We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we expected and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keleti International Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Keleti International Resort to your Saves list
Keleti International Resort
Hamani Rd | Ha'ateiho, Ha'ateiho, Tongatapu Island 001, Tonga   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ha'ateiho
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Everything we expected and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Tonga is Paradise; the first place in the world to welcome each day. My Wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary at the Keleti International Resort and could have not asked for more. Falling asleep and waking up to crashing waves was amazing. The brilliant views of the Pacific Ocean and a bright blue snorkeling pool, filled with vast variety of brightly coloured fish, only a minute walk from your own personal fala; you feel like you are on your own personal island. Tongans are awesome! They are so warm and welcoming. It was an honour to visit their country and will cherish the amazing memories made. I want to go back.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    35
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
37
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Loved Keleti's resort. I did not fall in love with Tongatapu, however I really loved Keleti's resort a true gem on the island!

Very clean rooms, and the views are amazing!

You can see blow holes from the nice resting area near the bungalows.

Restaurant had good food and it is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

This was our first stop on a tour of Tonga and it was a great starting point.

The staff are very friendly and welcomed us to Tonga at the airport with great attitudes. They upgraded us on arrival without us even asking or having any complaints. Nothing was too hard, and were happy to help with arrangements. They provided us details in case of any issues as we travelled which was apprecaited. Also took us to a nearby resort for lunch and waited while we ate and had a wander without any issues or feeling of rushing.

We had booked a single Fale but ended up in a more expensive Double Fale - they are a reasonable size with en-suite bathroom which has hot water. It met my high expectations for cleanliness and had a comfy bed. They are not luxurious but they had a small fridge etc so for tongan standards, it was excellent. The value for money was great. The resort itself is run-down and you can tell if there was money to invest it could exceptional. But the best is done with what they have and it is kept clean and maintained.

The best thing about Keleti is the blowholes and beaches there. We were able to relax on a nearly deserted beach (there are three coves to walk around to), do some snorkeling and still be at the hotel. The views from the cafe are great and sunset with a beer and the waves and blowholes was spectacular.

Breakfast onsite in the morning was a good start to the day with a smile every morning, and a tropical breakfast to set you up for a hard day doing not much!

A nice place to stay and good value for money for a Tongan break away.

Room Tip: Spurge for an ensuite! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed at Keleti for our final 2 nights and 3 days in Tonga. Up until then we'd had a pretty full on trip, and just wanted to spend a few days relaxing and swimming - we definately chose the right place! The staff are so all unbelievably friendly and super helpful, to the point where it almost didn't feel right asking them to do things for us! The beach is beautiful, and the coast and reef are absolutely stunning; we spent a good few hours just staring at it. We were also lucky enough to watch a pod of dolphins as we ate breakfast. The thing we were most grateful for, and didn't expect at all, was that our flight wasn't until late at night, but they let us keep our room for the whole day at no extra cost. The free internet was great too. The rooms were small but clean, as were the bathrooms, and the food was delicious and very well priced. All in all, a fantastic place to stay that'd I'd happily recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Spent just one night here in November 2010 based on good TripAdvisor reviews. Didn't expect worldclass seacoast to be such a fantastic feature of this place, but it is, and worth the price of admission. It's a roaring coastline for as far as you can see, and hypnotizing to watch from the extensive balconies and overlooks at Keleti Resort. The bar overlooks all this; the very nice dining room overlooks this; a couple of private gazebos with lounge chairs overlooks this. And it's hard not to be awed by turquoise rollers roaring over the exposed reefs. We didn't swim or snorkel here, but saw others in the small pool to the right of the resort proper. The double fale with porch we stayed in was clean, dry, and comfortable. Showers (and it is nice to have a warm shower in a fale) could have used a little TLC. And there is a rundown quasi-motel-like structure that distracts from the otherwise raked and cared-for grounds. But that's only very slight criticism. The staff was charming, helpful, spoke English, accommodating to the nth degree. Vini met us at the airport holding a sign, and if you make your reservations online, be sure to do it directly with Keleti and not an intermediate travel agency. Keleti offers a free airport shuttle, but the travel agency (looks suspiciously like the Keleti website) charges for this trip. Actually had to cancel hotel reservations, figure out the actual Keleti website, and re-book in order to avoid charges to and from airport. Enjoyed a very nice meal with local veggies and fish here. On our one-day return back through Tongatapu, actually detoured to have another look at the coast and another lunch with such nice people and venue.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

We stayed at Keleti for three lovely days. We travelled with a 5 month old baby and a 9 year old. The staff were fantastic very caring, helpful and great at taking the kids away. :)

We booked over the net, Dee was at the airport to pick us up. The accommodation is basic but clean. We took food for breakfast which was good. Found the meals to be a little expensive. The accommodation is isolated, no walking to a local village. You are dependent on the resort for transport. The took us to church on Sunday, highly recommend

The actual location is stunning, rock formations, blowholds are very dramatic. Fantastic to see and experience. Swimming good, especially at high tide.

From the restaurant did see a few whales.

Would go back, very very lovely staff, helpful caring, We thank them for a stunning stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newzealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Well the rooms might be bigger and there are the picky details other reviewers have made, but for me it doesn't get better than Keletis. The views over the beaches, the visiting whales everyday ( on one day we saw over twenty whales pass by) the incredibly friendly and welcoming staff who would do anything for you. We hada memorable trip to church with Saani and then on to a birthday feast and she also took us on a great day trip with Sabrina's chicken for lunch. If you're looking for a unique place with stunning scenery, great friendly service then this is the place. Well positioned for town, not a fancy international resort but a great bolt hole to relax, you have found it at Keletis

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keleti International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keleti International Resort

Address: Hamani Rd | Ha'ateiho, Ha'ateiho, Tongatapu Island 001, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Ha'ateiho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ha'ateiho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keleti Resort is a tourist favorite and it is the closest get-away only 10 minutes from the capital, Nuku'alofa. We have private beaches, a great restaurant, a bar which is the best in the kingdom, as well as excellent accommodation consisting of fales and studios units, all offering expansive views of the Pacific Ocean. Come, relax and feel the sea breeze from the cliffs of Keleti Resort and be mesmerized by our natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Keleti International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keleti International Hotel Ha`Ateiho
Keleti International Resort Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keleti International Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.