We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cesky Krumlov castle and town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cesky Krumlov Castle

Cesky Krumlov Castle
Old Town, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Castles, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Our company provides shuttle bus transportation service between Cesky Krumlov or Ceske Budejovice, Vienna, Salzburg, Hallstatt, Linz, Prague and other destinations.
Maroochydore, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Cesky Krumlov castle and town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The castle was very interesting. The pattern of the brickwork in the walls is actually painted, rather than actual brick pattern. I hadn't seen that before. The treasures in the museum have a distinct flavour which makes them different to other castle relics. The views from the castle to the town are magnificent. Don't miss the details on the end of the gutters [like a crocodile]. Enjoy the gardens and don't forget to look for the bears under the bridge as you cross the moat. The small told town is very interesting and there are several excellent restaurants. We stayed at the hotel Cert A Kaca which was extremely good value and the lovely landlady was very honest and pleasant. This hotel is a few minutes walk to the castle. If you head here on public transport, from Prague, take the bus.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    166
    27
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise, California, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Loved the bears in the moat--views from the tower. Glad only Tour 1 was open so we didn't have to choose. It was perfect.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is the second time I've been to the Cesky Krumlov castle, but the first time I've ever been inside. Sadly, most of the castle was closed because it's the winter, but we were allowed to go into the museum and into the tower, both of which were really interesting. There were great views from the top of the tower - just make sure to hold onto your hat, because it's windy! Be warned though, there is no elevator! The museum also has some interesting things to look at - my favorites were the pictures of all the ladies all dressed up from the late 1800s and early 1900s from birthdays and parties. The best part - the bear pit! Still would love to see them!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Magnificent colour and craftsmanship!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited Cesky Krumlov in December and sadly the castle was closed in winter...
However, we did walk around the castle. Since we stayed a night here. We went there for a walk at night. The Round Tower was magnificent at night with the lighting. Take a tripod with your camera and you would capture the most beautiful side of the tower.
Walk in day time too, the craftsmanship of the painting will surprise you by confusing our senses!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“sth amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Rich culture of Krumllov can be seen by visiting this magnificent place. Nowdays politicians are the same as the rulers from few centuries ago. Who could live in such castle?

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cesky Krumlov Castle also viewed

Cesky Krumlov, South Bohemian Region
Cesky Krumlov, South Bohemian Region
 
Cesky Krumlov, South Bohemian Region
Cesky Krumlov, South Bohemian Region
 

Been to Cesky Krumlov Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cesky Krumlov Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cesky Krumlov Castle to your Saves list