We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would look elsewhere...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penzion Onyx

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cesky Krumlov
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penzion Onyx
Save
You added Penzion Onyx to your Saves list
Na Svahu 172, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 131 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Victoria
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“I would look elsewhere...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

While Penzion Onyx is very nice from the outside, as are the lobby and breakfast room, we found the bedrooms to be rather plain and uninspired... By North American standards their rates are a good value, but are very expensive for what they offer in the Czech Republic. The breakfast was tasty and the grounds are lovely, they are located a 10-15 minute walk from the charming old town. We loved the town, it is gorgeous, but if we ever go back I would look for somewhere else to stay.. Oh! And one more thing, my husband was invited by the owner to come and have a nightcap and a conversation, which he did, we were very surprised when in the morning we were charged for the aforementioned drink on our hotel bill!! To make matters worse we were charged approximately 5.00 canadian for the drink where in every other Czech bar/hotel/restaurant we were charged maybe a third of that! Cheesy or what?!! So if you go there and are invited down for a friendly cocktail, beware!!! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teplice, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We (young couple) spend here the weekend. We were abolutely happy with the rooms, private parking, quiet place appart of the buzzing city centre full of tourist. The owners are English/Czech couple so that they are billingual. The rooms are small but cozzy so the breakfast room/service is.

We were eating outside becasue Onyx do not have regular restaurant.

Tip: enjoy the evening on the terrace accesible from the first floor of the pension! Good place to eat in the town is "Krcma v Satlavske" and Papa´s Living restaurant beside the river.

Room Tip: I would orefer the rooms facing the pension garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and we were very satisfied with it. Clean and comfortable rooms. The owner is very friendly and helpful. It was good to talk a bit with him at the reception next to a glass of Czech beer.
We did not spend too much time in hotel because Krumlov is an amazing city with beautiful buildings, good restaurants and the best beers of the world.
I really offer this hotel for staying in Krumlov.
We will come back...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

A girlfriend and I traveled to the Czech Republic and spent four nights in Cesky Krumlov. Penzion Onyx was an easy walk into town, while offering some peace and quiet. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful, offering us tips on dining and attractions and making necessary arrangements. It was very helpful to stay with English speakers who regaled us with information about the history of the area over wine one evening. The rooms were spacious and clean with a lovely deck for enjoying the sun and reading. We had a computer right outside our door which offered a convenient way to get back in touch with family and the morning breakfast was sumptuous. I highly recommend the Penzion Onyx if you are stopping through this beautiful region.

Room Tip: Ask for one off the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

First and foremost I would like to thank Peter and his lovely wife Daniela for their hospitality.I will reassure anybody that plans to visit Krumlov that there is no more comfortable or a better place to enjoy your stay in.Peter and Daniela were very professional and just over all excellent people to meet and to get to know.The pension is like a home away from home,and i really mean that,it was a very comfortable stay from many angles .The rooms were very comfortable,the area very quite and in very close proximity to the town center(10 min walk at most).My wife and I spent 3 nights in Onyx and it was worth every penny.

Regards

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

In May of 2011 we enjoyed a wonderful two nights with Peter & Daniela at Pension Onyx. Really, it was like staying with family, or old family friends; so much more than just a couple of nights lodging along our trip through the Czech Republic.

It was a bit of an adventure for us to find the place from the Cesky Krumlov bus station. Unfortunately, if we had paid even a shred of attention on the bus ride into town we’d have seen the Pension to our immediate right as we pulled into town. But not to worry, the location is actually perfect. A bit out of town, but far from inconveniently so, and situated to allow for some strolling through some of the residential areas of Krumlov. We enjoyed getting to see how folks live in the places we visit, rather than just sticking to the touristy stuff. So this was perfect!

Peter greeted us at the door and welcomed us to the cozy sitting room and bar area. During check in, Peter gave us a helpful overview of the town, recommended some restaurants, and suggested some sights that we might want to take in during our visit. His approach was truly helpful; not at all like what you encounter at some places where you feel like the host must have some sort of stake in the recommendations. We really appreciated the help and found that he was spot on with many of his suggestions. The Baroque Theatre being the only one that I personally found to be a bit of a let down. (I think he thought I was crazy, or had over-the-top expectations. Which might be true! :) )

The room we stayed in (#3 maybe?) at the top of the stairs and to the right was very nicely sized and had an equally reasonable sized en suite bathroom. The whole accommodation was wonderfully comfortable and clean. Oh, and we really appreciated that the bathing towels were of a reasonable size and heft to actually allow you to get dry.

Breakfast in the beautifully sunny room was delicious! On offer were eggs, fruit, savory, tea, coffee, and kolache…everything that you could want to fuel a day of castle touring or river floating! It just wouldn’t be possible to not find the breakfast suitable.

We enjoyed coming back to the Pension after dinner to enjoy conversation and drinks with Peter. Over the course of our stay he successfully persuaded me to try Becherovka, a (surprisingly tasty) Czech liquor. Honestly I think we could have stayed for a week and enjoyed nightly conversation and fun in that little bar.

Peter and Daniela really seem to love their Pension and Cesky Krumlov, and make you feel genuinely welcome. They don’t hesitate at all to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay with them. They even went to the trouble of saving our hand washing that we’d hung on their clothesline from getting soaking wet in a deluge of a rainstorm that came up during one of our afternoons in town. I’m not even sure some of my closest friends would do that for me!

If we find ourselves heading back to Krumlov, we’ll book ahead at Pension Onyx!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

It was our first night in CZ and upon seeing our room at the hotel I was not at first impressed because it was not your Marriott-quality room. My husband had to remind me that the CZ quality was not the same as what you might expect in the U.S. However, sleeping on the wood-framed mattress was very comfortable with wonderful down comforters. The room and bathroom were extremely clean, but you must bring your own soap and washcloth for your shower. Great breakfast in the most inviting dining room! The owners of this B&B were truly great people. It's a 10-minute walk to the medieval town that you wouldn't want to miss. We were happy we stayed here and we'd do it again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Penzion Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Onyx

Address: Na Svahu 172, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Penzion Onyx is a family run, traditional, English Country Inn style, bed and breakfast. Penzion Onyx is situated on the edge of Český Krumlov old town just 10 minutes walk from the historical centre. It offers a peaceful haven from the hustle and bustle of this beautiful medieval town.The owners of the pension, Peter and Daniela are English and Czech, so they can provide a unique blend of Czech and English hospitality, with a high standard of room coupled with an extensive breakfast buffet. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penzion Onyx, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.