We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsurpassed Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zlaty Andel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zlaty Andel to your Saves list
Hotel Zlaty Andel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nam. Svornosti 10-11, Cesky Krumlov 38101, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unsurpassed Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

During our stay, my husband became sick. First the hotel offered to bring a doctor to the hotel. When we said we prefer to go to the doctor, the bellman was told to drive us to the hospital where he brought us from one department to another explaining what was wrong until we found the right office. He waited for us to be seen by the doctor, translating as necessary and then returned us to the hotel. Without his assistance, I doubt we could have navigated the Czech healthcare system.

The hotel is also quite uniquely beautiful and ideally situated in the town square.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    45
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
39
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

If you book at this hotel then whatever you do don't let them give you room #13!!! It faces a small courtyard shared with the hotel's Music and Cocktail bars. The pounding rock base and customer screaming began around 10:30pm and didn't end till after 4am. I don't recall booking the disco room. At 1:45am I went the front desk to ask when the bar Wouk close and was given a shrug and told that it never officially closes. Just when everyone leaves. She the handed me so sets of foam ear plugs which were worthless.

The next morning when checking out I calmly expressed my opinion to the new desk clerk that they should either not book anyone in that room or close the bar by at least 2am. Her reply was that "they" were guests too and if they wanted to party the hotel would accommodate them. Wrong answer! So, what were my wife and I? Chopped liver? No apology. No nothing. If you have a desire to try and sleep in a Metallica concert then book here. If not, go next door to the Old Inn. A whole different experience.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Vermont
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel has old world charm and a great central location. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are dated and the many stairs make you feel like you're living in a Salvador Dali painting. If you're wheelchair handicapped, you won't want to stay here. The Don Julius restaurant was very conveniently located downstairs and is very good.

The Family Suite (#17) had 2 good size rooms but only a small dining area and kitchen which was not fully equipped. No coffee machine or cooking utensils. The two Presidential Suites had fantastic views of the square and castle and the bathrooms were huge and modern. However, the bed in Room 28 was very creaky.

Breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious. The ladies who work the dining room are very pleasant and polite.

Internet is VERY slow and unreliable.

My only real problem with the hotel was that I had a wad of credit card receipts I had left on the dining table. After the first day, I could not find them anywhere. My only conclusion was that the housekeeper threw them away. I asked the front desk manager if housekeeping would normally throw receipts away. She said she would look into it. The second morning I went back to the front desk to see if they had anymore information. Low and behold, another front desk manager handed me the wad of receipts. He said he did not know what happened, but they had found them. Obviously, the receipts were not thrown away. It just makes me wonder what the housekeeper intended to do with them. I looked to make sure none of the receipts had my credit card printed, and I continue to monitor my accounts. Lesson learned: Keep your receipts and other valuables hidden and safe.

Room Tip: The Presidential Suites (28 & 29) have great views of the square and the castle. Just be aware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Though the building is old and without and elevator, the services are great, they will help you with luggages. Breakfast is ok. The best thing is the bath tube, after a day's walking, it is really great to soothe in it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Last time I stayed here 14 years ago I left with happy memories. This time the stay at Zlaty Andel was just as good. Excellent room, lovely ambience, relaxing atmosphere and good service. The location could not be better; on the main square just a short walk from the castle

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Every building in Krumlov seems to a type of hotel of some sort or another. Being right on the main square, the Zlaty Andel is perfectly located. Every one was helpful and pleasant as well. Our room was large with an "interesting" layout - bathroom and sitting room up on a second level - made for a nice funky/quirky feel. Our bed was comfortable, while the iron furniture looked great, wasn't much for lounging during breaks in the day. All up, do recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I think there are numerous different layouts, so just select from what you can decipher on their web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at Cesky Krumlov for only one night, but made the best of it while at the Zlaty Andel. From check-in and after check-out, their service was terrific. The rooms were quite charming, filled with character from the antique armoires to the room's views of the town. After we had left the country, I realized I'd left my wedding band behind here and the staff was kind enough to mail it to the United States at no charge to us. Thank you for a wonderful experience in Cesky Krumlov!

Room Tip: The roads are right below the hotel and church bells chime all night, so I'd suggest asking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zlaty Andel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zlaty Andel

Address: Nam. Svornosti 10-11, Cesky Krumlov 38101, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
#4 Family Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zlaty Andel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three originaly Gothic buildings, adjacent and interconnected,still hint of the lifestyle on the Middle Ages without sacrificing comfort for the guests.Since 1991 in the care and ownership of Martin Mendlik from Upper Austria,who rebuilt and modernized the buildings.With 42 rooms including suites or family rooms, altogether 115 beds,the hotel offers more comfort for bigger groups as well.All rooms on an international standard are equipped with bathroom ( bath / shower ), WC, satellite TV, minibar and telephone and Wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Zlaty Andel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zlaty Andel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zlaty Andel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.