We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had fun with the aqua activities..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Duka Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Duka Bay Resort to your Saves list
Duka Bay Resort
Medina, Medina, Mindanao 9013, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Medina
Butuan, Philippines
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“had fun with the aqua activities..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A few kilometers away from Gingoog City you can't miss Duka Bay Resort as there is a big sign to the direction to the resort. It is a secluded place with big trees lining to the beach. It is a good place to relax &unwind. They offer water activities to choose from-aquabike, diving, jetski, bananaboat, snorkel,kayaking & bottom glass boat. For a snorkelling &diving -the corals not so impressive, it will do for the first timer diver. We booked their dormitory room type as we were 12 people & 4 children. The area is so far from the restaurant that they will charge you extra if you want food to be delivered. Their double decked beds are very high & is hard to climb up & down. But the beach is clearer & the sand is whiter in the far end & is more private. on our experience, the waiters are only extra friendly when they were promised for an extra tip. But all in all I had fun because of the company of people i was with.
early in the morning, it had a perfect & clear view of Camiguin island, sans the clouds..its worth to wake up early and soak the sunrise & view..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
24
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The rooms are big with 2 double bed. It can accomodtae 4 adults in one room. But the rooms are old. The room's air condition is not enough. Even the aircon is in full blast the room is still hot. The toilet is dirty. It has cock croach. And lots of ants inside the room. There are a cab web all over the room.
The only great thing there is the staff. Very helpful and very courteous. The food is just ok. Nothing really great.very ordinary food but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Medina hotels

Mysen, Ostfold, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

2 nights at duka bay was ok but the surroundings were dirty, many flies inside the restaurant needs better air condition in the room , they put electic fan to help the air conditioning n the room. The terrace was dirty. Food was ok, workers ok location ok. Just need to upgrade and focus on cleanliness so that no flies keep on coming back.

Room Tip: No swimming pool no spa......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had a nice experience with the dive staff. My son and wife were guided snorkeling while I scuba dived. There are four dive sites and it is interesting to see the artificial reefs developing.
The resort is very dated. The rooms are in very great need of remodeling. The bathroom was awffuly dilapidated.
The motel staff were not very helpful and watched with interest as my wife struggled to carry bags. They did not offer to help.
The food in the resturant was awful, this and the total lack of WiFi was why we left after one night stay.
There were a lot of ants and insects but this is not unusual in these areas I think.
I was surprised to learn the resort was only 13 years old as it appears much, much older, something like 30 or more.

Room Tip: Just go diving there. Don't stay for food or lodging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

we were placed in the very end Villa and so it was possibly 400mtrs to walk to the dining room... it is open and not aircon and so i am thankful that it was not raining and there were no storms while we were there.

The room was infested with ants and bugs and although they told us they had sprayed insecticide there appeared to be more after than before the treatment.

I complained on 2 occasions that the hook for the shower was broken and it could only be used as a hand held and they told me 2 times that it has been fixed but alas it was never fixed and I ended up threading the hose for the shower through the rail to be able to have a shower and not hold the shower head with one hand...

Overall it was a little disapointing and I will look forward to the new hotel beingopened when I visit there again...

Room Tip: wait for the new hotel to open... the competition should make it more reasonably priced and the staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This Hotel is unexpected clean and client friendly hotel find on North mindanao. For once we were well treated. and when our neighbor was sooo proud to install 3 big chicken on his terrace a quick alert on the personnel was enough to quickly solve the situation.

Diving there is nice.
Food is ok.

the only problem we've got was while trying to catch the bus, it was raining a lot and the hotel has very few option to help us going out to the nearest bus’stop.

we will go there again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butuan city
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This place is really nice for relaxing,,they have scuba diving, banana boat and kayak..it's really nice there...rooms are very big good for 4 person. but in the restaurant foods are over pricing..i hope they will make a change on it..i hope the management will read this..ive been to many resorts and places here in the philippines...so i know if the foods are over priced or not...

Thanks....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Duka Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duka Bay Resort

Address: Medina, Medina, Mindanao 9013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Medina
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Medina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COME TO THE TRANQUIL, shady Duka Bay Resort, Inc. Watch the breathtaking sunrises and sunsets. Enjoy our elegant, spacious villas, open-air restaurant, and rich coral life. Make use of our scuba diving gears, kayaks, banana boat rides, snorkeling, and glass bottom boats. Have fun!Duka Bay Resort, Inc. Is in the quiet, laid-back town of Medina, Misamis Oriental, Philippines. Far from the city, the resort occupies a sandy shore and a hill, and is soothingly shaded by a cluster of large ancestral trees. Nine villas -- spacious, elegant, and fully furnished -- provide a breathtaking view of the bay and the island of Camiguin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Duka Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duka Bay Hotel Medina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duka Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.