We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Thomas Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Secret Harbour Beach Resort to your Saves list
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
GRAND RAPIDS
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“St Thomas Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at the Secret Harbour Beach Resort (still here, actually) the week before Christmas 2012. Our room is nice & clean, a little outdated, but very comfortable. The people are nice, and Travis (our server on the beach) is great. We highly recommend this place to others, and hopefully will visit again in February 2013.

Room Tip: Our room is an ocean overlook, so there is a short walk to the beach, but not bad. The view makes u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    232
    61
    37
    24
See reviews for
123
301
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I did see several negative reviews before booking but went ahead anyway, glad we did. Read the postive reviews as they all give an accurate picture of staying here. If you need a resort that has 4 restaurants, 6 bars, and 3 pools (along with 500+ rooms) this is not for you. However if your looking for a place where the beach is steps from your room, with chairs under palm tree shade, no crowds or blaring music, and a good bar/restaurant at the end of the beach, this is your place. The staff was always friendly and with only 60 some rooms they see you often. Soon your saying hi by name. These are owner owned condos some of which are managed for rental, so the decor varies between them. Building 3 was empty and undergoing renovation. We were in building 4 and had to walk by the crews every day. They were always polite and exchanged greetings. I never had cause to complain about noise or anything they were doing affecting my stay. Soon building 3 will be as nice as building 4 which looks like it had just been done. I would recommend going to the food center and stock up on breakfast and snack food so you can enjoy your balcony in the morning. If your from Manhattan the prices won't scare you but they are high. The snorkling is wonderful here. Even 200 yards from the beach the water was only 20' deep. But we came to dive and having Aqua Action right on property was great. We saw several turtles, an octopus and a ray along with hundreds of smaller fish all right in the harbour. My wife and I upped our certifications during several boat dives, one even at night! We stayed a week and only left the property 3 times. If you want to go to some local hang outs for live music take a short taxi ride to either Molly Molone's or Latitude 18. While Fishtails had wonderful seafood. This resort is good for couples relaxing, or familes with younger kids (no big surf only little 4" waves). I would not recommend this for teens or if you are looking for nightlife as nothing is close-by or safe to walk to. The roads are extremely narrow and even a local who worked on property was hit by a car while we were there. Take a taxi and have a safe vacation.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are buildings 1-4 and Oceanview are 5-7. Oceanview are up on a hill side across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MizManagementVI, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you Zap! We are so glad y'all had a good time and look forward to having you as regulars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

It was our first trip to St Thomas and although it started out a bit bumpy (flight delayed, car rental a bust, etc) when we finally arrived at Secret Harbour Resort we were very pleased. Great service at the front desk. Great beach front room, clean, great view, a/c. The bed was a little hard, but overall a wonderful experience. Staff seemed a little standoffish at first, but if you simply smile and say "good morning or good afternoon" they seem to realize that we're not all terrible Americans. Food was ok at the Cruzan Beach Club. Drinks were good. Especially during happy hour. Megan provided great beach service to us so a special shout out to her. Sunset Grille was a bit spendy, but the Au gratin potatoes & creamed spinach were really good. My sons steak was great, mine was good. Husband had the fish and it was good. This is a nice place to relax. Nothing is close by, so be prepared for multiple taxi's or if you dare, rent a car.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night and mostly had a positive experience. There is one negative and I'll cut to the chase. We went to the restaurant for breakfast and were told there were no eggs. No eggs?! The server was apologetic knowing (and saying) that it was 3/4 of their menu options. So, looking for protein, I ordered the bagels with salmon. The server came back to tell me there also was no salmon.

For a hotel that charges $300+/night and bills itself as a boutique hotel, I think they should find this unacceptable. I also think it would have been a nice touch for a manager to come and apologize and perhaps even offer to discount the meal (which they did not). So that left a sour taste in our mouth after what was a pleasant stay.

I'm guessing this doesn't happen often so it hopefully shouldn't be an issue with future guests.

Our lunch at the bar the day before was very flavorful and creative (wonton nachos with ahi tuna. Delicious!). The night before, we also ate at their restaurant and had a nice steak with a glass of wine (their wine selection is quite good).

