We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wear comfortable shoes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Adalbert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Adalbert to your Saves list
Pension Adalbert
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Masna 136, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 131 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Prague
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wear comfortable shoes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Be told...The cobbles in Cesky Krumlov make roads in Prague look as smooth as silk. This wonderful little pension is less than 10 mins walk from P1 car park but dont walk there in high heels!
The owners are lovely, warm and welcoming, breakfast was served (unusual in Cechia) in the Japanese restaurant area which was delightful, and the room was large enough to sleep 3 comfortably
The views are perfect, we slept with the windows open and were lulled to sleep by the chuch bells ringing the hour and the nightingales singing
This is a pension, not a five star hotel, in a UNESCO world heritage site. As such, there are no elevators or air conditioning, windows are small, floorboards creak and showers are in alcoves.
And the experience is worth it! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floor overlooking the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Randomly looking for lodging on several websites and found this place. We think it might be cool to stay in a Medieval building when paying a visit to Cesky Krumlov, a medieval town. As such we booked Pension Adalbert.
It's very easy to be found, if you entered from the main entrance of CK, after you crossed the bridge - it is located at the 2nd sideways on your left from the main road. (Masna street)
To our surprise, the owner of Pension Adalbert is a Korean musician. As we were music lover, this is a pleasant surprise!
The room is cosy, I like the atmosphere of this small B&B.
This is one of the very few B&Bs that I ever stayed in Europe which provided toothbrush & disposable razor. haha.
Breakfast is good, fruits, bread, ham, egg, fruit juice, tea/coffee, yoghurt, etc. Very "Korean".
No complains about its Bed and pillow - though pillow might be a bit too soft to me.
The famous KRCMA restaurant of Cesky Krumlov is right behind this penzion.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

To be absolutely honest, this pension is not bad at all given it's budget pricing, location and view of the castle in an above-average sized room. However, we did arrive to find out the room we booked was let out to others by mistake so we got an upgrade to a room that did not have a kitchenette we were hoping to have. That room according to the inn-keeper was his best room, great view, good size and very very medieval, in fact, too medieval to my wife's liking. I guess it is characteristically medieval and potentially rather charming but then my wife found it a bit spooky.

The owner looked apologetic every time we saw him since we checked in and so was very compliant to our request: use of a "communal" hair-dryer, great service at the breakfast table (but we were the only one having breakfast) and let us cut our initial two-night booking half so we could find alternative accommodation.

The location was lovely in a side street that leads you to everywhere you would want to go in this part of the town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

This was our least favorite hotel in five weeks of travel in Europe. While the room was perhaps adequate for a budget hotel - a small room, no A/C and one tiny window in the eaves, hard mattress, too soft pillows, hard and stained towels and threadbare rugs - the service was terrible!

There was no hairdryer (which was OK in a budget hotel) but there was a sign not to use my own in the bathroom. The only outlet in the bedroom was under the eave where it was impossible to sit up straight and there was no mirror. There was a nasty sign saying "we are not a laundromat" and that it was forbidden to do laundry. An additional threat was that if we did do laundry we wouldn't be able to have a shower! Everything worded as though we were the enemy, not the guests of the hotel.

Both the male and female proprietors were unnecessarily and unacceptably rude. At all times, they acted as if we were nuisances if we dared to ask a question. Our reservation confirmation had nothing about paying in cash yet the woman scolded me in a most unpleasant tone for not reading it and then she nastily accused me of taking a map (which I hadn't.) At one point we were entering the dining room and she shouted at us to "get out of the way" for the man delivering towels.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, N.Y.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

The innkeepers was rude and curt. We arrived 2 hrs before check - in which we knew. We rang the door bell and she wouldn't even come to the door. She stuck her head out the window and told us she was too busy. I explained we had a reservation and if we could at least leave our bags. She came down after 10 min. in an exasperated state and opened the door and in an impolite manner told us to leave them in a dark corner in a dark stairwell. The room was dark, disgusting and dusty, no soap and I had to ask for it. When asking for soap, the male innkeeper insisted he put it there and I must have taken it. I was never so insulted in my life. Breakfast was horrific - stale bread, old fruit and dried up hard boiled eggs! The worst place I have ever stayed in all my 30yrs of travelling!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Our room was very large, and very charming. You didn't feel like you were in a hotel, more like you lived in this medieval village. Lots of windows with different views of the town. The innkeeper was helpful and friendly. If you plan on driving, make sure to contact them beforehand to make your trip easier as it is hard navigating through small mostly pedestrian streets. Not sure if it common in this type of accommodation, but there was no shampoo and conditioner in the room. Breakfast was pretty basic but enjoyable. It was a great experience and price was well worth it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

The hotel is in great location, good value for money, fine breakfast, friendly and helpfull staff and we had really big and comfortable room with view to the castle.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Adalbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Adalbert

Address: Masna 136, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Adalbert 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Pension Adalbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Adalbert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.