We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find - bang in the middle of things!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arcadie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Arcadie to your Saves list
Hotel Arcadie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Horni 148, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Elgin, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little find - bang in the middle of things!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The 3 hour bus journey to Cesky Krumlov from Prague makes you wonder why you decided to go check this place out but trust me, it’s worth it. Cesky Krumlov is picturesque and idyllic but only worth a one day trip, there’s not too much to see.

Once we arrived in the town, it’s a short walk from the bus station to go then you are onto the main strip or street, or whatever you want to call it. Hotel Arcadie is a bit further down from the start but you can’t miss the sign on front of the building.

The receptionist wasn’t there when we arrived and we were told we would have to wait till she was back – this was a bit annoying to begin with as we didn’t know how long this would be but she was only 2 minutes. When she arrived, she was so helpful. It helped that we had a friend from the Czech Republic with us so she did all the talking – we Scottish guys just carried the luggage. Check in was quick and easy and off we went to our room.

The room was big, bright and all set up for us immediately. We had a family room so there were two beds pushed together like a double then another single bed in the corner (same size etc). I don’t know what it is about Czech Rep., but they have the strangest pillows ever - BIG square things that feel like they are full of bean bag filling. Nevermind, once you’ve had a few cocktails at Apoteka you don’t mind them.

Breakfast was good. They were offering continental; baguettes, ham, cheese, jam, other meats, cereals, yoghurts, toast, juices, coffee and tea etc… same as every other continental. We had the place to ourselves so nothing was rushed. Check out was at 11am, nice & quick again then we had the long bus journey back to Prague. Overall, great hotel, clean & tidy, SUPERB location, great value – would definitely go back!! Thanks Arcadie.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Very clean large triple room. Bathroom also clean w separate shower and tub. Soap shampoo supplied. Could not get wifi to work. We notified ahead of time that our bus would arrive very late near midnight and reception not open after six p.m. so key would be left at the Large hotel Ruze up the street. We arrived at the bus station (no indoor station) in the dark.and rain and had no idea which way to walk in this remote location. Another traveller had a verbal description to her pension (Gardena-seemed nice) so we took a 50% chance to head off in correct direction. We found her pension and a guest from her pension walked us towards Hotel Ruze where no one answered repeated doorbell ringing. Meanwhile we stood in rain in the cold. We went into open reception area to our place and called number given to us earlier. Reception person arrived by car and door to Ruze was opened for her(she probably called first). Soooo we finally got in to sleep. Nice night view of castle. Breakfast all cold which is fine but plentiful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

beautiful charming room, with free internet; good location

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

my wife and i booked into this hotel for one night in cesky krumlov.It is situated off the main square in the center of the town.All the sites restaurants,pubs and shops are within walking distance of this hotel.We were sleeping at the top floor and had a great view of the rooftops and castle from our window.
The room was nice and space-us.The bathroom was very spacious with a large bath and shower with plenty of towels.
The hotel itself is very cosy with old beams in the rooms and dining area.

The one fault we had was when we came back to our hotel after being out in town was there was no lighting on the landings of the four flight of stairs to our bedroom as there is no lift in this hotel.
The breakfast itself was very poor with no choice to choose from.
The two staff we met were helpful and friendly
I would recommend this hotel for its location alone.

Room Tip: Room at the Has a brilliant view of the town,and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This 17th century building has been refurbished to a very high standard, family hotel. Central, cosy, fantastically helpful. Rooms comfortable, clean and warmly functional. 2 good eateries
I am already booked for next summer. This place is a real gem

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Our family of four stayed here in a family size room. It was quite large, with a queen size bed and two twins spread around the room. Be advised that the reception desk is only open until 6 pm (though we called ahead and they graciously stayed until 7:30 or so-- we had a devil of a time with driving from Prague that day and doing some sightseeing along the way). The location couldn't be better; you are steps from the central square. Apparently you can (if you wish) drive your car into the center to drop your things off, but we didn't do this, so we were rolling our luggage noisily along the cobble stones to the hotel. You might check into this if you have lots of bags or don't have teenagers who can handle their own! Breakfast was very simple (nothing hot) but perfectly adequate.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nortre Califonkneeonee
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Don't get put off by picture of bed that looks like an iron rack. It was very comfortable and I am a very large particular man. This is not the Ritz nor meant to be - but for a clean, nice room with friendly help that is well situated in Cesky Krumlov this is the spot. Great views, good Italian / pizza joint below with good prices. It fit in perfect for what we needed while touring the Sudetenland of CZ with our private guide who suggested the spot. Decent European breakfast.

Room Tip: We were on top floor- great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arcadie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arcadie

Address: Horni 148, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arcadie 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Arcadie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arcadie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.