We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts and a lovely B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penzion Onyx

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Penzion Onyx to your Saves list
Penzion Onyx
Na Svahu 172, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 134 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts and a lovely B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here, and would have been happy to stay longer. This is a great place to stay when visiting beautiful Cesky Krumlov. We received a warm welcome from Peter and Daniella and we felt more like we were visiting friends than staying in a B&B. It was great to be able to make tea and coffee in our room - not that common in Europe. Our room was excellent in every way and the gardens are lovely. It is not in the old city, but not that far away - a few minutes drive to one of the parking areas or a short walk. Breakfast was great and Peter was ready to suggest places to eat as well as places to visit in Cesky Krumlov and the surrounding country. Of course, as mentioned by others, having an English host is a real bonus in this country, because outside Prague it is not that common to have anyone speaking English. German is the second language for many Czech people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights in September and were very happy with our choice in accommodation. The Old Town was a pleasant 10 minute walk away and I liked the idea of a gated property which offered secure parking.
Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Peter who was working in the manicured gardens. Check in was relatively quick and we were shown to our tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean room. Upstairs there was also a computer with high speed wifi and a bookshelf with a variety of books in different languages available to guests.
This B&B offered quite a substantial breakfast which included fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, boiled eggs etc in a breakfast room which had views over the garden.
During the evenings we sat in the sitting room. Here we shared two pleasant evenings with our hosts - Peter and Daniella over a few drinks. Apart from giving us some valuable information on the old town we had such pleasant and interesting conversations over many topics. I might add that the drinks were very reasonably priced and that the nights ended just after 10.00pm.
If I were to return to Cesky Krumlov I would not consider any other accommodation and would look forward to seeing Peter and Daniella again. They were the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had heard of Ceksy Krumlov through a friend and keen to look at it we booked one night at Pension Onyx. We were not looking forward to the language difficulties but found the Pension was run by an Englishman. This alone made the trip much more pleasant
We have stayed in around 50 different b & bs and motels in 12 weeks of Europe and I would have to rate this as one of the more tastefully furnished places I have stayed in. The room was well equipped and spotlessly clean. The walk to the old town is perhaps 10 minutes and quite pleasant. There is a lovely courtyard to enjoy a drink. Internet was strong as was the television signal (not that we could understand much!)
The breakfast was very good compared to many small places, with fresh fruit, yoghurts, breads and fantastic soft boiled eggs. Coffee excellent. To have breakfast in such a tastefully decorated room overlooking the garden was a great start to the day. Peter is obviously proud of the work he has done in the garden and it is a pleasure to wander around. There is even a mini golf course should you feel like a game but there is plenty to look at in the old town to keep you occupied. It was pleasant to finish off an evening having a drink with Peter and drinks supplied are reasonably priced
We had planned to move onto Prague and but Peter told us about a bus that went daily. The cost of the bus was low and the bus was equipped with toilets and coffee supplied. When we weighed up the cost of moving on, petrol, dearer accommodation and parking we decided to stay and take the bus. Peter arranged this and charged it to our booking. He was totally honest in this and gave is the ticket printout. As it was were so taken with this place we ended up staying four nights.
If I go back I would not hesitate in staying at Pension Onyx again and for English speakers this place is ideal. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
105 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

chose this place because of what it looked like from the outside and were not disappointed. big enough place not having to rub shoulders with other guests too often. quiet and peaceful. breakfast was good and filling. walk to the old town approx 15 mins, not a problem, immediate vicinity not so interesting. not exactly super good value for money. overall; nicely decorated, beautiful garden. free wifi was fast. in response to previous posters thoughts on the hosts; i couldn't help being reminded of Basil Fawlty, but in an absolutely nice way!! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The owners work very hard to make sure you have everything you need for a pleasant stay. We had a large, quiet room separate from the main building (#7?). When we first arrived, English speaking Peter helped us prioritize our list of sights to see and gave us several restaurant recommendations. The pension is located in a very quiet, peaceful area, yet is just a safe, short walk (10 minutes) from the picturesque Old Town. It was convenient to have the on site, cosy bar and Peter was kind enough to stay open past his 10pm closing time the first night as we enjoying the chitchat (more fun than the mini-bar in the room). The free Wi-Fi worked well and the breakfast was a decent mix of meat, cheese, yogurt, cereal, boiled eggs, and breads. Peter and his wife saw us in town one morning and were kind enough to stop to see if we needed anything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penziononyx, Owner at Penzion Onyx, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to seeing you back in Penzion Onyx in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was a unpleasant visit for us and overall an uncomfortable stay. Overall the facilities are ok, abit out of town but with with large family apartments however the host (Peter), appears uncomfortable with people in his home and his passive aggressive mannerisms made us feel unwelcome and continously watched. In a memorable situation I was told off for eating the last egg, with Peter leaning over the table to tell me how he was saving it for the other 2 guests (1 egg). I prefer staying at pensions for the small friendly, homely, and welcoming environment and this place fails this part big time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We are a family with two grown up children, we stay there for 2 nights. The room for 4 is big and comfortable, actually, there are two extra single beds under the roof up a staircase which we dont need, but there are still space for us to sit around the table and enjoy our family activities. The house has a English decor and a lovely garden. It is within 10 minutes of waking distance from the touristic old town, so it is quiet,homey and nice to be away from all other touristic activities. The breakfast was tasty and ample, the coffee is especially good. We enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#13 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pension Tiffany
Pension Tiffany
#20 of 134 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.9 mi away
Penzion Krumlov
Penzion Krumlov
#1 of 134 in Cesky Krumlov
5.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Onyx

Address: Na Svahu 172, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Penzion Onyx is a family run, traditional, English Country Inn style, bed and breakfast. Penzion Onyx is situated on the edge of Český Krumlov old town just 10 minutes walk from the historical centre. It offers a peaceful haven from the hustle and bustle of this beautiful medieval town.The owners of the pension, Peter and Daniela are English and Czech, so they can provide a unique blend of Czech and English hospitality, with a high standard of room coupled with an extensive breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Penzion Onyx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penzion Onyx, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.