We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gold Hotel to your Saves list
Gold Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linecka 55, Cesky Krumlov 38101, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed in this fabulous place- more like a guest house with a luxury boutique feel inside and outside the hotel. Very comfortable spacious room. Clean and good breakfast choices with quality food served. Although there is no lifts, it's no problem, although it's best for the less physically fit to request for a ground floor accommodation during booking. The scenery in the vicinity is absolutely breathtaking. Great place for a relaxing holiday. Restaurants and shops are walking distance away and the locals are friendly and mostly tourists and weekenders from other Czech towns. Well worth a stay if you are looking for somewhere special with a private surrounding. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back there again. Great for young families too.

Room Tip: All rooms are slightly different. You can get room inside a room ie: an attic room inside your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    23
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
39
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 876 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Hotel Gold. The hotel is located beside a small park by the river Vltava, although it is only a very short walk to the centre of the town. There is a small car park, with a very narrow entrance although there is another entrance where the barrier is opened by reception via close circuit TV.

Our room was very large but decorated with Baroque style furnishings. It took a while to get used to, but it was very comfortable. The windows opened so the room was well ventilated

The WiFi worked fine on our first evening but wasn’t working the day after. However, after a call to reception it was soon working after being rebooted

We ate one night in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent. My lamb shank was superb and the onion soup was good, whilst Mrs FB2000’s Candat ( fish ) was fine. The service was very attentive, although there were only two other tables occupied. It has an outside terrace which presumably would be very nice in the summer.

The breakfast is the normal fare served in Czech Hotels – mostly cold cuts, cereals, bread, pastries, jams/spreads, with scrambled eggs and sausages as the hot food available.

I recommend Hotel Gold if visiting Cesky Krumlov ( and have a car ). It was excellent value for money, in a good location, and the staff were very friendly and helpful in dealing with all our requests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and were amazed. This is a historic hotel with antique furniture, huge rooms, great location, and a very good breakfast. The hotel is near the river and park but a very short walk across the bridge to old town. The staff is very pleasant. We stopped for a drink and the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. Wifi is not available in the room but it is in the restaurant and the hallway or foyer. The room could get warm in summer since there is no air conditioning but we had no problem because the weather was not hot. This is a great place to stay and we recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I came to Cesky Krumlov from Prague by bus before noon and stayed 1 night. The way from the bus stop to the hotel is very far. However, the hotel is closed to the castle. It is very nice to take a walk around the hotel in the morning.

The room is spacious and comfortable and the interior in the room is beautiful.

Breakfast is also good.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel itself is lovely and in a perfect location, not right in the middle of everything, but close enough to walk everywhere with no problem. We booked a specific room for 2 nights, but when we got there all of the sudden it was not available for the first night if our stay. Wifi doesn't work unless you are standing at the lobby.

Overall, we would stay here again, just be aware you may not get the room you want.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here one night in mid-March (off season, so nice and peaceful and not crowded). Around $50 got us a room with a sauna in the bathroom, an amazing shower, comfortable beds, robe, and a free amazing breakfast (seriously, so much food - meats, cheeses, yogurts, fruits, coffee, juice, bread....). Wifi in the hotel (although can be spotty in the rooms). The location couldn't be better. It's right next to the river and church - the best spot in town and good for parking if you're driving in with a car. You don't have to navigate the winding cobblestone roads to get to it.
HIGHLY recommend.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a sauna if you want one - they're free, but you have to request i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed in this hotel last August with the group and we found that each room is with different furniture, different size and different shape, which is quite interesting. The hotel is just outside the town centre, alongside the river and opposite to the church, so away from the hustle and bustle. Cesky Krumlov is so small that you don't need to worry that the hotel is not in the centre, as a matter of fact, the castle is just a 15 minutes walk.
Wifi doesn't work well though, we need to stay very close to the window, or stand in the courtyard to get the signal, but it is not a big problem when what you really need is relax.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#12 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#8 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Hotel

Address: Linecka 55, Cesky Krumlov 38101, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.