We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Secret Harbour Beach Resort to your Saves list
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off St Thomas Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2006

My husband booked our stay at Secret Harbour as a result of reading the good reviews on tripadvisor. We arrived on our flight in St. Thomas around 9pm. Once we arrived at the hotel, we were told that the room we booked (oceanview) was not available. There was a "problem with the room." Not a problem, we thought. Surely, they will put us in an even nicer room due to the "problem." We were put into a studio condo up the hill. Our original room was right by the water. This room was up the hill and a walk away from the beach and water. So, we did not see this as any type of improvement. The front desk employee told us that we would probably get an even nicer room (beachfront) for the remainder of our vacation, but we had to check with the front desk the next morning. We were called the next morning by the front desk asking if we were checking out that day. We explained what happened the night before and couldn't help but wonder why there was no communication between the employees. We were told that our originally booked room was now available and, no, we would not be given a nicer room since everything was apparently booked for the week. We explained our dismay at having to move our luggage and not being compensated for their error, but absolutely nothing came out of our complaints. Once we moved into our oceanview room, it was clean and average in accomodations. Something was wrong with the bed. So, everytime we sat on the end, it would make a loud noise. We never did figure out what was wrong with it. We found the employees to be extremely laid back and not accomodating at all. They need some training in customer service. The views on the bay were beautiful and the beach could not be beat. It was very private and only people staying at the resort seemed to be there every day. The resort is not within walking distance of anything including stores and restaurants. You have to take a taxi or rent a car to get anywhere outside of the resort, which can get pretty expensive (minimum of $5 per person each way for a taxi). Also, there are several types of rooms. The Ocean Front is on the second floor above the scuba & gift shop. The Beach Front walks out onto the beach and are the best rooms. The Ocean View are up the hill and a walk from the beach, restaurant and office.

Overall, we would not stay at Secret Harbour on any future visits to St. Thomas.

  • Liked — The beach and sunsets
  • Disliked — overall service and accomodations
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    243
    65
    41
    24
See reviews for
146
330
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2006

Booked into Secret Harbor at the last minute after finding out Sapphire Beach was such a mess. The grounds and beach are in excellent shape and the snorkeling is amazing. It is a wild life sanctuary and they say over 200 species of marine life live in the small bay. The water is not as clear as some places in USVI but still a great experience.

The room was nice, not 5 star but we did not expect that. We had the one bedroom beach front condo with kitchen. The kitchen makes all the difference as 2 trips to the grocery store in 7 days saved a ton of money. Groceries are high but not nearly as high as eating out every meal. Another tip to save money is take a taxi to Kmart and get water toys. A float was 4 bucks and we bought fins, mask and snorkel sets for 30 each. Way better than $10.00 a day to rent. On that same taxi trip we went to the grocery store in the same complex.

Another bonus is that Red Hook is a 5 or 6 $ taxi ride to shop, eat or catch the ferry to St John.

The Blue Moon cafe and bar on the grounds has good food and a great friendly staff.

We made one trip to Agave Restaurant at Point Pleasant. The atmosphere is great but the food was bad, everything was over cooked.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2006

Great place to stay. We booked a 1 room beach side which is highly recommended. Cozy hammocks for relaxing, nice tennis courts, great smorkling right at the resort. We visited many other resorts when we were on the two islands and we noticed and were informed by locals that secret habour is known for its lack of wind due to the location. A few things we would recommend...
- rent a Jeep for at least a couple of days. It was great to be able to take the ferry to St. John and drive around. We also went to the local grocery store to purchase food, cheap booze, etc which was great for breakfast & lunch.
- Purchase some snorkeling gear from the Kmart either on the island or before you leave. One of the mornings we wanted to rent equipment from the dive shop they were "out diving for the day". It is nice to be able to go when you want to.
- Be prepared for high prices. Food is very expensive ($5 for a gallon of milk). Pack some snacks, candy if you are cheap.
- Check with your insurance or credit card company BEFORE you leave to see if you are covered for rental cars on the island. Allstate covers in the 48 states but not on the island.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Part, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Secret Harbour from 5/6/06 - 5/12/06. This was definately not long enough! This place is beautiful. We especially liked the fact that it was so secluded. The service was great from everyone, especially in the Aqua Action store. They really took care of us. Secret Harbour by far was the best place to snorkel. Unfortunately for us, we didn't get to see the stingrays and turtles everyone was talking about, but it was still great. The Blue Moon Cafe was very good, but we also memorized the number to Senior Pizza's. They stay open fairly late. The manager's welcom party was very nice. They served some delicious Johnny Cakes. The only downfall about this hotel is the location. It's pretty far away from everything. But I guess that's what makes it so private. We hope to come back here maybe for our 10th anniversary.

  • Liked — The Privacy
  • Disliked — The Iguanas
  • Tips/Secrets — If you begin to crave traditional American food, Senor Pizza isn't far away!!
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2006

My girlfriend and I have just returned from 8 days on St. Croix (hotel caravelle) and 8 days on St. Thomas at Secret Harbour Beach Resort from Sunday 07.16.06 to Monday 07.24.06.
The visit to Secret Harbour Beach Resort was a mixed experience.

