We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem of Europe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Marie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Marie to your Saves list
Pension Marie
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Kajovska 67, Cesky Krumlov 38101, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 134 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
MESA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of Europe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cesky Krumlov is a hidden gem of Europe. Although tourism has begun to swarm this charming municipality, the medieval ambiance is still prevalent. The Pension Marie is indicative of the old-fashioned atmosphere of this delightful community. We arrived in a car rental on an uncharacteristic hot and humid July afternoon, but had to carry (about a one mile hike) our luggage from the parking facility around the central city island hamlet because the main bridge was under re-construction. However, once on the island, the location was tremendous, check in was swift, and the price was very reasonable considering we rented a huge, two bedroom suite directly above the outdoor restaurant and overlooking the city. We booked the room well in advance, and I think it may have been the pearl of the pension! The restaurant is very good and the beer was fantastic, but that's pretty much the norm in Czech Republic. Don't be fooled by Czech brewed Budweiser beer, though. It's good, but you won't be conjuring up thoughts of the Clydesdales trotting in the snow! Something you should know - there is no air conditioning, so on a hot night you will want to open the windows. Partying goes on well into the night just a few yards from the hotel, so bring ear plugs. However, if the night is cool (which is the norm), the windows are double paned and you can barely hear anything outside. Great place to stay! Hint - before leaving the U.S., rent the video "One Survivor Remembers", and If you are driving, when you leave Cesky Krumlov, take a side trip to Volary and see the cemetery that serves as a memorial to the victims of the Women's Death March during WWII.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back may be quieter, but you will miss a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Thank goodness we read a review saying the check in was in the cafe/coffee house next door. We checked in and found our room to be large, clean, and the bed was comfortable. Each breakfast at the pension was the best we had during our trip (4 hotels in 13 days). Only drawback was that there was no one to help after the cafe staff left in the evening. We were relieved that we did not need any late evening/night help during our 3 nights stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The map shows the hotel is not in the centre of this small town, but in fact it is. You need to go into the cafe for checking in, but this is no problem. Room is large and clean, and with some design theme too. Nice view of the street from my room. The breakfast is basic but the egg is good. The price is very reasonable too.

But take note that there could be some noise at night, and the bell from the church at 7am should wake you up. So if you are a light sleeper, this may not be your choice. But for those who like the centre of the city, this is a good choice.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

It was a really great choice with friendly stuff. The room was clean and well equipped. The place was very calm (because of the low season) and the breakfast was of high quality, and contained everything you could wish for in a hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

There were so few reviews on Pension Marie that I was a little nervous about staying here. But compared to the other hotels, the price was an absolute steal, so we went for it. Turned out to be a great pick...

Cesky Krumlov is so small that most accommodations are pretty convenient, and this is no exception. We were a stone's throw from the main square and 10 minutes from the castle. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, including the one in Pension Marie. Breakfast is included, which is a nice way to start the day. My eggs and ham was delicious, but avoid the thin sausage because it is basically boiled hot dog with mustard (unless you like that).

We loved our space; it was immaculate. There were two bedrooms (one with queen bed, the other with 2 singles), a huge dining/living area, and a spacious bathroom. Having a huge tub helped because we needed to wash all our gear after being in the river! There was reliable internet, TV, and lots of amenities including a ironing board, drying rack and access to the rooftop. Though we were right above the restaurant and facing the road, noise was not a problem because everything had piped down by 10pm and we had a sound sleep.

The only part of our stay that was a bit confusing is that there is no front desk. You have to check in at the restaurant. But it was otherwise hassle free. I strongly recommend Pension Marie. Correspondances were easy, accommodations were affordable, and the stay was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The pension is facing one of Krumlov's lovely little streets right in the middle of the town, yet only a 10 minute leisurely walk from the bus station. Accommodations were cozy, spaceous and clean. Breakfast was provided at the restaurant adjacent to the hotel, and was nice and plentiful, with eggs, ham, cheese, pastries, yogurt, coffee, juice.
The only tricky part is late check-in. Guests arriving after 6pm would need to call the phone number posted on the door in order to get the keys to the room and front door. However, it seems that most of the hotels in Krumlov follow this rule.
Restaurant Tip for Cesky Krumlov: Krcma Satlava is fun, with great medieval decor and atmosphere and terrific food. Krcma Barbakan has great atmosphere, terrific food, and great service as well.

Room Tip: The family room is a 3 room apartment, very spaceous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

More than a pleasant stay, friendly and helpful staff, clean environment, great meals... Happy to recommend! The only minus would be for a bit inconvinient sleep as the room is facing very busy street with couple of music bars and clubs but no problem for the visitors without kids. Other rooms are, as far as I know, facing the back yard so this little trouble should be eliminated...
Ales H.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#9 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#12 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Marie

Address: Kajovska 67, Cesky Krumlov 38101, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pension is situated right in the center of the historical town of Český Krumlov. It concerns former community house from the 15th century. Accommodation: Apartment or double bed room with own social facility, refrigerator, SAT-TV. With all comfort you can enjoy the romance and atmosphere of the Middle Ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.