We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fusion cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cayenne Restaurant

Cayenne Restaurant
Apollonia 84003, Greece
+30 2284 031080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Apollonia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $34
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Athens, Greece
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fusion cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Not so spicy as the name promises but very tasty, and unique plates, without deviating of the traditional island's cuisine

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    27
    9
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corfu, Ionian Islands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Heavenly tastes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Leave yourself free to enjoy the high gastronomical moments of greek cusine! If you decide to treat yourself to that, prepare not to mumble at payment time. Prices isn't yet that expensive and the chef deserves it all as he tries his best to satisfy not only your tast but your sight as well! Great job!
P.S. Do not miss the sweets!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of my life, and I am 60.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Few restaurants are open in early April in Apollonia on the Greek island of Sifnos. We ate here almost out of desperation. What luck for us. I eat meat and I like meat, but I had eggplant with aromatic tomato sauce and mizithra cream cheese from Sifnos, with arugula and salted capers and it was out of this world. Wow! Mean while my wife was in her own heaven with pasta carbonara. I had some and it too was fantastic. Wine, these two entrees, bread, olive paste (tapenade), bottle of water and that was less than 30€ ( under $37 ). Great service. Good music.
We travel a lot and have opportunities to eat well. This was excellent.
Wayne iNWI

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“"THE" place to eat in Appolonia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you want to have an excellent meal while staying in SIFNOS, the best place to go is too CAYENNE. This restaurant is located in a large courtyard next to a really nice church. We love Greek food but unlike the traditional family restaurant, you know when the plates arrive and you taste your dish that there is a real chef behind it. The staff was really pleasant. They offer a bean dipp to start with. We had a gorgeous starterd made of red peppers, feta cheese, avocado and another one with huge cheese balls and a blackurrant sauce - delicious. We then had a grilled calamari on a bed of chick peas in a nice sauce and a risotto made with capers and lemon zest - TO DIE FOR!!! We were so full we decided we would not eat dessert... and then they brought us one for free: a delicious white chocolate panacotta with a very light sirop with fruits infused in wine - heaven!
The prices are a little above what you would pay in the small restaurants but SO worth it.
If you decided to go to a similar restaurant back home, it would probably cost you 2 to 3 times more!
Anyway, Cayenne is THE restaurant to try when in Sifnos!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We dined several times this summer at the new location of Cayenne in the heart of Apollonia in Sifnos. I would have preferred that they stayed on the terrace but this location is nice as well. I loved the decor and the service. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. However, I found it pricey. The quality of the food was good but not exceptional and the portions were not generous.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayenne Restaurant also viewed

 
Kamares, Sifnos
Platis Yialos, Sifnos
 

Been to Cayenne Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayenne Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.