We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very basic hotel which is ok for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bellevue to your Saves list
Hotel Bellevue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Latran 77, Cesky Krumlov 38101 , Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Lagos
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A very basic hotel which is ok for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We arrived in Cesky on a very rainy day . A good part of the lower lying areas in the town were flooded and there had been a power outage . The hotel bellevue is very close to the center of the town (as are most of the hotels around) and hence one had to either walk up quite a distance with your bags or agree to pay a porterage of 3 Euros per bag !
The lady at the reception was very harried and hassled and did not handle the check in process very well . The corridors were very dark and no emergency lights / candles were lit to help the guests . The rooms were very basic and small and nothing much to write home about . No mini bar . No kettle . Just a very basic room
The cesky castle is a 2 minute walk from the hotel which was a good thing since it was quite a cold and miserable day .
There was a cosy little tea room just a few doors down from the hotel which, for me was really the find of the day .
After spending an entire day walking around the picturesque lil town ,we came back to the hotel to find the power restored. When my friend asked for a heater , the lady at the reception refused flatly . Reason : Its summer . My friend reasoned that it was a cold rainy day and definitely not summer . After a lot of argument , she relented .
Next morning , we woke up to find no hot water for a bath !!
Breakfast was quite basic and there were no refills for anything even well within breakfast time. The lady at the reception said she needed 30 mins to check us out . We had 7 rooms in total . Even then she was so disorganised that she failed to notice that one of our companions had not checked out and was still in her room .
Overall i wouldnt recommend this hotel because of the quality of the rooms and the lack of service . It's fine for a one night stay , but anything more than that is definitely not recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    74
    39
    19
    4
See reviews for
45
108
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Friendly and helpfull staff, good breakfast. Problem - but really big - was the room. I expect something else for 4star+ hotel, although we had "only" standard room (which was nevertheless expensive compared to other places). The room was really small, basic, looked like it was made in 90s and nothing changed since then. The same with the bathroom, everything was like some really basic place to stay. And it was impossible to sleep - we heard not only everything from the corridor, but even when somebody from the upper floor flushed the toilet! Next time I will rent some appartment elswhere, which is the best option for Cesky Krumlov.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Odrej,

thank you very much for taking time and posting your comment on Tripadvisor.
I am really happy that you had good experience with our staff as well as with cleanliness of the hotel.
We are working constantly on improving of the quality of our rooms. I am sure we will have the opportunity to demonstrate it while your next visit in beautiful Cesky Krumlov.

Sincerely Yours, Martin Kocourek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed one night at the Bellevue Hotel. The hotel is well located near the old town with easy walking to everywhere. The town itself is nice but somewhat touristy. The hotel staff was friendly and the parking was very easy. However, the room reminded my of a college dormitory. It was small and without any charm. There was one very small window that was very high so you could not look out for any kind of view. It overlooked a small courtyard that was loud at night. I don't think any of the hotels in town have air conditioning and we were there during a very warm spell. As the window is small and there is no ceiling fan or any type of fan available (we inquired at the front desk) the room was very stuffy and warm. The included breakfast was limited and of lower quality. On the positive side the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel for a visit to this town as it lacks any character and seems to be geared towards visiting tour groups. I was prepared for this hotel to have small rooms but I was surprised how much this place reminded my of an old college dormitory rather than a charming old hotel in an historic town. I would look elsewhere for a visit to this town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear guest,
let me please first thak you for your time posting the review.
I am very sorry for the inconvinience you have experienced in our hotel. Your nice opinion about the staff and cleanliness of the hotel is very positive to me.
Thank you once again.
With best regard,
Martin Kocourek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I would expect a hotel in the old town to be full of charm however the hotel rooms look more like dorm rooms. The hotel is a good distance making it easy to find places to eat. Since there is no air conditioning you have to sleep with the small window open making it very loud in the room. The service felt a bit cold unlike the temperature of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for one night in this lovely little place. The room was very clean and comfortable. Yes, it was small but this IS Europe and small rooms are to be expected. The beds and linens were very comfortable. The rooms were quiet and we slept very well. I highly recommend this little gem located in the heart of the town. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Breakfast was just as expected with lots of options and the staff there couldn't have been kinder. Lastly, they did have free Wifi which was a bonus. We will make a point of coming back here for sure :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is located on a nice quite street not far from the center of Cesky Krumlov. The personnel is very friendly. The service really worth 5 stars or even more. Enjoyed the stay a lot!
But I can not say that its truly a 4 stars hotel as the rooms are tiny, there is no minibar in the room, the windows on the upper floors are very small, breakfast is poor.
Nevertheless, I would definitely recommend this hotel to all of my friends!

Room Tip: book junior suite or suite if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking time a posting your valuable review.
Guests satisfaction is our highest priority. Therefore I am realy happy that our staff has fulfiled your expections. With pleasure I will share your comments with our staff.
I am looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely Yours,

Martin Kocourek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed one night in this relatively new hotel just a short walk from the center of town on a quiet pedestrian street. The rooms were modern and well equipped. Breakfast was included with the room and was excellent. This hotel is easy to get to with your car and parking is only a short distance away (5 min.). This is a good location for visiting Cesky Krumlov as it is not right in the middle but plenty close and even closer to the entrance to the castle. Recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority. Therefore I am happy you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I am looking forward to your next visit in beautiful Cesky Krumlov.

With best regard,
Martin Kocourek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Address: Latran 77, Cesky Krumlov 38101 , Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
#3 Family Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.