We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, Interesting, Decent Breakfast, Fabulous Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Old Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Old Inn to your Saves list
Hotel Old Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Namesti Svornosti 12, Cesky Krumlov 38101, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old, Interesting, Decent Breakfast, Fabulous Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Old Inn in Cesky Krumlov is really old. That being said you must take it's age into consideration. The rooms are well maintained and provide all the basic requirements. The breakfast (provided) was very good. A few people in our tour complained about the size of the room, the hour that the dining room opened, etc. Not one of them referred to the fantastic location (in the main old town square).

Room Tip: If you can, insist on a room facing the square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelikan_michal, Hotel Management at Hotel Old Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your valuable comment regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Old Inn. Your feedback is highly appreciated.

We would be pleased to welcome you back in near future in our Jan Hotels.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    73
    39
    7
    11
See reviews for
30
75
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Visakhapatnam, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is centrally located, facing the town square. Beautiful and comfortable accommodation. Good service, good breakfast, very helpful staff. We stayed in a suite, the rooms are very spacious and cosy and it sure is a unique hotel. Anyday, I would love to come back.
Cesky Krumlov is a must see, a very picturesque and quaint town. So fairy tale like.

Room Tip: Prefer the one facing the square, Namesti.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelikan_michal, Hotel Management at Hotel Old Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your valuable comment regarding your recent stay at Hotel Old Inn. Your feedback is highly appreciated.

We would be pleased to welcome you back in near future in our Jan Hotels.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schamburg, Ill
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I booked 4 rooms for September 9th for 1 night and upon arrival, after driving 4 hours, I was told our rooms were not available because they had plumbing problems so we had to go to the Hotel Ruze, a 5 star property they are affiliated with, as a substitute. I asked why they are doing this when it was obvious they were overrun with a tour group but they insisted they had plumbing problems.

So my friends and I spent 30 minutes driving in the dark trying to find the other hotel, and when we finally did we were told we didn't have a reservation there because they were oversold!
They then called the Old Town Hotel and was told we would have rooms at the Hotel Zlatr Andel, which is right next door to the Hotel Old Town. So off we went to the Hotel Zlatr Andel.

The Zlatr Andel Hotel wasn't up to the standard of the Hotel Old Town but they were very accommodating and treated us like kings. (I highly recommend them instead of the Old Town)

The next day I was able to verify that my rooms were actually cancelled on 9/4 and the rooms given to a tour group, just as I thought.

The most disturbing thing about this incident was that I wasn't told my room wasn't available beforehand, (no email notice even though they knew on 9/4), so I couldn't make other plans, and because they lied to me.

I can't recommend this hotel to anyone since they they don't respect reservations and lie to their customers,(The manager wouldn't talk to me on the phone even when the clerk called her). Stay elsewhere!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelikan_michal, Hotel Management at Hotel Old Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

We thank you for taking your time and write your review regarding the Hotel Old Inn.

We highly appreciate your opinion and your comments were forwarded to the board. We apologize for such a situation – it was a mistake of our Receptionist.

Thank you for review, as it shows us that we have to work more with our staff.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a one night stay in this hotel, which was selected by our travel agent. Our room was immediately over the front entrance and faced the lovely town square. The furnishings were quaint, but comfortable enough and perfectly adequate for our needs. We did not eat in the restaurant except for the breakfast buffet, which had the usual selections. Overall we thought that the Old Inn was charming and fit right in to the Chesky Krumlov experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelikan_michal, Hotel Management at Hotel Old Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your valuable comments regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Old Inn. Your feedback is highly appreciated.

We shall be pleased to welcome you again soon in our Jan Hotels.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoughton, ma
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel is located in a very beautiful and romantic town which used to be part of the Iron Curtain. The village is breathtaking, and the hotel is very unique. You will be living in the equivalent of a bread and breakfast from ancient times. This hotel was three separate houses that were combined and remodeled to be a hotel. To get to your room is like living in a labyrinth. The disadvantages of this hotel was that there was no electrical outlets in the bathroom, the toilet paper when hanging down rested on the toilet bowl brush, to turn off the light next to your bed you had to climb behind the headboard to find the switch on the cord, No shampoo, no lotion. no conditioner, only a combination dispenser of liquid soap for your hair and body in the shower and at the sink. The safe was so small my camera could not fit in it and the operation was so antiquated that the Three Musketeers may have used it first. They did keep the hotel extremely clean, and were washing and cleaning at all times, except the floors were very slippery when wet and there was no notification such as a sign. The room only had one electrical outlet for guest use, The bathroom design and layout needs a change as the towel rack is on the opposite side of the room from the bath / shower. Very poor water pressure, you will be lucky to get all your soap off, The hand-held shower is at waist level so you cannot have it permanently above your head. You must use the handle to wash over your body, but it is only a slight dribble. The air-conditioning was adequate and kept the room comfortable. There was a safety bar in the tub, which was appreciated and it is a great location right in the center of the town and you could not ask for a better location. However, if you wanted the gym or the pool you had to go to another hotel. The rooms are extremely small. But what you would get on the top floor of a house with slanted ceilings. It is okay for a one night stay to experience this unique town. I give this a 1 1/2 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelikan_michal, Hotel Management at Hotel Old Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We value your opinion which helps us to identify areas for improvements as well as guiding us for improving our service. We are sorry for not meeting your expectations.

Your comments are well respected and taken in consideration by the Management. Based on your comments corrective actions will be taken.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Whilst on a tour in late June, 2013 we stayed at The Old Inn in Cesky Krumlov which is in the main square of a picturesque medieval town nestled on the banks of the Vitava. The single beds were very small but the actual hotel was rather unique with stairs and corridors every where so one had to be mindful of where your room was otherwise you could get lost, which was rather fun.

As you step outside the entrance to the hotel you face the square which leads you through the narrow cobbled streets and arch covered footpaths. The restaurants are all around the square and down some small cobbled streets and all are really well worth going to as the food is well presented and very inviting. The staff in the restaurants are so welcoming, it is a pleasure to eat at them.

The hotel is easy walking distance to the Oravsky Hrad Castle which is considered to the finest in the land and believe it or not they actually have two bears in an enclosure at the entrance to the castle.

Room Tip: As it is a medieval town all the rooms seem to be quite as most of the activity at night seem to com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelikan_michal, Hotel Management at Hotel Old Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Old Inn during your stay in Cesky Krumlov and for your nice feedback.

We are delighted to learn that our facilities, service and location met with your expectations.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again in our Jan Hotels.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed 4 nights. Minimum furnishings. Room was clean. Staff were not very helpful. Tiny bathroom. Breakfast was average. Rude staff. Arrived as the 3 day festival commenced. Were forced to pay 200 krones entrance fee to the city. Our room overlooked the city square, which ment we were able to observe all the festivities of the event. Great location, and an ideal place to stay when the festival is on. However, this was the highlight of our 7 week trip to Europe. Loved Cesky Krumlov. Could have stayed a week. Superb buildings. It is listed as a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage City. Would stay next time in the sister hotel "Hotel Ruze"

Room Tip: Front rooms could be noisy. WiFi only worked in the foyer. Very central
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelikan_michal, Hotel Management at Hotel Old Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

We appreciate your comments re. your recent stay at the Old Inn Hotel. Those are very important in helping us identify the specific areas for improvement and better service by taking the necessary corrective actions.

Truly sorry for not having met your expectations. Still hoping to welcome you again at the Jan Hotels.

With kind regards,
Jan Hotels Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Inn

Address: Namesti Svornosti 12, Cesky Krumlov 38101, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Old Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Old Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Cesky Krumlov

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Old Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.