We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Secret Harbour Beach Resort to your Saves list
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off + $50 watersport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Sterling, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“loved our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My son and daughter in law got married at Secret Harbour Beach Resort. We had about 50 guests and everyone loved their stay! The staff was so helpful and polite! Our wedding go to person, Jessica is awesome! She really knows her job and made our wedding a wonderful and unforgettable experience! We can't wait to go back! Our rooms were very clean and comfortable, the food was delicious, and the staff went to great lengths to help meet our needs! We had a great experience at Secret Harbour Beach Resort on St. Thomas and highly recommend this place for your next vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    231
    60
    37
    24
See reviews for
122
290
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We arrived at noon because transportation dictated the schedule. We requested early check in and were told that housekeeping would be informed and would do what they could. three hours and fifteen minutes later our room was ready. At check in we were told there was a $25 deposit on beach towels. The towels we were issued when new could not have cosat $10 and in their well worn state they were ready to use to wash cars. Long black hairs were found in various places in the room. These hairs were longer and blacker than any possessed by me or my wife. Coffee filters supplied for the coffee maker were mr coffee style basket filters and the coffee maker took conical filters so our first pot of coffee resulted in an overflow mess. No room service was available. Take out from the restaurant was good food but a $15 hamburger came with no salt or other condiments and the walk back to the restaurant to get these items would have meant cold food. the buildings are tired and in need of a makeover and the staff needs training badly. it is a shame because the cove on which the property is located is beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The view is superb and although not very big the beach is great. Excellent food and 95% of the staff were excellent as well. However, there are some drawbacks. The hotels rooms are individually owned and their condition depends upon the owners concern for his/her property. Our room, #122, had a great view but there were numerous problems with it's care and upkeep. The blinds covering the large door and window leading to the patio did not work. The owners have a guest book that you can make comments regarding your stay. We noticed that prior tennants from 2011 complained about the same thing. The bathroom door does not fully close. The bathroom needs grout repairs, replacement of a broken window, etc. The front door doesn't lock properly and light bulbs needed replacing. The owners need to put some time and effort into making it a better room. The room is also close to the bar so it can at times be noisy if you are an early to bed type. If things like this don't bother you then stay in that room. If they do, opt for another one. There are days when people from the cruise ships come to the beach at Secret Harbour so it can be crowded at times. We do have one recommendation. The taxi driver assigned to Secret Harbour is Stanley Coram. He is very nice gentleman an and is very accommodating, and we recommend using him for your taxi needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

this was my first time staying at this resort. but i enjoyed it very much. Some staff was up most plesant.the restaunat was amazing our room was excatly what we need. The front desk person that help me find places to vist was the most plesant she looked like the youngest person there..but there was some bad like the resavations suppervisor behind the wall and wedding person was very rude. the hotel is amaing like i said and would vist every chance i get.. i recommand this hotel to anyone !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went down to St. Thomas for a wedding and stayed 5 nights at Secret Harbour. Reserved an ocean view room, but when we checked in, we had been upgraded to an ocean front room for no additional charge. Score! All of the rooms/condo's are apparently individually owned and can therefore vary in how nice they are, but our room (#112) was very very nice. It was a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit with a full-sized upgraded kitchen, spacious living room, and a ground floor patio that is literally on the beach. We could not have been happier with our unit. Other people staying at Secret Harbour for the same wedding were not as pleased with their rooms.

The food at the outdoor bar was excellent, although pricey. The bartenders were friendly, and even gave us plastic cups when we asked, so that we could make drinks in our own room with the supplies we bought on the way in. (Even though we brought some of our own alcohol, we spent plenty at the bar anyway...it's nice to have the option.)

The location is perfect. Only a 5 minute cab ride to the town of Red Hook, which has a good selection of restaurants and bars, as well as the ferry to St. John. The water at the resort was crystal blue and fairly warm, and the dive shop on site had kayaks, paddle boats, paddle boards, and snorkel stuff for rent at reasonable prices. The water is calm and it's very easy to paddle board there, if you've never tried it.