The beach is clean and the staff all around were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and appeared to have been recently renovated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MizManagementVI, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for informing me of this issue. The restaurant is a seperately owned business and a great partner of ours. I sent your comments to their general manager and she is wonderful about responding. I only wish I had been informed of this while you were at the table- I could've run to the store! I hope that the rest of your stay was pleasurable and we look forward to welcoming you back with a full breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

If your dream is to be in crystal clear water 1 minute from your room, this small condo hotel
right on a beautiful small beach is for you.

I have been here 5 times, and the water, the location, near the ferry terminal, 15 minutes to St. John, and the beach restaurant make it a relaxing, easy place to be.

Margaret at the desk spent lots of time finding me a linen shop and then called to make sure they had what I wanted.
Thank you Margaret!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just returned from a 5-day stay at Secret Harbour Beach Resort. We are sad to be home already. I will be honest and say we were a bit nervous about some of the negative reviews posted on Trip Advisor - outdated rooms, rude staff, etc. Let me be the first to tell you - we received nothing but A+ 5-star service from the moment we checked in, with a big warm welcome from Claudette at the front desk, to the bartenders Joe and Brian, and all the people in between who went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. Our one bedroom beach front condo was newly renovated, and it was absolutely BEAUTIFUL. Gorgeous furniture, cherry cabinets with granite counters and stainless steel appliances, 2 flat screen tvs (living room and bedroom). Huge king sized-bed with matching bureaus. We loved the place! Our unit was in building 2 on the 3rd floor. We had stunning views of the sunrise and sunset. We had read complaints from others about no hot water, and we experienced the same problem on our first night there. We didn't speak up as we thought this was just normal. However, the next morning when there was still no hot water, we placed a called to the front desk, and Margaret had a service manager at our door in less than 5 minutes. He immediately knew the problem was the wrong size circuit breaker, and returned in 10 minutes with a new one - Hot water the rest of our time there. When we woke up each morning, beach staff were already preparing for the new day - raking the beach and setting out the beach chairs. A couple of things I will say - signage to find the resort could be better. We got lost a few times as there weren't any signs on the main road. Also, there isn't alot located very close by. You would need to take a cab or a rental car to get to Red Hook (about 5 min drive) or to the grocery store (again 5 min drive). We found eating at the Cruzan Beach Bar absolutely suited our taste so we ate there all but one night. We bought breakfast items and snacks for the room, and ate breakfast on our balcony. Lastly, those who have reported that the beds were on the harder side - this is true. Mattress was more firm than we would have liked. However highly recommend Secret Harbour to anyone who is having second thoughts. While we were there as a couple, we did see many families with small children who all seemed to be having a great time snorkeling, or making sand castles on the shore.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room. I tried to sneak a peak into some of the others rooms, especially beach l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Resort was great. We rented a studio beachfront room and it was perfect. Even tho the room was small and had a kitchen it didn't feel cramped. The beach was gorgeous and uncrowded. There was also some good snorkeling.

The resort had an excellent fine dining restaurant and a bar with good bar food. Resort food was a little pricey. Redhook is also close by so there are plenty of food options. There is also a grocery called, Food Center, about a mile away so it's easy to stock up the kitchen with food.

I would definitely recommend renting a car. It was great having the freedom to explore the island without relying on cabs. KEEP TO THE LEFT!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secret Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Address: 6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Benner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secret Harbour Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Harbour is a boutique all-beachfront condominium resort on the Caribbean US Virgin Island of St. Thomas. The resort is situated on the island's Southeast shore on a palm-tree shaded swimming/snorkeling beach with pristine Caribbean blue water and sugary sand offering tranquil and water sport vacations with superb amenities. The all-beachfront property features 48 uniquely furnished condominiums on the ocean that are individually owned and resort managed. Each condominium is a spacious studio, 1- or 2-bedroom beachfront suite with fully equipped kitchen and private patio/balcony. Amenities include: 2 restaurants; PADI dive center with scuba diving, excursion boats, sailing and watersport rentals; freshwater pool; tennis courts; fitness center; gift shop; ATM & spa services. The intimate resort is ideal for families, couples, watersport & diving enthusiasts, visiting executives, and those seeking a tropical destination wedding, honeymoon or event. Bonus amenities include free Wi-Fi, onsite concierge, and wedding/event coordinator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Secret Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Harbour Beach Hotel Benner
Hotel Secret Harbour Beach
Secret Harbour Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Harbour Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.