We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort but service is still lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sabang Beach, Sabang, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sabang
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort but service is still lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed 2 nights here as a last minute decision to get out of Manila, and overall, the experience was very positive and I enjoyed my stay very much.

I stayed in a garden view suite and I will say that although it was the cheapest room available in the hotel, I was not disappointed. I actually enjoyed the privacy because if you have a pool view suite, you'll be facing the pool and the opposite building... whereas garden view when you go out your door its just a lawn and a little garden, much more private!

The pool here is simply amazing... I spent so many hours in that swimming pool in the 2 days that I was there! I cannot fault it! In fact, the design of the hotel is simply beautiful and perfect, you couldn't have done it better yourself. You have ocean one way, then mountains in the background, simply breathe taking!

The hotel provides a free shuttle service which is great... although I did tip the drivers each way for their efforts.

The hotel also provides breakfast which is pretty good, mostly Filo food but they also have an omelette chef which was yummy. I recommend if you can afford to, give him a small tip, everybody only ever tips the wait staff and he does more hard work... and his eyes lit up with such surprise when we did that it was well worth it! He was very thankful!

The restaurant is great too and the prices were good... but the day we left they 'changed' the menu... basically it was the same food but MUCH higher prices now - but there are places next to the resort if you want to eat cheaper... I probably would if they still have this menu next time I go, it was too over priced - the old menu was much more reasonable.

The downside... service at this hotel needs improvement... wait staff aren't totally attentive which I don't understand, there are a tonne of them but they are always too busy standing around chatting and you have to ask for their attention, sometimes they don't even refill your water etc... however I found Chard to be the best waiter there - he would ALWAYS ensure you were looked after... I gave him the biggest tip the rest didn't work very hard for it.

Also at check out... even though the hotel was pretty empty... they will not allow you to check out later than 12pm. The transfer back to the airport for us wasn't leaving until 2pm and we wanted to keep swimming up until about then... asked for a late check out and they wouldn't budge no matter how much we plead. But can you believe, when 12pm hits, your room card no longer works! I left the room about 11:59am to go return the pool towels... when I got back my room card didn't work! I was locked out! Luckily my friend was in the room but I just found this to be appalling... never in my life have I experienced being locked out on the dot of check out - I mean I was ready to go by 12:05pm. I told this to the reception and they weren't bothered - they're all a bunch of robots who say what they are programmed to say anyway.

So in all... I do love this resort, but their customer service is lacking. If it wasn't for the service I would most definitely be back again... but I will probably explore options to go to El Nido next time in search of a nice resort with great service because to me, a vacation has to tick all the boxes, not just some.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    147
    52
    28
    19
See reviews for
108
109
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandaluyong, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

i went here last week the place is very nice. we had problems with our room and we got our room after 3hrs of waiting. the pool was awesome you will love hanging out in the bar on the pool drink there and chat. the room is pretty nice too. but there service sucks. food is always not available they always ran out of stocks, either fruit or meat or alcohol drinks. that's why we always end up eating outside for dinner. breakfast buffet is good. they need to put back there foreign chef and stop cost cutting cause if you like to cater to foreign costumers you need to improve your food quality and services. and there pool bar has no music you will end up getting bored if you alone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My family of 4 adults and 1 teenager went there last August 5-8 1012. The hotel was beautiful. Their pool was the center of attraction and it was awesome! The rooms were clean and very nicely decorated.They should do something about their screen doors. They squeak noisily when you open and close them Very irritating. Amenities were always replaced. The restaurant was fine, food was okay. Waiters and waitresses were polite, all smiles, and very anxious to satisfy but still lacking in training. Orders take time to come to the table but I guess that is normal in this place. We ate at another restaurant at a nearby resort (Daluyon) and they serve their food faster. The staff (lifeguards, security, bartenders at the pool etc) around the hotel well very courteous, accommodating, and service-oriented. Now the major downsides; when we arrived we were given the wrong rooms and the wrong keys. Luckily, it was lunch time so they fixed everything before we finished eating. Though they gave us our connecting rooms, the bed were for four persons only and there were five of us. We opted not to complain and my sister just squeezed herself in my daughter's bed because we were too tired (after the 2 hours zigzagging road trip) to transfer to another again. But we paid for five persons. I guess the front desk staff were more engrossed and excited accommodating their visitors from the Philippine show business shooting a T.V. series episode in their hotel. Secondly, we booked a zipline and waterfall tour with their hotel months before we arrived but on the scheduled day of the tour, they told us the waterfall tour won't push through. And they would give us 30 minutes massage for each person or ATV adventure (with additional fare) instead. We confirmed the tours right after we checked in but they did not bother to inform us beforehand, that the waterfall tour was out! It was a good thing that SAM, our guide was very apologetic and arranged everything to our satisfaction, but with additional payment! The zipline is a must-try! Just bring your own drinking water because the long walk and climb up will really make you thirsty! I totally forgot to bring water so I had to stupidly buy a drink up there. The price was 5x the ordinary price! No cellphone signal and the slow and sometimes non-existent wifii were forgivable. We were in the middle of a jungle anyway! It was an enjoyable stay somehow. The staff really tried hard to satisfy their customers but I think they still need a lot of training. We would like to go back here if there's news of improvement.

