We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Secret Harbour Beach Resort to your Saves list
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, St Thomas, Benner 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off Beach Vacation
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“amazing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

My two days here were the best thing that ever happended to me!! First of all. the island is the most beautiful place on earth, and then the resort of course... Great service, terrific food, and the facilities are very good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    239
    63
    41
    24
See reviews for
140
320
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed in unit #125, 2nd floor, view of the beach, but also noisy, with people above us. Also a bit of a fishbowl - everyone on the beach could look into our unit. Great view! They need a new bed - and decent sheets. It was all clean, but a non-fitted bottom sheet and no mattress pad is kinda gross. There is good snorkeling right off the beach, and it's a great place to watch the sunset. The front office staff are stretched thinly and when they can answer the phone, service is marginal. Housekeeping did a great job. I'd recommend this place if you get a unit on the top floor with a newer bed. Note there is no elevator. Aqua Action SCUBA is right in front of the hotel, they did a great job for us.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eloramillgm, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Secret Harbour Beach Resort. We are always striving for improvement in service and product so appreciate your comments. All of our units are individually owned and decorated to provide a personal feel to each unit. We look forward to seeing you return to the resort and our team is ready to assist you to ensure a great vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We chose Secret Harbour after an extensive internet search. We were in a second floor oceanfront condo that was very spacious and nicely updated.

The beach at Secret Harbour is among the best we saw, and the snorkeling is fantastic and right off the beach. In 2 times snorkeling for about an hour each, we saw a sea turtle, a barracuda, and countless tropical fish, sea urchins, and interesting reef formations. The dive shop at the hotel is friendly and well-equipped. The hotel has beach attendants to help with chairs/towels/etc and the beach is not crowded and has plenty of shade available.

The restaurant and bar is perfectly located, right on the beach and with good food. A bit pricey but not out of the ordinary for St. Thomas. The hotel has a very good and very reasonably priced massage therapist. The pool, which we only used once, was spacious and very well kept. The grounds are well-kept other than the roads (a common issue on the island) and guests enjoyed seeing the iguanas roaming around.

Our room had a full kitchen which helped when we bought some breakfast supplies at the Food Center up the road. The bed was comfortable, but as I noted under "sleep quality" and the title line, the ceiling allowed us to hear footsteps and much more from the room above. Our room was well-stocked with games,TVs (which we never turned on, but flat screens were in the living room and bedroom) and visitor information.

The hotel is convenient to Red Hook (3 minutes) and lots of good restaurants both in Red Hook and nearby. We ate at the hotel once for dinner, but also went to Latitude 18, Fungi's, Fish Tails, and Molly Molone's in the area.

Overall- a very nice and comfortable room, a good value, a great beach, friendly staff... and thin ceilings.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eloramillgm, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and choosing Secret Harbour Beach Resort for your vacation. We are glad that you enjoyed the resort and look forward to seeing you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Very relaxing, quiet but lots of fun. Great bar right on the beach. Snorkeling was great right from the beach (Tip: Fish love dog bisquits). Room was very clean, comfortable bed, spectacular view.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eloramillgm, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you for your great comments. We are very glad that you chose Secret Harbour Beach resort for your vacation and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Yes, Secret Harbor does have a beautiful beach! The water and the sand are beautiful and the sunsets are unbeatable. The resort is showing age. We also heard that the Blue Moon restaurant was losing its lease. We stayed in a studio room that was midway up the hill. We had a private balcony with a beautiful ocean view and a very loud outdoor window air conditioning unit. The size of the room was fine for just the 2 of us and we used the very small kitchen to cook our meals and eat on the balcony. The bathroom was dated with a very old tub and trickling, whining shower. If go again we would take our own beach towels---the towels from the resort are thin, small and worn. We were most disappointed with the resort desk. They were friendly but not interested in going out of their way to provide you with information about the area and services. We think, too, that they had a family connection with a taxi service and preferred you to wait and take their own taxi service instead of the ones that might pull up sooner. Overall we had a fantastic time because you just can't beat the weather of high of 82 and low of 72 every day. It's all location, location, location if that's what you are looking for!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eloramillgm, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay at Secret Harbour beach Resort. We are continually working to make improvements around the resort so any feedback to assist us meet our guest expectations is always welcome. There will be a new restaurant joining the resort at the end of May when The Blue Moon ends their lease term at the property. The new Restaurant will bring new menus and many years of experience in the industry to the resort. Last week we received a delivery of new beach towels that are larger in size. Taxi's on the Island are always ordered by phone and guests are provided a # of the driver. Guests are asked to use the cab that has been ordered to avoid a wasted journey for the drivers. We look forward to seeing you return to the resort and thank you for choosing Secret Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lbrigham47@aol.com
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

