for holidaymakers :
Be aware bunco (swindle) at Currency exchange in Czech republic !!!! I was done 120 Euros. Most common trick is attractive exchange rate in window,but it turns out to be the rate they sell Euro.And in small,really tiny letters on bottom is the rate they buy,which is 20-25% lower than current rate. Once cashiers got your cash into their hands they will not give it back to you and "the deal" can not be cancelled.If you call the police they will do nothing.I have got feeling they are part of it.I went to police van and found another 8 tourists complaining about currency exchange.Police has laughed at us.This happening even in official banks currency exchange and looks like well organised,regular and highly profitable fraud.Sometimes Currency exchange leave you short of money even when they have correct exchange rate displayed.Staff will change rate in window by the time police arrive.My advise is use your bank card to withdraw at ATM

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The hotel building is excellent. The staff very helpful. The organization of the wellness activities was great! For the food: no words - great. You feel you are in a palace.
The best hotel for me to stay in Karlovy Vary!

Room Tip: At least superior room. Next time I will definitely choose a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I was there at the end of March 2012....for a party at Bechers bar. One of the best experiences ever....excellent service (Front desk, bar, restaurant....). Room was clean, equipped, internet available - cable or wifi, breakfast was quite rich, may be more types of juices would be better.
All over all PERFECT....
4 for sleep quality...I did not sleep much...because of the party...:)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandhotel Pupp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Pupp

Address: Mirove namesti 2, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#15 Spa Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#15 Romantic Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#16 Family Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#18 Luxury Hotel in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grandhotel Pupp 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque spa town of Karlovy Vary in the Czech Republic, the Grandhotel Pupp is one of Europe's most famous historical hotels. Talking about its history would take a while, because it dates back to 1701. In recent years the Grandhotel Pupp has hosted illustrious names from the movie world including Morgan Freeman, Gregory Peck, Sharon Stone, Robert Redford, John Malkovich, Antonio Banderas, Jude Law, John Travolta and Nikita Michalkov. Such stars have descended on the hotel especially for the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival each year at the beginning of July. As well as modern-day celebrities, the hotel has also attracted eminent historical figures from culture and the arts including German poet and philosopher Johann Wolfgang Goethe, composers Johann Sebastian Bach, Richard Wagner and Antonin Dvorak, violinist Nicolo Paganini, writer Franz Kafka and master of Art Nouveau Alfons Mucha. In two connected buildings, River Side and Park Side, the Grandhotel Pupp complex offers 228 rooms in the categories of Comfort, Superior, Superior Plus, Junior Suite, Premier Suite and Apartment. The ground floor of the hotel features restaurants, a cafe, bars, a boutique zone, a hairdressing salon and casino. Becher's Bar provides entertainment in the evening. The Grandhotel Pupp invites guests to the new Pupp Royal Spa wellness centre with pool and saunas. The complex includes a modern fitness centre as well as a private Royal Spa Suite with whirlpool, massage tables, sauna and a relaxation zone. The Pupp Royal Spa offers an extended range of treatments, from traditional procedures based on the natural bounty of Karlovy Vary and the region to modern massages and beauty treatments. Grandhotel Pupp - If you want a chance to see a star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grandhotel Pupp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Pupp De Luxe Hotel Karlovy Vary
Grandhotel Pupp Karlovy Vary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandhotel Pupp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.