We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Secret Harbour Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Beach Condominium
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Benner
Burke
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Close to perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I just got home after spending a week in St. Thomas at Secret Harbour Beach Resort. Of course, we are NOT happy to be home. First, let me say, I think we hit the jackpot with room 332. The condo looked like it had been renovated throughout. The owner has excellent taste too. Very modern looking kitchen. Everything worked well. Always had hot water. Two tvs though we never used the one in the bedroom. The view was excellent yet it was not a hardship to go back and forth to the beach. Thanks to other reviews here, we did not want to be on first floor. Very little privacy and who wants to have their drapes closed during a sunny day. Though it's a public beach, it never felt crowded or rowdy. Never had a problem getting chairs. Both restaurants are excellent though the more formal one is pricey so we ate there just once. And one trip to the Food Center ensured that we could eat most of our breakfast meals in the room to save some money. We could have done more of that but we don't like to pinch pennies while on vacation. Took advantage of nearby Virgin Island Ecotour and spent one day kayacking, snorkeling, and hiking. Red Hook is less than a mile away for resturants and the ferry to St. John. Recommend highly a night out at nearby but hard to find Latitudes 18 for live music, friendly locals, and juicy hamburgers. The only thing that kept this from being a perfect vacation was not being able to find the Zip Lining place. Though only 8 miles away and allowing for one full hour, while the GPS said "now arriving" more than once, we could not find this business. We tried all 4 parts of an intersection with no luck, and it is hard to turn around on these unmarked roads. Regardless, if we return to St. Thomas, we'd stay at Secret Harbour and would ask for same room, just to play it safe.

Room Tip: We wanted ocean front but wanted to be away from restaurants. Building 3 and 4 are your best bets if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MizManagementVI, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    231
    61
    38
    23
See reviews for
118
284
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Head, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Being an owner at Secret Harbour of course we love it there and always enjoy it for many reasons.It is a friendly,quiet place with a great beach -each condo is different but all have a large bedroom(or bedroom area),large living rooms and kitchens-making the rooms very family friendly and comfortable.Not all of the condos are updated but more and more are renovated all the time- so ask when you make your reservations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days and loved every minute. The beach is magnificent. The service was speedy and courteous. Each suite has a kitchen making it easy to eat affordable and spend on the restaurants that you want without feeling like you are paying for every meal. The location to red hook and ferry to St. John is very hard to beat. We visited other resorts and always came to the conclusion that secret harbour was the best. We even spent time at the Ritz, which is close by. We got massages and walked all around. Secret harbour was definitely the better deal. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Spacious condo units with individual personalities are right on the beach, affording beautiful views and easy access. Secret Harbour is located on a sheltered bay, with some of the island's best snorkeling close to shore. It also offers the convenience of an open-air restaurant and patio, right there for relaxing breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Lobster tail my first night was especially delicious. Excellent maintenance and friendly caring staff are a big plus at this resort. We have stayed here before, and will again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for one night in one of the king-studio rooms in the buildings up hill from the beach. The room was perfectly nice, although be aware that you are paying $200 for the room and $200 for the beautiful view from your private patio out over the harbour where the sun sinks serenely and great puffs of stately cloud drift silently into the west. We had the lovely pool entirely to ourselves when we sent for an evening swim before wandering down to the beach-side restaurant for a free rum punch and a tasty burger presented by charming severs. Up early to catch a ferry, we watched a magnificent white cruise ship cross the horizon while roosters crowed above the soft lap of distant waves. A taxi was standing by for the quick trip to Red Hook when we finished our breakfast, which we spent people-watching the families and sunbathers on the nice sand beach. A fabulous way to start a vacation! Be warned: they put a room key deposit on your bill, which is removed when you give them back the key; it puzzled us extremely when we saw it on the bill delivered under the door during the night. We thought we had been charged for a key we had not lost.