This is a wonderfully quiet resort, with many ammenities. The beach is beautiful with palm trees for the sun cautious and ample sunlight areas. Beach chairs and towels are provided. There is a bar and restraunt there with excellent food and they were no more expensive than the restaurants we traveled to in Red Hook and Charlotte Amalie. There is a raft in the center of the bay, which gives you a swimming destination. There is a scuba diving school, which my husband took advantage of, and will bring us back in the neart future to complete his certification. I haven't seen my husband relax and enjoy himself as much as he did at this resort. There are taxis available at all times to take you to all the sight seeing destinations. You know you are in paradise when you can hear the sound of the waves on the shore over the sound of the air conditioner. I haven't had a lot of luck picking a hotel off the internet but this was certainly a "pleasant surprise". You know how at the end of a vacation, you are ready to get home to your regular stuff, like your house and regular routine, we did not feel this way at all. We were hoping our flight would be canceled because of the weather, but no such luck. We did have one tiny glitch, our water in our room was not turned on, because the room was recently renovated, but that was quickly remedied. If you are looking for fancy ammenities, this is not the place for you, If you like clean, comfortable accomodations, this is a great resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eloramillgm, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
Thank you for chosing Secret Harbour Beach Resort as your destination for your vacation. We are so happy to hear that you had a good stay. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you return to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

The office staff was friendly and welcoming and the bellman was always nearby and ready to help in any way. The bar staff were open and helpful with directions and even offering us a bite of her yummy looking sandwich and offering to drop us at the local Food Center - we graciously declined as we had a car:) The Blue Moon served amazing food in a gorgeous setting with gracious staff -- al except for the hostess....Our unit (2BR beachfront) was updated, very spacious and clean! We took a few steps to our chairs and were in heaven! All in all a great visit! Thank you! Our only reget is that we did not have our teens with us - they would have loved it! One thing I'd like to point out -- all unites are owned indiviidually so if you really want something specific (i.e. a dishwasher) in your unit be sure to request a unit with one -- don't take it out on the office staff beacuse you did not verify what was incl in the unit. I was there when a lady freaked out because of this.... Book it now - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secret Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Address: 6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, St Thomas, Benner 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Benner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secret Harbour Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Harbour is a boutique all-beachfront condominium resort on the Caribbean US Virgin Island of St. Thomas. The resort is situated on the island's Southeast shore on a palm-tree shaded swimming/snorkeling beach with pristine Caribbean blue water and sugary sand offering tranquil and water sport vacations with superb amenities. The all-beachfront property features 48 uniquely furnished condominiums on the ocean that are individually owned and resort managed. Each condominium is a spacious studio, 1- or 2-bedroom beachfront suite with fully equipped kitchen and private patio/balcony. Amenities include: 2 restaurants; PADI dive center with scuba diving, excursion boats, sailing and watersport rentals; freshwater pool; tennis courts; fitness center; gift shop; ATM & spa services. The intimate resort is ideal for families, couples, watersport & diving enthusiasts, visiting executives, and those seeking a tropical destination wedding, honeymoon or event. Bonus amenities include free Wi-Fi, onsite concierge, and wedding/event coordinator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Secret Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Harbour Beach Hotel Benner
Hotel Secret Harbour Beach
Secret Harbour Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Harbour Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.