Only two downsides that I can think of: the sand fleas and mosquitoes were bad and I got lots of bites on my legs, but that's to be expected in a tropical climate. Just make sure to bring bug spray with you. The other is that if you are staying on the beach, the pool is inconvenient as it's way up the hill...but we didn't mind because we spent all of our time in the gorgeous ocean anyway.

In all, really enjoyed our stay at Secret Harbour and would for sure stay there again, as long as we can get Room #112 again!

Room Tip: Ocean front is the way to go, without a doubt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This trip (3/13-3/18) was our third time at Secret Harbour and every time we go it gets better. First, we were placed in room 233 which was recently renovated. My wife and I were blown away by the attention to detail. This is much more than a hotel room....This is your own 1 bedroom condo in paradise for a week. With a grocery store not far from the hotel, we loved being able to stock the fridge and cook our own breakfast every morning. If you do not want to cook, the restaurant on the beach is very good (only had lunch there). If you go, you must try the Ahi Nachos.

Secret Harbour has a great beach which usually is not overcrowded. The water is perfect and very calm. We did not partake in anyway water activity but this place is known for its snorkeling. I was also impressed with the different items available for rent to play in the sun/water.

As for food on the island, it is expensive but there are some great options. I would also recommend taking the ferry to St. John's one night for dinner. Morgan's Mango was fantastic.

If you like great beaches, food and amenities....Saint Thomas / Secret Harbour is the perfect escape.

Room Tip: Ask for room 233!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at Secret Harbour over spring break, and had the best time!! It is truly the perfect set up for families with small kids (we have 3 young boys) and for those who like to step right off the hotel grounds and swim/snorkel. We got a reduced rate for a beach-front condo (totally the way to go w/ small kids - the ocean view condos are up a steep hill) and Unit 235 where we stayed was really great. Not the Ritz or anything, but fairly updated (French colonial furniture and a nice bathroom). Also the views over the balcony on the beach-front condos are fantastic. We watched the amazing sun set every evening. It was fabulous to pack up our stuff each day and walk a whole 1 minute over to the beach/swim area of Secret Harbour. The towel guy is great - he is always there and refreshed our towels whenever we needed new ones. My husband and I loved the snorkeling - just 20-30 yards off the beach you can find all sorts of colorful fish in the coral. Also, the harbour is very protected and there's no rough waves or currents, which is perfect for kids and easy swimming/snorkeling. The dive shop next door is wonderful for snorkel tips, rental gear and kayaks/paddle boards. The restaurant on-site is fantastic also - the ahi tuna nachos are delicious!! They also don't short you on the alcohol in your drinks - plenty of rum for all. I loved the coconut-pineapple special at happy hour each day. Everyone was very friendly and usually helpful - Margaret at the front desk even gave us coupons for Coral World without us asking - which was very nice. It's an older place, so yes there are things that could use some spiffing up/updating, but overall, it's a really great value for the money if you don't require room service and someone spritzing you with cucumber water while you lounge by the pool. This is a self-serve kind of place, which was just fine for us while traveling with kids. You really can't beat the location and beautiful sand/water. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Beach-front condos are the way to go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secret Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Address: 6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Benner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Harbour Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Harbour is a boutique all-beachfront condominium resort on the Caribbean US Virgin Island of St. Thomas. The resort is situated on the island's Southeast shore on a palm-tree shaded swimming/snorkeling beach with pristine Caribbean blue water and sugary sand offering tranquil and water sport vacations with superb amenities. The all-beachfront property features 48 uniquely furnished condominiums on the ocean that are individually owned and resort managed. Each condominium is a spacious studio, 1- or 2-bedroom beachfront suite with fully equipped kitchen and private patio/balcony. Amenities include: 2 restaurants; PADI dive center with scuba diving, excursion boats, sailing and watersport rentals; freshwater pool; tennis courts; fitness center; gift shop; ATM & spa services. The intimate resort is ideal for families, couples, watersport & diving enthusiasts, visiting executives, and those seeking a tropical destination wedding, honeymoon or event. Bonus amenities include free Wi-Fi, onsite concierge, and wedding/event coordinator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Secret Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Harbour Beach Hotel Benner
Hotel Secret Harbour Beach
Secret Harbour Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Harbour Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.