Room Tip: Get rooms by the poolside. It's more fun. Noisier though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This resort is simply amazing.... thats is meaning the rooms and the pool and beach front area. Other then that this is not a place to go for service. 3hour check inns, most this are not avalible on the menu such itema as choc ice cream, beef sapacio, steak sandwich, garlic tiger prawns. Iam am a forigner and my stay here was obsecured by the lack of service and in most part not even interested to serve you... the swim up bar in the gigantic pool is awsome however they cant keep things in stock and when foods are orderd the staff has to fetch it from the resto which leavs no ond to attand the bar and this happens very often then no one aroind for 20min or so. Apprently according to the staff if was very good servics but the owners are now using a consultancy firm to manage this place. When spoke to one of he gm's he stated this to me "all resort pride themselves on something and we here pride oursleves on our rooms.... hmmmm ok thats easy as your 2years old. Anyways if your a local pinoy this is a dream hotel if your a forigner you'll be very unsatisfied.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went on a 3d/2n package with my wife and another couple. Resort was fantastic, food was really good and the prices for the food and drink not included was reasonable. Only one small downside was the transport from the airport takes nearly 2 hours and the small mini buses are not made for the 'traditionally built' westerner so turned out to be very uncomfortable. Pool was great, weather was fantastic, beach was good and the rooms were first class. We look forward to going again but next time adding the extra day.

Room Tip: All rooms looked to be comfortable we had pool view but there is ample poolside seating so not neces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went to Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa at the end of summer, just a few days before school started- and we all enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are spacious, new and clean- with 5-star hotel amenities. The pool has a superb view of the mountains of Sabang and can be enjoyed by young and old. My year old nephew never wanted to leave the pool - and he does't even know how to swim. My brothers, nephews and nieces spent a lot of time in the pool playing water basketball. There are also a lot of other things to do here as well. We walked a few miles to be able to explore the mangroves on boat- to discover the wildlife while listening to the singing tour guides of Sabang. Some of us in the groups also of course went to the Puerto Princesa Underground River (PPUR) which is accessible by boat from the hotel.Be sure though that you book ahead since the tour coordinator of Sheridan is really not much help when it comes to the PPUR. There are also no other good restaurants in the area so we usually ate our meals in the hotel. Their breakfast buffet is really generous and you are bound to gain weight here. Over-all, I really enjoyed our four days here and wouldn't mind coming back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

It's the best resort at Sabang Palawan, Philippines. Great location, nice hotel & service, clean and safe. The best one to get if you're going to the underground river. Only 5 mins walk to the port. The price value for the hotel is good. The rooms are 4-5 star comparable to 5 star resorts. Since we got the rooms by the pool, it was great to move in and out from our rooms to the pool.

We love that the pool bar closes at 12mn. With the nice weather, we were able to go swimming till midnight and have a drink by the bar.

The water sports are still very limited. There is kayaking and boat cycling. They need to add snorkling, scuba, and jet ski sports. They offered wake and surf boards but the waves were weak. The largest zip line in southeast asia was there but not as large compared to other resorts in Mexico. The mangrove tour was educational and fun. The atv adventure was fun but they have limited number of working vehicles.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the first floor facing the pool facing east. That way the afternoon sun does n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa

Address: Sabang Beach, Sabang, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Sabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located on the west coast of the Philippine Island of Palawan, home of beautiful mountains, lush rain forests, and a variety of wildlife, this resort is a few hundred meters away from the Subterranean Underground River. Boasting 94 spacious guestrooms and suites, all are tastefully furnished and decorated in a contemporary Asian style with a touch of local culture. All guestrooms and suites are fully equipped with modern amenities for guests’ comfort. The resort also offers a wide range of facilities such as swimming pool, fitness center and spa. Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa is offering guests a luxury and quality services in hospitality, which has made this Sheridan property a top destination among accommodations in Palawan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheridan Beach Hotel Puerto Princesa
Sheridan Beach Resort And Spa Sabang, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.