We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leonardo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Leonardo to your Saves list
Hotel Leonardo
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Soukenicka 33, Cesky Krumlov 38101 , Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Renesance)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 134 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Noisy!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just stayed here last week. Good location but because Cesky Krumlov is so small, pretty much everywhere is a good location.

Reception is only open at certain times -8am to 12 and 1-6pm. It was a hassle for us because we arrived after six and on check out day wanted to leave our bags but had to worry about the hour in the middle that they close.

No AC which would be fine if you could open the windows but we were facing the square and it was shockingly noisy for what appeared to be a sleepy little Czech town. We didn't sleep well at all.

Breakfast was pretty good.

The only time I saw any staff was when we paid.

Room Tip: Request to be on the back side away from the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    28
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
51
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our room itself was lovely with pretty views but the noise from the street was too much, even on the 3rd floor. Third floor walk-up fine if you do not have much luggage. Old, old stairs. Nice breakfast. The receptionist also tends to the breakfast and I think cleans rooms so not wonderful if asking for town advice.
If driving get directions in advance about dropping bags and parking.

Room Tip: We had a lovely, 3rd floor room with nice street views BUT very noisy as on the narrow street facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel Leonardo is comprised of 3 separate buildings. They are all in the same general vicinity, but there are other businesses between the buildings. Check in/check out and staff are at the original hotel. We did not know we would be in the Leonardo 2, a few buildings down the street. Parking and driving in Cesky Krumlov is difficult and prohibited in many areas. We snagged a parking spot to check in, only to learn we had to either drag luggage over the cobbles several buildings down or try to drive through the crowds of pedestrians. There is no elevator nor air conditioning. Overall, Cesky Krumlov gets very quiet at night. The "island" where the hotel is located is quaint and picturesque and enables you to envision what it was like to live there during the time of the kings. Check out was a fiasco as there was a miscommunication in our group (one of the travelers stayed in Leonardo 3). Because the reception area is in the Leonardo 1, the keys were turned in, but we were never officially checked out. They asked for no passport or credit card upon check in, so we basically skipped on the bill. We did call them the following day with a credit card number when we realized nobody had paid for the hotel!

Room Tip: If you have more than one room in your reservation, beware they may be in different buildings. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is situated very closed to the Main Square. The hotel is very nicely decorated. The staff were very helpful.
We went to the hotel by car. There is a pedestrian zone, but it is possible to park there for a few minutes. The parking is half km away.
Our room number 3 had very nice ceiling from wood and massage bathtub. The room were in the first floor.
Great choice.

Room Tip: Number 3 - bathtub with massage system
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Hotel Leonardo was a great find. The hotel is so perfect for this little town; it's quaint, clean and well located. Our room was in the annex building, which was a bit of a pain because it was raining, and we had to walk to reception and breakfast. However, the room was well decorated, warm, quiet, and comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful: answering questions, fixing the TV and most importantly, arranging for a driver to pick us up in Vienna and take us to the bus. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cesky Krumlov.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Leonardo and had a lovely large room. The bathroom was large with a spa bath. The room was full of antique furniture and the room serviced each day. We were late getting to Cesky Krumlov and arrived right at 6pm not realising that the reception would be closing at that time. Anyway the young woman on reception was lovely and gave us a pass for the carpark, described how to get there and showed us a map of the town. The carpark is only a 10 minute walk and as the town is so beautiful you wont mind the stroll. No one parks in the old part of town and when you check out you get a pass to allow you to park for a few minutes while you load your bags.
She was very unhurried and we didnt feel we were holding her up although clearly we were. The reception is closed from 6pm and you are asked to lock the front door when you go in and out of the hotel at night. We ate next door in Jacobs restaurant (given a discount card for from the hotel) and had a delicious meal.
There is a was a bit of noise at night from people leaving restaurants and bars and you need to probably consider if you are a light sleeper (i didnt hear anything but husband did). Breakfast was simple but ok.
Would stay there again for convenience of location and charm and we dont particularly need 24 hour room service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I chose the Leonardo because of its central location in Cesky Krumlov, and because we were supposed to have a convenient place to park our car.

The hotel is located just off the main town square. It is great for that.

As for parking, it is a bit of a hike. It wouldn't be bad, except that you have to work your way through pedestrian-only streets to unload the car, then drive it to a parking lot about 1/2 kilometer away from the hotel. Then, after walking back to the hotel, hiking up to the castle in the opposite direction, walking the town, returning to the hotel, we discovered we had left some needed items in the car. We took a couple of wrong turns trying to find the parking lot in the unfamiliar town. So, after we were already fairly tired, the 1/2 kilometer back to the car turned out to be about a 1 1/2 kilometer round trip. It's not an impossible distance, but not pleasant when we were ready for a rest.

As for the staff, the young women were pleasant, spoke good English, but not particularly friendly or informative. It is advertised that there is a computer available for the guests. However, that is in the reception area, along with brochures and information, which are all locked up after 6 p.m., when the hotel staff disappears. This is a place you stay if you want no interaction or service, other than being handed a key.

Breakfast was okay. We never saw any of the breakfast staff.

Our room was decently furnished with old pieces. It was comfortable, as was the bathroom. The building, itself, was old and charming.

We did run into a lady who said she was staying in the Leonardo II, and that it was nicer and had an elevator. But, really, I liked our building.

In short, if you want a place to stay where you don't want to talk to any of the staff, and if you don't have a car, and/or never have to return to the parking lot until you are ready to leave, this could be a good place for you. As for our family, we would probably not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand
Hotel Grand
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#12 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leonardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leonardo

Address: Soukenicka 33, Cesky Krumlov 38101, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Renesance)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leonardo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the middle of the town, just thirty metres from the central square and ten minutes from Krumlov chateau. The very first owner of this newly rebuilt house was mentioned already in the year 1582. We offer accommodation in 11 double rooms including four spacious deluxe rooms. All rooms are equipped with mini bars, satellite TVs, phones and, of course, own bath and toilet. They are furnished with carefully selected mix of original antique furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Leonardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leonardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.