The room was all right. Big bed, dining table for four people, sofa arrangement and a terrace with two sun chairs. The kitchen had a small microwave, a coffee maker (we did not use it) and a toaster with only one side working (just took us a bit longer to toast bagels ;) ). The bathroom was a bit small, and the toilet was placed very close to the wall, so my left leg was pressed against the wall. There was no shower so we were standing in the bath tub, the shower head was very low so we had to bend to avoid hitting it with our heads, this was a minor inconvenience. During the week, a bad smell like urin became stronger in the bathroom, we never found out what caused it(and no, my aim is rather good). Some people we meet told that a piece of gum they had thrown into the trash can, still sat in the bag after it was emptied, the maid just empty the plastic bag instead of putting a new in!

The beach is wonderful, nice sand, palms, free sun bed, beach chairs and hammocks, and clear water. The snorkelling is great, in the small bay, there is sand bottom, reefs and rocks, so all kind of different fish is present. We saw sting rays almost every time we went snorkelling. Two sea turtles lived in the bay, we saw the big one several times but never saw a very small one that several other people saw. A big problem on the entire beach is sand flies. They where every were from noon until the sun went down, then the mosquitoes took over, and there where many mosquitoes in the room as well, so we woke up with new bites every morning in spite of using mosquito spray in the room. We each have 20+ mosquito bites as a souvenir from secret harbour. The service in the hotel is alright, some of the employees is very nice and helpful, but all the local employees is very slow, which is typical for the virgin islands, and possibly the rest of the Caribbean.
The biggest problem with staying at the Secret Harbour is the location. To get to red hook, which is the nearest place with restaurants, shops and a mini market, you must have a car or go by taxi (5$ per person each way), the roads is NOT for walking, so we spent 20$ + tip each time we wanted to do some grocery shopping.
On the island there is something called dollar taxi(a kind of bus route), which is 2$ per person. So choose a resort that these taxies goes by, for example the Safire beach resort, unless you have a car or plan to rent a car the entire stay.

  • Liked — The snorklling and view over the water
  • Disliked — Location and sandflies
  • Tips/Secrets — rent a car
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

We love Secret Harbour! We've been there three times in the last ten years. (We'd go more often, but it's a fur piece from Washington state). We're planning to return next year for a belated 50th wedding anniversary. It's quiet, secluded, and just plain beautiful. Red Hook and the ferry to St. John are only minutes away. Although we've always rented a car, next time we'll do it the easy way and just call for one of the friendly cabs that will whisk us anywhere on the island. The suites are large, light, and airy; the housekeeping is excellent, and the gracious staff does everything possible to make your visit the best you'll ever have. We lov the beach and the view is spectaculr. Even after 50 years and many travels, we consider Secret Harbour the most romantic place in the world.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

We stayed at Secret Harbor for our Honeymoon. June 5- June 12. We wish we had longer. It was beautiful there. The beach was private and had shaded areas. The snorkling was amazing right off the beach. There are some docks and a rocky area and there are so many different fish and sealife to see. We only found one better place for snorkling and that was at the Indians. We took a boat from the Captain Nautica Store in Red Hook to Virgin Gorda Sound and the Baths and out to the Indians by Treasure Island. The snorkling there was indescribable. We suggest going on this trip. There was also really good snorkling if you take a ferry to St. John and go to Leister Bay. There are many sea turtles and sting rays there. Another wonderful thing we did was hike Lind Point Trail (only 1.1 miles) and you can see beautiful views of the harbor and then it takes you into Honeymoon Beach and Solomon Beach. Honeymoon beach is beautiful and very private. We had the whole beach to ourselves. We also suggest going up to Mountain Top. You will get fantastic pictures. Our stay at Secret Harbor was so wonderful. We had an oceanview suite and it was huge! The Blue Moon Cafe is kind of pricey so we bought food at the grocery store in town (also a little pricey becuase food on the island is more) but we cooked some meals right in our hotel. We had a balcony with a patio table and chairs and two lounge chairs. They also do a wonderful job with housekeeping. We had someone cleaning our room and replenishing our towells every day. We would definetly reccommned this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benner
1.2 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
1.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 stars 988 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Address: 6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Benner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secret Harbour Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Harbour is a boutique all-beachfront condominium resort on the Caribbean US Virgin Island of St. Thomas. The resort is situated on the island's Southeast shore on a palm-tree shaded swimming/snorkeling beach with pristine Caribbean blue water and sugary sand offering tranquil and water sport vacations with superb amenities. The all-beachfront property features 48 uniquely furnished condominiums on the ocean that are individually owned and resort managed. Each condominium is a spacious studio, 1- or 2-bedroom beachfront suite with fully equipped kitchen and private patio/balcony. Amenities include: 2 restaurants; PADI dive center with scuba diving, excursion boats, sailing and watersport rentals; freshwater pool; tennis courts; fitness center; gift shop; ATM & spa services. The intimate resort is ideal for families, couples, watersport & diving enthusiasts, visiting executives, and those seeking a tropical destination wedding, honeymoon or event. Bonus amenities include free Wi-Fi, onsite concierge, and wedding/event coordinator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Secret Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Harbour Beach Hotel Benner
Hotel Secret Harbour Beach
Secret Harbour Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Harbour Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.