We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand to your Saves list
Hotel Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sq. Svornosti 3, Cesky Krumlov 38101, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“modern, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is modern one in the city, very clean. the most important thing the staff are very friendly, helpfull. The hotel's restaurrant very good, tradition food was delicious and you can order to your room, normal preis. It's easy to get there, the hotel located at the main place, very closely to thecastle, but you stay there with out Lift.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
41
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel for 2 nights in December. The hotel was pretty good, the rooms were extremely spacious and staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also pretty good. I am not sure if it was just our room, but the curtains in our room had a very bad smell so we had to air the room for a few hours. Our friends staying in another room did not have that problem. We also thought the shower was a bit inconvenient so the whole bathroom was wet (apologies to the housekeeping for the mess!) The location of the hotel was great right in the middle of the square and a couple of minutes walk from the river.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our family stayed 1 night at this hotel and wish we had stayed another night. We had a very spacious quad room. The single beds were sofa beds but our teenage daughters said they were extremely comfortable and they were in a large living area where the tv was. There was also a double room which overlooked the town square. The food was beautiful in the restaurant and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The lady on the front desk could not have been more helpful or friendly. She went out of her way to make ours stay a success. She even emailed us recipes for the special Czech Xmas biscuits. There is no lift which is an understandable issue in the ancient heart of a beautiful and ancient town - but this is not aided by particularly perilous stairs. The hot water ran out - apparently it does when all the rooms are in use. The bathing arrangements are challenging for those used to showering - a bath with a short hose and spray attached but no curtain. The breakfast was pleasant but insufficient provision had been made for the number of guests. The no smoking policy was certainly not policed. A wonderful view of the central square for the chaotic amateur firework display on New Years Eve conducted by dipsomaniacal pyromaniacs!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This small hotel is on the corner of the main square. The room was just right, good mattress,clean,good bathroom. The restaurant was very good as was the staff. Worth every penny! Hotel parking was a five min. walk to the brewery where it was in a walled lot with a 24 hr guard.

Room Tip: There was a festival while we were there.We asked for a quiet room. No problem, they gave us a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here in October 2012. We had a suite, which was enormous! Our room overlooked the square, which was quiet at night. In retrospect, I'm not sure that we really needed a reservation at this time of year - there is an abundance of pensions and hotels. However, we definitely enjoyed this hotel. Our bed was comfortable, the hotel was right in the middle of town, and we really enjoyed the breakfast, which was fairly standard Eastern European fare, but good quality and abundant. Added bonus of a cappucino machine. The only thing we didn't like is the european shower. We are accustomed to the stand up type - I just managed to make a mess with this one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. a little oof the square,only drawback no elevator,not handicap accessible. the resaurant was great,reasonable price,large portions. the breakfast buffet had almost everything you could ask for. we had i guess it was a junior suite. a bedroom with a double bed,a double bed divided from the living room,and a great living room for 150 euros this city is awesome,wish we could have stayed longer

Room Tip: no pool or fitness center as with all small hotels,no washcloths
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand

Address: Sq. Svornosti 3, Cesky Krumlov 38101, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The originally medieval house was reconstructed in a luxurious and modern way during the year 2005. Hotel capacity is 40 beds in 14 spacious and comfortable rooms. Grand hotel is the right opportunity for exacting clients as well as for wedding receptions, company schooling or parties; our staff is ready to arrange all related services. Our guests can have a gourmet experience in the well-known Grand restaurant offering brilliant Czech and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.