We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family Trip to Cesky Krumlov” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Athanor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pension Athanor to your Saves list
Pension Athanor
Plesivecke namesti 271, Cesky Krumlov 38101, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 125 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Bratislava
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Trip to Cesky Krumlov”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We like to stay at Family like places when travelling to small towns. Usually my review would be much shorter, but this place deserves to describe our experience in detail. There are plenty of small Guest houses available in center of Cesky Krumlov. We picked the best ranked and in order to avoid any confusion we booked directly with them the Apartment No. 2. Athanor is located in nicely renovated romantic old town villa. We`ve got exactly what we booked – 60 sqm with fully equipped kitchen, spacious bathroom with two big windows, tough with shower stall only, but with a private sauna and… good in size bedroom with Flat screen TV. The difference between the apartment and the standard room was only 20 eur…and it was worth it. Everything was the same as it looked on the pictures from the place web site. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the Reception Lady using our names, who came out of the building to say hello and explain where to park our car, by the way the parking was free. She accompanied us straight to the room as we came with our 9 month old baby girl to make us feel comfortable, and only after all the registration process was done. There are 3 individually controlled heating units, so you can set the temperature in every room separately. We found here small amenities you would not expect from a 5 room Guest house: shoehorn, umbrella, first aid kit, slippers, tea candles… Generally the property is extremely clean. It seems from all the rooms you get the view. Room was decorated by the Schiele`s replicas. The baby cot was ready and the lady even asked if we would be of need for a baby tub - what a nice touch. The minibar/fridge is roomy and don`t afraid to enjoy it - costs peanut. We were happy to get fast working free internet too. We like to stay at quality hotels so there are few points which could be improved like one mattress on the bed instead of two separate put together, the provided sauna oils – one bottle was empty, 2nd half empty…and of course the soundproofing is an issue with such type of accommodation…BUT you get great value for money and it wouldn`t be fair to look for imperfection…
Regarding the breakfast: I read some disappointing reviews about it but considering 5 rooms only and the price 4 eur pP you get more than a fair deal: small but sufficient cold buffet with choice of warm meal, choice of fresh bread and rolls, free choice of coffee or tea plus nice service from the Breakfast Lady. I highly recommended this place because of soul and staff. We found the place very quiet but in summer month, when there are many music Events and town is full of young camp people…it might be bit loud.

Room Tip: Apartment 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
49
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bavaria, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Perfect location just a few minutes walk to the old town center and castle, but far enough out of earshot from late night party goers so one gets a good nights rest. Beautiful restoration with modern touches such as free Internet, minibar, heating and air conditioning, windows all new and in working order, bathrooms modern with hair dryers, excellent water pressure. Everything was immaculately clean. Rooms are very large with a seating area as well. Free secure parking. Breakfast was a bargain with both hot and cold options.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor so had some eves to deal with so if very tall may want to ask for a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great pension placed in a refurbished historical building few steps to the historical city center. The rooms are spacious with modern furniture ( we had a separate living room, bedroom and very modern bathroom). The internetconnection is great and the prices in the minibar great. There is free parking in the couryard of the house which makes it easy for any visitor. The only minuses where the soundproofness of the doors as our room was located in front of the reception we could here the guests comming in and out and the berakfast was average. All in all if we will return to Krumlov we will for sure stay here again great experience with friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were at Cesky Krumlov for one night and stayed at Pension Athanor. The lady who runs the place is quite eccentric so be prepared for some odd behaviour. The Pension is well located and is fairly quiet. The negatives we saw were as follows:
1. Bathroom was unclean and had a smell coming from the toilet
2. There was no air conditioning (we knew this beforehand) so the rooms get quite warm. You can open some small windows, but there were several spiders on ours which made it less appealing to do so.
3. Breakfast is terrible. While at 4 euros it is cheap, it is definitely worth eating elsewhere. I don't even think they should bother offering it.

