We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel- Center of Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Old Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Old Inn to your Saves list
Hotel Old Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Namesti Svornosti 12, Cesky Krumlov 38101, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel- Center of Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I spent 4 nights at the Hotel Old Inn and if you are traveling to Cesky Krumlov, this is the placed to stay. It is located fight on the main square of the old town. The terrace bar/restaurant seats you right in the square without leaving the hotel!!
My room was a double and was large with a comfortable bed. I faced the main square but with the windows closed and the air conditioning on I heard nothing. The included breakfast is the standard European breakfast. The price is definitely reasonable.
The service is friendly and efficient. My one complaint would be that the bar closes at 10 pm and they stop serving at around 9:20. So you really can't make an evening of it there. But it was not a huge problem.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    90
    48
    10
    11
See reviews for
34
99
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was booked into the Old Inn Hotel (six months in advance) and yet was informed by email one day before my stay that they were overbooked and had to move us to another hotel, the Hotel Ruze. When I looked up the replacement hotel, it seemed like it would still be nice, so I didn't complain. However, shortly after arriving at the Hotel Ruze I discovered my air conditioner didn't work at all (and it was about 38 Celsius or 100 Fahrenheit in the room). Further, they didn't have any other rooms with working air conditioning and weren't able to fix it prior to my departure from the hotel. So, even though it was a pretty hotel, I couldn't sleep because it was just way too hot. I have sent several emails over the last three weeks or so, but they have not made any concessions nor even responded to apologize. And that is unacceptable to me.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan Hotels P, Manager on Duty at Hotel Old Inn, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review.

We deeply apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused. Hotel Ruze is a five star property and usually, guests are very happy to be moved there. However, we understand that if there was an A/C issue that remained unresolved, it might have made your stay a lot less enjoyable.
You mentioned having sent several emails, however, we seem not to have found any message describing a simmilar issue in any of the hotel mailboxes (Front Desk, Reservations). Would you kindly contact me directly on mod@hotelduo.cz so that we can follow up on this issue together?

Thank you a lot in advance for your answer and once again, I apologize on behalf of the whole team for the nuisance you experienced during your stay.

Kindest regards,

Jana Šnajdrová
Manager on Duty

Janhotels.cz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Hotel Old Inn is a great place to stay. The rooms were enormous, based on European standards, and the front desk staff was so friendly! This hotel is right on the main square and is walking distance from basically everything in Cesky Krumlov. Could t have asked for a better experience!

Stayed June 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a great time at the Old Inn, which is located right on the main square of Cesky Krumlov. We were there for the “Five Petalled Rose” renaissance festival – a popular yearly event there. The main square of this lovely town is the main venue for activities, and we had a ring side seat. We didn’t even have to leave our room as our window directly overlooked the square.

The hotel is very “medieval” in its décor. The staff seemed a little stiff, although part of that was, I believe, due to the pressure of the festival. Whenever we had a request or a problem, it was taken care of quickly.

As for parking, it’s on the edge of town due to driving limitations in town. The hotel driver escorted us to the parking, and took us with our luggage to the hotel. They took us back at the end as well. I normally wouldn’t accept a situation where our car would be a good 10 minute drive away from the hotel, but I knew that during the 3 day festival we had no reason or plans on leaving town. It all worked out OK, as our car was there when we checked out and we went on our way with little delay.

The hotel has 2 attached restaurants, one a standard Czech restaurant, and the other an intriguing grill restaurant set in a catacomb below the hotel. We tried to eat there, but there was a fire in the chimney on the day we had intended to eat there, and it stayed closed. Breakfast was fine and our room was spacious.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a little worried because of some recent bad reviews, but we had a wonderful 2-day stay at this hotel. Our room was beautifully furnished with antique furniture and decor--ask for room 166 if it's available, as it certainly must be one of their finest. The bathroom was modern and the shower (big enough for two) was great, with good pressure and plenty of hot water. The air conditioning worked well and was quiet. The location could not possibly be better, right on the main square and just a few minutes' walk from the castle.
The wi-fi was fast and worked almost all the time. The only complaint we had is that the one time we were not able to access wi-fi, the staff at the front desk did not seem to eager to look into the problem when we complained. It did get fixed, though.
The free breakfast was excellent for both of us--one a carnivore and the other a vegetarian. Would highly recommend this hotel, and would definitely stay there again.

Tip: take a taxi from the train station. It's a long walk over cobblestones, and we ruined a wheel on our suitcase.

Room Tip: Ask for room 166 if it's available, as it certainly must be one of their finest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm not sure how much choice you have in Cesky Krumlov for Hotels. Lets face it, you stay in Cesky Krumlov because it is a wonderful and unique town, not because you are after 5 star accommodation.
LIKES:
It was clean and we had a very spacious room. It had a mini fridge and flat screen TV (never used it).

Bath room was bright, clean and basic. Did not even have a soap bar, rather they provided combination bodywash/shampoo. Anyway for a night or two it was more than adequate.

Staff were very helpful and spoke english very well.

Breakfast was a good selection of Czech and international food. The automatic coffee machine even made pretty good coffee.
It was in a great central location only minutes away from the Red Gate.

Dislikes:
Did not have an iron in the entire hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here on an overnighter as part of a longer Prague holiday. The Old Inn is located centrally on the Square and we had a 1st floor room overlooking the Square. Room was wonderfully decorated Rococo style. Bathroom great.

Room Tip: 1st floor overlooking Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#8 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#9 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Inn

Address: Namesti Svornosti 12, Cesky Krumlov 38101, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Old Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Old Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Cesky Krumlov

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Old Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.