Room Tip: Our "ocean view" room was very nice and less (very) expensive than the beachside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had gone to Secret Harbor every year for 10 years and then took a 6 year hiatus visiting other islands. Nothing was ever more convenient than St. Thomas and because we had always loved Secret Harbor - it was a no brainer to stay there. We were there w.another couple. Our rooms were not ready even though we did not arrive until mid-afternoon. Supposedly the room has been renovated since there was granite in kitchen and bathroom. But the furniture was well used! Our friends had much nicer furniture in their unit
We spent our first two nights - Saturday and Sunday -w/out AC We called at 8:30am, 9:00a.m, 2:30 pm and then again at 3:30pm when we were finally told that AC technicians did not work on Sunday. We were offered a change of rooms but we were already unpacked, settled and hot from a full day at the beach so we declined. We never received an apology nor did we receive any financial consideration. On Monday afternoon, it was repaired altho it sounded like a running river thru the unit the entire week. Maid service is virtually non-existent. The sand throughout the condo was constant and never vacuumed. The tile floor had not been washed in months. You needed to wear shoes or your feet became black w.in 15 minutes.
The hotel bathroom near the front desk and the bar was the filthiest one we used while on the island for a week including the public restrooms at Yacht Harbor and in Charlotte Amalia. When I complained at the restaurant, I was told that the restroom was a hotel responsibility. Anyone could look at the charts and see that most of the time no one was checking or that there was a lot of back filling going on.
There is no standard for what should come in the rooms as far as supplies are concerned. You are required to pay the entire stay upfront. Who has ever heard of that? The ladies manning the front desk (whom we remembered from previous stays) told us that there had been recent management changes and lots of changes. The site advertises massages but that is no longer available although it is on a printed sheet handed out w/map of the project and on the phones in the room. Disturbing to see that cruisers get to use towels and beach chairs at no cost and that the towel closet is w.out supervision most of the time
Meghan in the restaurant is the best and the Molly Dooker white wine is a great deal. Snorkeling is still a dream in calm waters

Room Tip: Building 3 on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MizManagementVI, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback about your recent stay. We're sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide an environment that is relaxing and comfortable for all our guests and where any concerns are addressed promptly. Unfortunately, there are times that the individual AC units in the rooms do break down and we cannot always get a repair technician in on a Sunday. We apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort that this caused you. Housekeeping is supposed to sweep and mop each unit that they clean and I have passed your comments along to the appropriate deparment heads to make sure that the standards are being adhered to. As to the supplies in the units, we require that each unit be equipped with certain supplies, but because each unit is individaully owned, some owners equip their unit above an beyond the basic requirements. This may be where you noted discrepancies between your unit and you traveling companions' unit. We have undergone extensive renovations to the public spaces in the hotel over the last 6 months and the bathroom by the restaurant will be remodeled in the next few months to match the rest of the resort. We are currently looking for a new massage therapist, but in the meantime, have been referring guests to other options on the island. Finally, I must note that we absolutely do not allow cruise ship passengers visiting our beach to use our towels and chairs. Towels and chairs are for our guests only and we have beach attendants who enforce this rule. Once again, I am sorry that your stay was not entirely satisfactory and I hope we have addressed some of your questions. We strive to create a wonderful experiences for our guests and hope that you will consider us again on your next visit to St. Thomas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as a last-minute getaway before we have our first baby. We will definitely be going back. It isn't in the same category as the luxury results you'll find on Magen's Bay, but has more of an authentic Caribbean feel. Yes, there can be issues with water pressure, hot water, etc. But this is part of the island life. If it's not for you, then stay at a 5-star resort and don't go exploring on the rest of the island. During our trip, the entire island of St. John lost power one day. The entire island of St Thomas lost credit-card machines for a day. The locals just take it in stride, and so did we.

We loved that each room had a full kitchen so that we could prepare our own meals. We spent several days just relaxing at the hotel and snorkeling off the beach. The beach is on a protected bay with smooth water and clear visibility. Even when a high surf advisory was issued, we couldn't tell. In 20 minutes, we saw a sea turtle, octopus, school of squid, stingray, and puffer-fish. It's the best snorkeling I've ever done. The hotel is also a quick taxi-ride into Red Hook where you have a variety of dining options, shopping, and easy access to the ferry that takes you to other islands.

The staff is friendly and even gave us good-bye hugs when we left. We can't wait to go back with our kids in a few years.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Oceanview rooms have a panoramic view, close to the pool and taxi, far from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Secret Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Address: 6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Benner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Benner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Harbour Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Harbour Beach resort in St. Thomas USVI is a boutique condominium beach resort with PADI Dive Center located in the stunning US Virgin Islands. Our secluded cove and intimate setting offer guests every luxury and convenience. Individually designed Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom suites with tasteful tropical furnishings, fully equipped kitchens, lounging patios and all the amenities create the perfect base for your tropical vacation. Snorkel the clear blue cove, kayak, paddle board or just relax around the beach. The Sunset Grille and Cruzan Beach Club offer classic American Grill menus with a creative twist and island-style flair. Aqua Action, the resort's on-site PADI 5 Star Dive Shop, will take care of arranging all of your water-based activities. If you choose to take a day off from exploring the underwater world, above the water are an array of activities. Day sails to the BVIs and St. John on Jester, para-sailing and fishing charters are all available through the shop. We strive to create the perfect island experience worthy of our crystal clear waters and sugary beaches. Secret Harbour is like nowhere else... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Tingo and Amex so you can book your Secret Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Harbour Beach Hotel Benner
Hotel Secret Harbour Beach
Secret Harbour Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Harbour Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.