It wasn't a bad place to stay, and the bed and room were generally nicely appointed and comfortable aside from the above mentioned points. We were glad to only have to stay here one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Pension Athanor, newly renovated, is a very charming place to stay.
It is not right in the old town but is only a 5 minute walk to the main square.
You can walk direct taking 80 steps, when going down, or take the route of the street, when going up. Quite easy.
The hostess is wonderful! Very friendly and helpful.

We had a very beautiful room on the attic, with charming half-timbered beams and a window overlooking the old town with wonderful views of the cathedral, the castle tower and old town.
However it had a sloping roof on one half of the room wich is a little dangerous for your head.
The bed was very, very comfortable and the bathroom with a big tub was quite modern and very tasteful.
We could not get the wifi to work with our i-phone in the bedroom probably because it was in the attic.
There is no elevator nor assistance to carry the bags to your room.

Breakfast was not included and we choose to have it near the main square.
There is a free parking available in the little courtyard of the hotel. This is really very convenient because the public parks are on the outskirts of the city.

A very good choise indeed...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed for four nights in Pension Athanor. We stayed in the deluxe apartment on the ground floor. The apartment was very charming and nicely furnished. Everything that can be wished for was present. We had a whirlpool, steam oven and microwave, and a very good king size bed. The apartment was very clean and was even cleaned during our stay. We chose to have breakfast in the cellar (5 euro p.p.) and did not regret it. Very good. The hostess of the apartment was also very friendly and helpful. We parked our car on the courtyard and were assured that this parking lot was ours during the stay. The center of Cesky Krumlov (a very compact little town) was easily reachable from the apartment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Pension Athanor was a charming place to stay. Newly renovated, great bathroom with a spa bath. It is not right in the old town but is only a 5 minute walk (down @ 60 stairs) to the bridge to the main square. Lovely and quiet and a good view of teh cathedral and town. Parking available in the little courtyard of the hotel.

We had one of the attic rooms which had wonderful views but had a sloping roof on one half of the room which mean that one person had to sidle round to get to the bed. Ok for one night but it would get annoying if you were staying longer - I would ask for a room on the first floor. The room we had also didn't have a desk, there were chairs and a coffee table. If you have work to do it would be inadequate.

Finally if you have heavy bags be aware that there is no assistance to carry the bags to your room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Athanor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Athanor

Address: Plesivecke namesti 271, Cesky Krumlov 38101, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our romantic family pension is situated in the picturesque little square only 300 metres from the historical square of Český Krumlov.The historically valuable house was transformed into an accommodation facility with extra spacious and comfortable rooms. The family pension offers 2 luxury apartments and 3 rooms with total capacity of 10 beds and possibility of 2 stationary and 2 mobile additional beds. The house is fashionably furnished which makes provoking contrast with its ancient history. Apartments are equipped with modern kitchen including all accessories. LCD television sets, satellite TV, internet connection, minibar, and air conditioning in the attic rooms are matter-of-course. The apartment No. 1 and the room No. 4 are equipped with whirlpool baths. Sauna, free of charge available for guests in the apartment, is a part of the apartment No. 2 bathroom. Most of our windows offer unforgettable views of ancient town Český Krumlov, the chateau and St. Vitus church, which attract to endless walks along crooked streets and secret corners of this precious town.Breakfast is served in the eldest parts of the house, in medieval and renaissance cellar. The cellar also contains the private wine room held by the owners of the house, where guests can taste some samples according to up-to-date wine list. The house also has ornamental garden suitable for the rest after daylong cultural or sportive activities. Hundred years old apple tree will surely offer enough genial shade for all to relax in the tropical summer days. The guests, who are interested in gastronomy, can use their culinary skills in barbecue using the grill, which is available in the pension. Our guests can drive up directly to the house and park there free of charge. Bicycles can be saved in the hall or in the garden according to the personal convention. So welcome to our pension and fully enjoy unforgettable genius loci of Český Krumlov. Let the nostalgia of the good old days attract you. And if haply the nostalgia turns to sorrow, don´t forget to taste good Moravian wine, which exorcizes the sorrow and brings good temper. The towns with the bouquet of the south simply have the power and emotions belong to them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Athanor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Athanor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.