We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice traditional food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Votsalo

Votsalo
Mirtos, Crete, Greece
2842051457
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Mirtos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
crete
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice traditional food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Nice place as it is on the promenade of Makry Gialos.
Very nice people open all year round.
Drinks are more expensive but you will get some mezes with that what makes it then good again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great setting and very friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We ate at Votsalo twice and enjoyed both meals. The food was good and the service was excellent - very friendly and welcoming, and we were offered complimentary fruit and raki at eh end of the meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“OK but great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The restaurant is on the walkway to the harbour, a great location. Food was OK but not great.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Lovely location, great food, fast service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We visited this restaurant three weeks ago. The food here was the best we experienced on Crete - the baked egg-plant and feta cheese is to die for. Very broad menu with lots of choice. The location is excellent - overlooking the bay in the shelter of trees dripping into the sea. The service was very 'efficient' - fast, but a little brusque, which is why I have not scored it as high as others.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Real Greece, on a plate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We visited Votsalo restaurant we some trepidation due to the review we read on TripAdvisor,however a number of our fellow holidaymakers had eaten here and had nothing but praise for the advice and food.
We were seated on the harbour wall, with just a railing protecting
us from the sea, right in the middle of the busy harbour atmosphere. We were welcomed immediately and offered the special dish of the evening, "lamb on a spit", which
both my wife and I chose to eat.
Our youngest had spare ribs and our eldest had the "mixed grill" which was enormous.
All our meals arrived together were excellent; particularly the "lamb on
a spit". The staff were friendly and attentive and the house wine was
very good.
I'm pleased to say this is a restaurant that we will definitely use again and we can recommend it to
anyone visiting this resort.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Votsalo also viewed

Mirtos, Lasithi Prefecture
Mirtos, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Mirtos, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Votsalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Votsalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.